We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming B & B”
Review of Tilldale House

Tilldale House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wooler
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tilldale House
Ranked #9 of 18 Wooler B&B and Inns
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming B & B”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My family were staying at a campsite in Wooler over the bank holiday weekend, however, as I don't like sleeping in a tent my Mother and I stayed at the Tilldale House for one night. Julia is a wonderful lady who welcomed us with friendly chat and a lovely smile. Our room was immaculate and nicely furnished. Breakfast was very nice and served in a lovely breakfast room. We will definitely stay here in the future. Brenda and Irene

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

A friend and I stayed here overnight while walking St Cuthbert's Way and we can vouch for everything said by other reviewers. It is a splendid place to stay in every way and Julia was most helpful in recommendations for walkers' food in Wooler.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had never visited this part of the country before and we had a lovely stay at Tilldale House. The host, Julia, was so friendly and accommodating. She even looked after our little dog, Mylo, while we went out for a meal one night. The room was excellent - very comfortable and quiet and Julia put us in the annex which has a small lounge with laminate flooring (perfect for a pooch). The accommodation was very clean. A small convenience store across the road was perfect for evening snacks and a bottle of wine.

Julia was very knowledgeable of the local area and gave us lots of tips on places to visit and how to get there. We will return to Tilldale House because of the warm welcome, hearty breakfast and ideal accommodation. Brilliant! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benjybody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have just returned from a pleasant two night stay at Tilldale House –situated in the middle of the High Street, in the centre of the small town of Wooler.
We were allocated room number two, on the first floor and at the back of the building. The room was big enough for a two night stay, being equipped with a huge comfortable bed (... most important feature!). The small window didn’t allow a great deal of light into the room and only offered an outside view across the rooftops. However, being at the back of the building it was quiet on a night time, with no outside noise to be heard.
The en-suite had a nice big bath – no shower. We were asked upon arrival if we required a room with a shower, along with being offered the option of an alternative room with a shower. Only being there for two nights, along with our consideration of the room not being the biggest and most important feature of a holiday or break somewhere – we opted just to stay in the room we were originally allocated.
There is no long term parking available directly outside the front of the B&B, for the duration of your stay. Double yellow lines run along one side of the high street, on the same side as the B&B. The opposite side has strategically placed parking bays, each having a forty-five minute maximum parking restriction in place. Once the car has been unloaded, there is free parking available (currently free) in the car park situated where the High Street meets Burnhouse Road (the car park where the High Street meets Market Place is currently a pay and display).
Breakfast was scrumptious ... a good choice of both hot and cold options available.
Julia was a lovely hostess, with her breakfast stories of being snowed in at Wooler and the history of her 17th century Tilldale House.
If we were staying in Wooler or the area again, we would definitely return to Tilldale House and would certainly recommend this B&B to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LellynIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We'd walked all day in the rain on St Cuthbert's Way and were greeted with a huge smile by Julia. She helped us dry out the gear and boots and was a wonderful host. Room was clean, comfy, warm and dry with a huge bed and a bath for weary walkers. Great breakfast, we'd love to come back and spend a few days.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We recently stayed at Tilldale House whilst attending a wedding nearby because of this we needed to check in early which was no problem thanks to the hosts organisational skills. Our rooms was large and contained a separate living/dining area as well as the normal en-suite bedroom. There was plenty of choice at breakfast, both hot and cold, the next day and what was received was very nice.

If we were staying in Wooler or the area again we would definitely return to Tilldale House.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoon31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Julia is a good hostess, clean rooms, tasty breakfasts, and many restaurants and pubs in easy walking distance. what we did not realise was that Tilldale is an excellent centre to see Northumberland - there was just so much to go and see close by - e.g. castles, cows, war sites, the Border towns, Hadrian's Wall, an abbey and its on the Southern Upland way and is a cycling haven. we enjoyed visits to Etal and Chillingham Castle [and their ancient cows]

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redbreast33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wooler hotels
0.3 mi away
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
0.2 mi away
The Old Mill B&B
The Old Mill B&B
#1 of 18 in Wooler
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rockliffe House
Rockliffe House
#16 of 18 in Wooler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hemmel Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Black Bull Inn
The Black Bull Inn
#5 of 18 in Wooler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
No.1 Hotel & Wine Lounge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilldale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilldale House

Property: Tilldale House
Address: 34-40 High Street, Wooler NE71 6BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wooler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tilldale House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at our award winning Bed and Breakfast for just one night or use us as a base to explore the beautiful Northumberland countryside. A warm welcome awaits at our 17th century stone built home. . All of our comfortable, spacious bedrooms are en suite, guests have access to the house at all times. Off road parking is available or you can park outside the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tilldale House Wooler, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing