We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tilldale House
Nearby Hotels
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Castle Hotel(Coldstream)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Victoria Hotel(Bamburgh)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
St Aidan Hotel(Seahouses)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
68
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh streetst cuthbert's waywarm welcomeadvance bookingwalking stsmall townoutstanding hospitalitywere lucky to get a tablestreet noiseon arrivalbreakfast was deliciousporridgestayed longercomfortable bedwe've stayedfirst classbamburgh castle
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My family were staying at a campsite in Wooler over the bank holiday weekend, however, as I don't like sleeping in a tent my Mother and I stayed at the Tilldale House for one night. Julia is a wonderful lady who welcomed us with friendly chat and a lovely smile. Our room was immaculate and nicely furnished. Breakfast was very nice and served in a lovely breakfast room. We will definitely stay here in the future. Brenda and Irene

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

A friend and I stayed here overnight while walking St Cuthbert's Way and we can vouch for everything said by other reviewers. It is a splendid place to stay in every way and Julia was most helpful in recommendations for walkers' food in Wooler.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had never visited this part of the country before and we had a lovely stay at Tilldale House. The host, Julia, was so friendly and accommodating. She even looked after our little dog, Mylo, while we went out for a meal one night. The room was excellent - very comfortable and quiet and Julia put us in the annex which has a small lounge with laminate flooring (perfect for a pooch). The accommodation was very clean. A small convenience store across the road was perfect for evening snacks and a bottle of wine.

Julia was very knowledgeable of the local area and gave us lots of tips on places to visit and how to get there. We will return to Tilldale House because of the warm welcome, hearty breakfast and ideal accommodation. Brilliant! :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benjybody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have just returned from a pleasant two night stay at Tilldale House –situated in the middle of the High Street, in the centre of the small town of Wooler.
We were allocated room number two, on the first floor and at the back of the building. The room was big enough for a two night stay, being equipped with a huge comfortable bed (... most important feature!). The small window didn’t allow a great deal of light into the room and only offered an outside view across the rooftops. However, being at the back of the building it was quiet on a night time, with no outside noise to be heard.
The en-suite had a nice big bath – no shower. We were asked upon arrival if we required a room with a shower, along with being offered the option of an alternative room with a shower. Only being there for two nights, along with our consideration of the room not being the biggest and most important feature of a holiday or break somewhere – we opted just to stay in the room we were originally allocated.
There is no long term parking available directly outside the front of the B&B, for the duration of your stay. Double yellow lines run along one side of the high street, on the same side as the B&B. The opposite side has strategically placed parking bays, each having a forty-five minute maximum parking restriction in place. Once the car has been unloaded, there is free parking available (currently free) in the car park situated where the High Street meets Burnhouse Road (the car park where the High Street meets Market Place is currently a pay and display).
Breakfast was scrumptious ... a good choice of both hot and cold options available.
Julia was a lovely hostess, with her breakfast stories of being snowed in at Wooler and the history of her 17th century Tilldale House.
If we were staying in Wooler or the area again, we would definitely return to Tilldale House and would certainly recommend this B&B to friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LellynIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We'd walked all day in the rain on St Cuthbert's Way and were greeted with a huge smile by Julia. She helped us dry out the gear and boots and was a wonderful host. Room was clean, comfy, warm and dry with a huge bed and a bath for weary walkers. Great breakfast, we'd love to come back and spend a few days.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews