We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful Retreat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Barns Country Guesthouse

The Barns Country Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Barns Country Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Babworth B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Peaceful Retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

The Barns provided peaceful, comfortable & relaxing accommodation. We stayed for one night. The bedroom was very clean & comfortable if a little small & the owners charming. Good breakfast, great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMBCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Border1Patrol, Owner at The Barns Country Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
We appreciate you review, thank you

Nigel & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
20
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

. Only stayed for the one night, great value for money, and the service is an excellent all rounder. The rooms were in excellent order and very clean and have the bonus of parking facilities. They do try their upmost to make your stay as pleasant as possible. What I thought was a nice touch, they have put a fridge in the hallway so you can store your cold drinks and which has complementary soft drinks. It’s nice to have a personal touch added to your stay.
The couple who run this I believe do an excellent job, and I have no negative comments to make. Just touching upon the comment below re breakfast, I was offered whatever I wanted a full fry up, scrambled etc, they were more than happy to cater nor was it too much trouble, you just have to ask. I will certainly stay again

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crabtree2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Border1Patrol, Owner at The Barns Country Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Your kind review is appreciated, nice to know we are doing things right

Nigel & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

I have spent many nights in the area and this is by far the best place I have stayed. Very nice hosts and a relaxing stay. Beautiful rooms.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris2010Berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Border1Patrol, Owner at The Barns Country Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words, much appreciated

Nigel & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

Good standard 4 star B&B - much better than nearby 5 star accommodation.
King size room spacious and well appointed. nice - comfortable bed. We like to support smaller establishments but it's strange isn't it when the owners take pains to complain about being overworked and too tied to the place!
Help provided to book restaurant. We made the mistake of chosing the duck and dog which relies too heavily on the microwave - if you do go to the pub - go for something they have to boil or fry - that wasn't the guest house fault - just be warned!
Back at the guest house, other than a pre ordered cooked breakfast with a fried egg (no choice!) - there wasn't much of a breakfast offer which was a shame and a missed opportunity.
A comfortable nights stay with the usual quirkiness you'd expect ;)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travevller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Border1Patrol, Owner at The Barns Country Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for your review, we are please you enjoyed your stay, we do offer a choice of eggs at breakfast, sorry this was not made clear to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2008

We were attending a wedding at the West Retford hotel, but due to costs we decided that staying here would be a cheaper alternative and we are so glad we did. This is a small family run guest house but nothing was too much trouble for them. At just over half the cost of the hotel we decided to stay 2 nights so we could explore Clumber Park.
The rooms although not big are nicely laid out with everything you need. The bed was wonderfully commfy and we had a relaxing nights sleep on them. Breakfast was a full english and it was just enough to fill you up but not to over face you and it was not greasy at all.
Although this was a B&B this gave a lot hotels a real good run for the money and when we told family members who stayed at the wedding hotel they wished they stayed at the barns. I would certainly come back and stay here again. It is an ideal spot to come and explore the area with a wonderful country side setting.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevenage_saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Border1Patrol, Owner at The Barns Country Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
We are please you enjoyed you stay with us, thank you for your kind review

Nigel & Sue

Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Babworth
2.9 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel
3.8 mi away
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Clumber Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Cherry Park Hall
Cherry Park Hall
#2 of 2 in Blyth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
5.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel
5.5 mi away
Acorn Lodge Guest House
Acorn Lodge Guest House
#2 of 3 in Worksop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barns Country Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barns Country Guesthouse

Property: The Barns Country Guesthouse
Address: Morton Farm, Babworth, Retford DN22 8HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford > Babworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Babworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Barns Country Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barns Country Guest House offers quality bed and breakfast accommodation in a beautiful rural setting near Retford, Nottinghamshire.Located just a couple of miles off the A1 and close to the market town of Retford, Nottinghamshire, The Barns Country Guesthouse offers comfortable B&B accommodation in a peaceful rural setting and is an ideal place for couples to unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Barns Country Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barns Country Guesthouse Babworth, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing