We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnby Moor
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with character”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for just a night, bar and food were excellent, recommend the steak and ale pie. Room was clean and tidy, bit warm on the top floor but managed a great nights sleep. Staff were very welcoming, made the whole experience very satisfying.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments following a recent visit to Ye Olde Bell Hotel.
I hope you can stay a little longer next time.....we're a long drive from Bournemouth, that steak and ale pie is definitely worth the trip though!!
Hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards

Kate Firth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    126
    41
    19
    13
See reviews for
123
159
8
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

we recently got married here and had an amazing day. The staff could not do enough, the food was fantastic and the rooms are beautifully decorated. I would definitly recommend for a meal, stay or wedding. My family and I had a great time and will definitley be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nt49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
We do love a wedding at Ye Olde Bell!!
Thrilled you had an amazing day with all your family and friends and thank you for taking the time to write a review, it's really rewarding for us all when we receive such lovely comments.
Look forward to seeing you back very soon.
Kind regards

Kate Firth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Ye Olde Bell hotel for one night after purchasing a deal through secret escapes. The location was nice and accessible with easy parking and lovely grounds. The food was exquisite, especially the inclusive 3 course evening meal. All the staff from reception, bar and to the restaurant were extremely helpful and attentive to all our needs. The superior room was spacious and beautiful with a lovely bathroom. This was really a worthwhile deal through secret escapes.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angelina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
I'm delighted you have now discovered Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant with the assistance of Secret Escapes, we've met some lovely new people who seem as enchanted with the hotel as we are!
I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and sincerely hope you will visit us again soon..... now you know where we are.
Kind regards

Kate Firth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed a night at the Ye olde bell for our good friends wedding, our room was nice and spacious with a good look in the theme of the establishment.
The wedding went well with a good meal enjoyed by all, the evening I thought was better as the gardens set the scene with the bar opening outdoors also, plenty of space for a large amount of guests.
A good stay, would recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for writing a review after attending a recent wedding at Ye Olde Bell,I'm delighted you got to appreciate our stunning gardens, they really are quite a hidden gem although news is traveling fast!
Please remember we're not just for weddings though, call in for a meal or a drink at the terrace bar anytime the sun is shining.
See you soon

Kind regards
Kate Firth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Booked 1 night stay via Secret Escapes to break a long journey. Upgraded ourselves to the Lady Jane Suite which was HUGE, clean and comfortable. Friendly staff, great evening meal and very happy to give a 5* review in all categories

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Great review...thank you very much!
Hopefully you'll consider making us your destination next time so you can linger longer and enjoy all we have to offer.
Kind regards

Kate Firth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I was looking forward to my stay, having looked at the web site , rooms looked lovely and although I thought the room price was high, I expected it was as a result of the refurbishment .
Our room was stuck up at attic level, you had to bend your head to get into bed. The hotel hadn't told us a Wedding was on that night and that our room was over the function room, so until 1.30am we were subject to vibrating and thumping music.
In addition the carpet on the staircase to our room looked as if the edges hadn't been cleaned for years. Disgusting.
Beware if you are thinking of going, London prices for a very disappointing hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 4tiredeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Oh dear, how disappointing, I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy all aspects of your stay.
You should of course have been allocated a room away from the wedding however, as you were going out for the evening and had booked a taxi to return very late this was somehow overlooked, I hope you will accept our sincere apology.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I really do appreciate your feedback which was discussed with the team at length.
I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Kate Firth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Good beer and restaurant, really enjoyed the steak. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and comfy rooms and plenty of space. Plenty of car parking space. Not too many other pubs in walking distance when i was there, quiet village.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair_WR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for visiting Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant recently and for taking the time to write a great review.
Delighted you enjoyed the steak, you just can't beat a good steak can you? Supplied by our local butcher and all sourced from nearby farms.
I hope you visit us again soon, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Kate Firth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnby Moor
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
6.2 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
8.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bawtry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Old Great North Road, Barnby Moor, Retford DN22 8QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford > Barnby Moor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnby Moor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17Th century hotel now passionately restored throughout by local owners to AA 4-Star + Rosette and combining history with contemporary style. Sheer luxury everywhere with rich fabrics, chandeliers, antiques and period features. Individually styled bedrooms and stunning suites, all with flatscreen TVs and contemporary bathrooms with walk-in power showers. Lounges with real log fires in winter and smart Garden Terrace Bar for summer drinks and dining al fresco. Trendy Restaurant Bar 1650 and rich ambient St Leger Bistro-by-the-Bar with extensive menu inc creative Rosette dishes plus traditional classics. Hotel Fitness Centre and hair and beauty treatment salons - brand new state-of-the-art Luxury Spa opens Spring 2017. Just off the A1 and on the border of Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire and Yorkshire - ideal for Sherwood Forest, Lincoln Cathedral, Nottingham Castle, Chatsworth House and Doncaster and Southwell Races. Just 5 minutes from Retford Mainline Rail Station and close to Robin Hood & East Midlands Airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Bell Hotel And Restaurant
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant Barnby Moor, Nottinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing