We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad to get home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnby Moor
Certificate of Excellence
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Glad to get home!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here for a wedding. Gardens very good, wedding venue excellent beautiful setting. The restaurant was set out and decorated beautifully. Meal very average although service was good and staff very helpful.

Our room was nicely decorated and the bathroom spotless, however there was no air conditioning which meant that we had to have the windows wide open on a very warm and stuffy night. As our room was right above the disco which didn't finish until 1.00 a.m. it was impossible to sleep plus there was noise from a boiler or something at regular intervals throughout the night.

The hotel could do with a face lift and rooms upgrading, safes in the room etc. would I stay here again - no sorry.

Room Tip: Avoid room 26
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your very positive comments regarding the wedding you attended recently, Ye Olde Bell is indeed an excellent, beautiful setting perfect for summer or winter celebrations.
I'm really sorry you didn't sleep very well, room 26 is usually a lovely quiet room away from the event room but I can see that if the windows were open the disco sounds could have carried. I'm sure we would have done our best to find you an alternative room had you asked.
We have just spent the last 7 years restoring and maintaining our hotel so I'm surprised you feel it's in need of a facelift, we're confident we have brought Ye Olde Bell firmly into the 21st century but have retained the original charm and character. I guess it's all very subjective and of course everyone has their own opinion. Thank you for sharing yours with us, I genuinely value the feedback and the time you have taken to write a review.
I sincerely hope you will visit again in the future.
Kind regards

Kate Firth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    130
    42
    20
    13
See reviews for
127
163
8
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding and had a lovely time! Our room was number 21. We are a couple with a nine month old baby. We booked well in advance and were given a pokey room right next to the kitchen extractor fan. It was a warm weekend so we needed to open the window as there is no air con. We were greeted by an awful smell plus a large amount of noise from a ball which was going on. We paid the same as our friends with no children and ended up with the worst room possible for our situation. The reception was less than helpful. We paid £240 for this room (a reduced rate) frankly I had a better and cheaper room in a premier inn that I stayed in a couple of months ago. The reception did not even thank us for staying or helped with our luggage.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jaygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ye Olde Bell recently, I'm delighted you enjoyed the wedding.
I'm really sorry you were disappointed with the size of bedroom you had been allocated.
I'm sure if you'd mentioned it at the time we would have done our utmost to move you to another room.
I'm really surprised you weren't offered help with your luggage,the reception team are usually so obliging and helpful, offering assistance as a matter of course. Naturally I will reiterate how important this service is, even now I can remember what's involved when traveling with a nine month old!!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I'm genuinely very grateful for your feedback..
Kind regards
Kate Firth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on a Telegraph offer. Traditional style hotel with good restaurant. We had a superior room in the courtyard which was quite large with easy chairs and nice shower room. There was a pleasant garden, ideal for summer weddings and parties. Good WiFi reception. Our only mild complaint was that it took two requests to get extra hangers as there only two in the wardrobe. All in all though for the special offer price we paid it was very good value.




Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CheshireHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent short break at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant and thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is appreciated.
I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards

Kate Firth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for just a night, bar and food were excellent, recommend the steak and ale pie. Room was clean and tidy, bit warm on the top floor but managed a great nights sleep. Staff were very welcoming, made the whole experience very satisfying.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments following a recent visit to Ye Olde Bell Hotel.
I hope you can stay a little longer next time.....we're a long drive from Bournemouth, that steak and ale pie is definitely worth the trip though!!
Hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards

Kate Firth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

we recently got married here and had an amazing day. The staff could not do enough, the food was fantastic and the rooms are beautifully decorated. I would definitly recommend for a meal, stay or wedding. My family and I had a great time and will definitley be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nt49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
We do love a wedding at Ye Olde Bell!!
Thrilled you had an amazing day with all your family and friends and thank you for taking the time to write a review, it's really rewarding for us all when we receive such lovely comments.
Look forward to seeing you back very soon.
Kind regards

Kate Firth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Ye Olde Bell hotel for one night after purchasing a deal through secret escapes. The location was nice and accessible with easy parking and lovely grounds. The food was exquisite, especially the inclusive 3 course evening meal. All the staff from reception, bar and to the restaurant were extremely helpful and attentive to all our needs. The superior room was spacious and beautiful with a lovely bathroom. This was really a worthwhile deal through secret escapes.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angelina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
I'm delighted you have now discovered Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant with the assistance of Secret Escapes, we've met some lovely new people who seem as enchanted with the hotel as we are!
I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and sincerely hope you will visit us again soon..... now you know where we are.
Kind regards

Kate Firth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed a night at the Ye olde bell for our good friends wedding, our room was nice and spacious with a good look in the theme of the establishment.
The wedding went well with a good meal enjoyed by all, the evening I thought was better as the gardens set the scene with the bar opening outdoors also, plenty of space for a large amount of guests.
A good stay, would recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for writing a review after attending a recent wedding at Ye Olde Bell,I'm delighted you got to appreciate our stunning gardens, they really are quite a hidden gem although news is traveling fast!
Please remember we're not just for weddings though, call in for a meal or a drink at the terrace bar anytime the sun is shining.
See you soon

Kind regards
Kate Firth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnby Moor
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
6.2 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
8.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Lion Hotel
5.8 mi away
Acorn Lodge Guest House
Acorn Lodge Guest House
#2 of 3 in Worksop
65 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bawtry
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Old Great North Road, Barnby Moor, Retford DN22 8QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford > Barnby Moor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnby Moor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17Th century hotel now passionately restored throughout by local owners to AA 4-Star + Rosette and combining history with contemporary style. Sheer luxury everywhere with rich fabrics, chandeliers, antiques and period features. Individually styled bedrooms and stunning suites, all with flatscreen TVs and contemporary bathrooms with walk-in power showers. Lounges with real log fires in winter and smart Garden Terrace Bar for summer drinks and dining al fresco. Trendy Restaurant Bar 1650 and rich ambient St Leger Bistro-by-the-Bar with extensive menu inc creative Rosette dishes plus traditional classics. Hotel Fitness Centre and hair and beauty treatment salons - brand new state-of-the-art Luxury Spa opens Spring 2017. Just off the A1 and on the border of Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire and Yorkshire - ideal for Sherwood Forest, Lincoln Cathedral, Nottingham Castle, Chatsworth House and Doncaster and Southwell Races. Just 5 minutes from Retford Mainline Rail Station and close to Robin Hood & East Midlands Airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Bell Hotel And Restaurant
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant Barnby Moor, Nottinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing