We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnby Moor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great stay for a wedding, bit pricey and breakfast alittle too busy for the restaurant at times but great rooms and amazing grounds.
We'll be back soon...................................................

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

I'm delighted you enjoyed the wedding you attended recently and thank you for taking the time to write a review it is greatly appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards
Kate Firth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Visit here on the 2nd august for our very close friends wedding it was amazing! We were given a free room upgrade and the room was amazing. This us a perfect venue for a wedding. We would defiantly recommend it! The breakfast was really nice you can order what ever you like! The rooms were quite expensive but for a wedding it was fine!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Hellz1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Quite a headline...thank you very much!!
I'm delighted you enjoyed the wedding and had a great night's stay, we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Kate Firth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Lovely old hotel and a great wedding venue but too noisy to sleep! There was noise from the garden until the early hours and the creaking floors in the corridor and the room above made it impossible to sleep! Such a shame as the hotel and grounds are lovely and I couldn't fault the bedroom and bathroom.
The breakfast was also very disappointing. Service was chaotic; we gave up trying to attract the attention of the staff wandering aimlessly with the coffee pots and went and helped ourselves from the filter. It took ages for someone to take our order and the toast never arrived. Tried the buffet instead but put off by the sad remains of a few Danish pastries.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jojo707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Ye Olde Bell Hotel for a wedding, I genuinely appreciate your feedback.
I'm so sorry you had difficulty sleeping, garden rooms are usually lovely and quiet but obviously on this occasion a few guests decided to party in the garden until quite late.
I'm sorry you did not experience breakfast service at its best.... we offer a freshly cooked, plated hot breakfast rather than a buffet which is a fabulous offering, however, when all our guests require breakfast at the same time (usually 5 minutes to 10!!) it can take a little longer than normal.
Thank you for your very positive comments about our lovely hotel, it is indeed a perfect venue for a wedding.
Hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Kate Firth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Once we had arrived, having taken an hour to travel one mile due to an accident on the A1 we were greeted at the hotel and shown to a very large,well decorated old fashioned themed room ,with a modern bathroom.the bed was comfortable. The only complaint we had was the room was very warm and we could not sleep due to the heat even with all the widows opened.British weather!
The food was good ,parts of it excellent.breakfast all that could be wished for.
All the staff were friendly and efficient.
The only drawback to the hotel was the price of the drinks,but being able to sit in the garden was a big plus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MACHANGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your very detailed and constructive review, I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant.
I'm sorry you had difficulty sleeping due to the warm weather, we're just not used to it are we?
It'll soon be autumn and I can light our gorgeous log fires again, definitely worth another visit for that experience alone.
Hope to see you back again soon.
Kind regards
Kate Firth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I held an event in the gardens here recently and the staff were fantastic on the day. Everything was organized and I didn't have to think about anything on the day.
In case of rain another room was opened up, and food had been beautifully presented.

Negative - I tried to email my contact the day before with a question and got an 'out of office', i then emailed that person and got another 'out of office'. I ended up calling the main reception, who had to try and find someone and get back to me. A little stressful the day before. Perhaps a secondary contact (or the correct out of office person) should be given?

Overall i highly recommend this as a wonderful reception area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Holiday2reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

I'm thrilled you enjoyed your recent event at Ye Olde Bell and thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is greatly appreciated.
Our Junior Assistant Manager Ben Smedley had the pleasure of looking after you on the day and he was delighted with your feedback too.
I'm sorry you had a little trouble contacting us by email, we've restructured the office very recently which caused a slight blip! All sorted now, thanks to you.
Hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Kate Firth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here for a wedding. Gardens very good, wedding venue excellent beautiful setting. The restaurant was set out and decorated beautifully. Meal very average although service was good and staff very helpful.

Our room was nicely decorated and the bathroom spotless, however there was no air conditioning which meant that we had to have the windows wide open on a very warm and stuffy night. As our room was right above the disco which didn't finish until 1.00 a.m. it was impossible to sleep plus there was noise from a boiler or something at regular intervals throughout the night.

The hotel could do with a face lift and rooms upgrading, safes in the room etc. would I stay here again - no sorry.

Room Tip: Avoid room 26
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your very positive comments regarding the wedding you attended recently, Ye Olde Bell is indeed an excellent, beautiful setting perfect for summer or winter celebrations.
I'm really sorry you didn't sleep very well, room 26 is usually a lovely quiet room away from the event room but I can see that if the windows were open the disco sounds could have carried. I'm sure we would have done our best to find you an alternative room had you asked.
We have just spent the last 7 years restoring and maintaining our hotel so I'm surprised you feel it's in need of a facelift, we're confident we have brought Ye Olde Bell firmly into the 21st century but have retained the original charm and character. I guess it's all very subjective and of course everyone has their own opinion. Thank you for sharing yours with us, I genuinely value the feedback and the time you have taken to write a review.
I sincerely hope you will visit again in the future.
Kind regards

Kate Firth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding and had a lovely time! Our room was number 21. We are a couple with a nine month old baby. We booked well in advance and were given a pokey room right next to the kitchen extractor fan. It was a warm weekend so we needed to open the window as there is no air con. We were greeted by an awful smell plus a large amount of noise from a ball which was going on. We paid the same as our friends with no children and ended up with the worst room possible for our situation. The reception was less than helpful. We paid £240 for this room (a reduced rate) frankly I had a better and cheaper room in a premier inn that I stayed in a couple of months ago. The reception did not even thank us for staying or helped with our luggage.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank jaygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Ye Olde Bell recently, I'm delighted you enjoyed the wedding.
I'm really sorry you were disappointed with the size of bedroom you had been allocated.
I'm sure if you'd mentioned it at the time we would have done our utmost to move you to another room.
I'm really surprised you weren't offered help with your luggage,the reception team are usually so obliging and helpful, offering assistance as a matter of course. Naturally I will reiterate how important this service is, even now I can remember what's involved when traveling with a nine month old!!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I'm genuinely very grateful for your feedback..
Kind regards
Kate Firth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnby Moor
3 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
6.2 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
5.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bawtry
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
6.1 mi away
Best Western Lion Hotel
10.8 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Barnby Moor, Retford DN22 8QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford > Barnby Moor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnby Moor
Price Range: £110 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th century hotel now passionately restored throughout by local owners to AA 4-Star + Rosette plus a brand new bespoke Spa in 2017. Sheer luxury with rich fabrics, chandeliers, antiques and period features. Individually styled bedrooms and stunning suites, all with flatscreen TVs and contemporary bathrooms with walk-in power showers and more. Lounges with real log fires in winter and smart Garden Terrace Bar for summer drinks and dining al fresco. Creative Rosette dining in Restaurant Bar 1650 plus traditional classics with contemporary twist in lively St Leger Bistro. Hotel Gym plus Spa with indoor/outdoor vitality pool, 10 thermal experiences including unique ‘Snowstorm’ plus beauty treatment rooms and hair salon. Just off the A1 and on the border of Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire and Yorkshire - Sherwood Forest, Lincoln Cathedral, Chatsworth, Doncaster & Southwell Races nearby. Just 5 minutes from Retford Mainline Rail & close to Robin Hood & East Midlands Airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Bell Hotel And Restaurant
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant Barnby Moor, Nottinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing