We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Michael N
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom

Great Stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Feb 2024via mobile
After reading some reviews before arriving, I was a bit anxious of what awaited ! The hotel is an old coaching inn and so the decor is very traditional but spotlessly clean and in keeping . The rooms were spacious and immaculate. Visited the spa which was very modern and the grounds all well kept.
Food was very good, had Sunday lunch which was excellent, very old school service but staff all efficient and friendly. Every staff member we came across bar / reception/ cleaning were all cheery and courteous .
Really pleasant stay would come again.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Firth, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review
Responded 13 Feb 2024
Hello, thank you for such a considered and positive review, it is greatly appreciated.
We love the contrast between the traditional charm of the hotel and modern luxury of the spa and we get very excited when our guests 'get it' too!
Sunday lunch is my favourite service of the week, we're actively trying to uphold a tradition and long may it last.
Hope to be able to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Official Hotel Site
36.3 miles from Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
    0.1 miles from Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £130
    • Hotels.com
    0.0 miles from Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £68
    • Hotels.com
    3.0 miles from Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £64
    • Expedia.com
    3.4 miles from Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    The Elms Hotel
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £70
    • Hotels.com
    4.0 miles from Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Hotel Exterior & Terrace
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £100
    • Hotels.com
    5.3 miles from Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    7.7 miles from Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    10.3 miles from Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Barnby Moor
    Reviews (819)
    Filter reviews
    819 results
    Traveller rating
    469
    192
    76
    47
    35
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    469
    192
    76
    47
    35
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews ye olde bell birthday treat afternoon tea sunday lunch wedding reception lovely hotel cooked to perfection evening meal friends wedding pudding steak function room main building spa bistro fires venue
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    10 - 15 of 819 reviews
    Reviewed 11 February 2024

    Another absolutely amazing stay at this fabulous hotel. Food-amazing, staff-second to none and the venue-perfect.
    All the staff are friendly and very professional-special thanks to Jenny and Billy. We will be back very soon to our favourite place.

    Date of stay: February 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Lyz J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kate Firth, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2024

    Hello Lyz
    It's always an absolute pleasure to welcome you to the hotel and I'm delighted you had another wonderful stay.
    Jenny and Billy will be thrilled with your comments, see you soon!
    Kate

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 February 2024

    Room are basic bed not comfy like sleeping on concrete had to send my food back 3 times as cold waiter then told me he had microwaves it I was a party of 9 that was staying and 4 other members had to also send there food back with 3 of the coming down with food poisoning mold on the Curtains in bedroom

    Date of stay: February 2024
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    1  Thank Ash J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kate Firth, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2024

    Hello Ash
    I think our rooms are lovely and we get many positive comments, I understand they can not necessarily be to everyone's taste.
    I'm sorry you had to send your food back we should have taken more care but I have every confidence in our food safety procedures and on inspection all critical control procedures had been followed and documented. I'm sorry you were unable to attend your course the following day and hope you made a swift recovery. Unfortunately the curtain in your room had been trapped outside so it was indeed dirty and it was ripped as a consequence. I can assure you this has now been cleaned and repaired.
    Thank you for your feedback, it is appreciated.
    Kind regards
    Kate

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 February 2024

    Perfect location for us, delightful welcome, staff very attentive yet professional. Excellent supper and the biggest bed we’ve ever slept in followed by a great breakfast. Won’t be our last stay! The choice of restaurant areas was good, as was the relaxed lobby/lounge area near to the reception desk.

    Room tip: Great menu and wine list and choice of relaxed or formal dining locations way good.
    Date of stay: February 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Nicholas P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kate Firth, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2024

    What a lovely review, thank you very much.
    We have some exciting changes coming for one of our restaurants to further enhance the experience for our guests.
    We look forward to welcoming you back.
    Kind regards
    Kate

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 September 2023

    We spent one night here on our way back from the north and it was perfect. The spa was great with a range of thermal rooms, pool and seating areas with great staff. The room was comfortable and the restaurant was relaxed with again the staff being great.

    Date of stay: September 2023
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Jennifer B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kate Firth, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2024

    Thank you, I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.
    Kind regards
    Kate

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 August 2023 via mobile

    We stayed in the hotel as part of our Relax and Rejuvenate spa package for our wedding anniversary. The staff were all lovely and both dinner and breakfast was really nice. Late check out was also appreciated to end our relaxing stay.

    The only negative was our hotel room. After such a luxurious, high quality day in the spa our room was a little disappointing.

    The hotel itself is old but our room needed refurbishing. The bathroom was clean but the blind had holes in it. The carpet in the bedroom was dirty and stained. The chair had stains on it, the coffee table was marked and there were watermarks on the wall. The bedding was clean however the bed seemed shorter than a normal double so not great if you are tall. It was really hot too and unfortunately no air-con or fan in the room.

    It was a shame the room didn’t match the quality of the rest of the day.

    Date of stay: August 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank L00PY-LUP0
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kate Firth, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2023

    Thank you for visiting us recently and taking the time to write a review. We are grateful for your feedback and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
    We have an ongoing programme of refurbishment throughout the hotel and I'm sorry your room did quite meet expectation.
    Kind regards
    Kate

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews