We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the norm for a Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbus South
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Grove City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The hotel was under construction so the paint fumes were bad and lobby and stairways were dirty. The side door did not close due to the extention cords so anyone could enter the hotel. I stay at may Hamptons as it is my hotel of choice so I was displeased with my stay on this trip but I know this is not the norm for Hampton i will continue to Hampton as my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnColsSouth, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbus South, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Barbara M.,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. I understand that you were inconvenienced by the construction that we are currently undergoing. As you could tell we are currently going through renovations and I do regret if this caused you any inconveniences. I can assure you we are doing everything we can in order to finalize our remodeling as quickly as possible.

We always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected and I can assure you that your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise.

Please know that your business is incredibly important to us and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered.

Monalisa Cassell ~ General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbus South
p: 614-539-1177

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

Dirty, gross, unappealing location. Staff has a terrible attitude...acting as if "it's not my problem"...and they don't offer any resolution. When I asked for an explanation, I was told that "your expectations are too high for a $155.00 room". I have lodged a formal complaint with Hampton Inns...I'll be surprised if I receive a phone call/email. Don't stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnColsSouth, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbus South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Mr. Hawthorne,

Thank you for your review in regards to your previous stay. I hope my phone call to you yesterday on 10/24/13 at 11.49am, resolved all the issues you experienced with us.
Please be assured that your review will be taken into consideration so that we may improve our guests’ in-property experience.

Again, thank you very much for your review and we sincerely hope that you will provide us a future opportunity when you return to Grove City, Ohio.

Best Regards,
Monalisa Cassell // General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbus South
p: 614-539-1177 / 614-539-2231

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Nice location nice staff very clean room The only issue is the rate for being under construction No area to sit and relax in lobby not the normal breakfast I would stay here again but not at the rate I paid (129) while they are under construction

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank TY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We pulled in on a late night because of the Hampton name. I must say we were very leery by the looks of the lobby which was heavily under construction. They had vacancies and the guy at the front desk was super nice. He reassured us that the rooms looked much better and he was very right. The rooms were newly renovated and beautiful. Very comfortable and clean. The only drawback was that the regular breakfast was not available due to construction of the breakfast area. They did have grab and go bags available in one if the rooms along with some cereal. Nice place. Will be even better once construction is finished.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Margie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Close to downtown, good highway access. FD was outstanding. We will be back, even with renovations, place was clean, and QUIET! Close to downtown, good highway access. FD was outstanding. We will be back, even with renovations, place was clean, and QUIET!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This hotel was going through some major updates when I stayed there. However, I got there in the evening and left early so I did not have to contend with construction noise. The staff was extremely courteous and knowledgeable about the area. It is situated in a nice area. Plenty of restaurants (fast food and dining), grocery stores, gas stations etc. It is also right off the interstate, so very convenient.

Room Tip: This is a great hotel if you are stopping over and continuing to Cincinnati in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Despite the welcoming staff and apologies, this hotel is under serious construction. Consequently, there is no breakfast (for the time being), their is construction visible as they build a new eating area, and from the parking lot the second floor is completely gutted. You can get a discount on the night by staying there, and a beverage when you check in, but it won't be the same Hampton Inn you've grown to love. Like I said the staff is great, but they aren't involved with the construction.

Room Tip: Bring surge protectors with lots of slots for your electronics, the old hotel rooms are getting a ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeemerScreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grove City
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Grove City
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Grove City
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 17 in Grove City
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
Best Western Executive Inn
#7 of 17 in Grove City
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbus - Grove City
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus West
Hampton Inn Columbus West
#25 of 145 in Columbus
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbus South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbus South

Address: 4017 Jackpot Rd, Grove City, OH 43123-9739
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Grove City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grove City
#4 Business Hotel in Grove City
Price Range: £79 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbus South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated and expanded Hampton Inn by Hilton Columbus-South located in Grove City, Ohio just off of I-71! We've added 32 new guest rooms including two whirlpool rooms, new elevators and a new fitness center. We've also modernized every existing guest room from top to bottom. Our hotel also features all the comforts you've come to expect from Hampton, including complimentary Wi-Fi and complimentary hot breakfast every morning! Other amenities include a business center, indoor pool, laundry facility and meeting room. All rooms come standard with a mini refrigerator and microwave. Hampton Inn by Hilton Columbus-South is located at exit 100 off of I-71 just south of Columbus in Grove City. We're located near over 30 restaurants at our exit and multiple places to shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbus South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbus South Hotel Grove City
Hampton Inn Grove City
Grove City Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Columbus South Grove City, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing