We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sunday roast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Forest Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edwinstowe
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Sunday roast!”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We were staying at Sherwood Pines Forest Park and booked a table for 8 people after reading reviews from others staying at the same location. We were not disappointed. I think it was probably the best roast I've ever had! Beautiful roast beef, mash and roast potatoes, plus loads of veg. The creamed leek was amazing! The staff were very friendly and the whole meal was a lovely relaxed experience. I will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyHolibobsKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    38
    15
    1
    5
See reviews for
54
51
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

10 members of our family stayed overnight at the end of January to celebrate our son's 40th birthday. The location was superb within walking distance of Sherwood Forest and the hotel totally fitted our requirements:- child friendly, all the rooms beautifully clean and spacious, food delicious and the staff were very accommodating. In all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carluke, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We booked Forest Lodge for three nights to go to a friend’s wedding in Sherwood Forest. We found the hotel to be excellent, the rooms were of adequate size, exceptionally clean (I’m a housekeeper so cleanliness is important!), the staff were really friendly and helpful and the food was amazing. We didn’t have the opportunity to dine in the restaurant as it was being refurbished at the time. I’m sure that it would have been the same exceptional y standard as the rest of the hotel. I’m not that great a sleeper and was a bit sceptical about sleeping over a pub and on a main road but I asked for a quiet room, and I got it! Very friendly – you get what you pay for with this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet room if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Noisy smelly drainage system, the TV signal was not good, every station kept breaking up.
The Hotel tried to charge us £25 extra to access our room 2 hours early so we could change our clothes.
The Hotel was noisy at night both from passing traffic and other guests.

Not impressed at all

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montauban, Owner at The Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Very sorry that the reviewer wasn't impressed. To do something about these issues, it always helps if we are told about them during the stay as opposed to several weeks afterwards (date of stay - 8th September). Our rooms are available from 14.30 onwards. Check-out is by 10.30. If a guest wants to check in very early, we do have an early check-in charge of £20, not £25. As for the traffic, there is unfortunately nothing we can do about that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed here whilst going to a relatives wedding near by - it was basic but very clean, nicely decorated, exceptional customer service, good evening food and lovely breakfast. We were in room 5 which was small but nicely decorated. The double bed was small but all in all no complaints. Bit costly for essentially bed and breakfast but the lovely breakfast made up for this bit. Really must say that all the staff - reception, bar, restaurant etc were all incredibly attentive, polite, helpful and really nice.

Room Tip: I asked for advice as we wanted a quiet room and reception recommended room 5 which was not above th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M1SS_G1GGLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

First time we had stayed at Forest Lodge,9 of us in total.We were going to a wedding at Rufford Park,my brother recommended it as he lives in the area.One of the best small hotels we have ever stayed at,loved the individuality of all the rooms,no 2 the same,the meals were superb,plus the staff were very helpful,we had a room on the front but the traffic did not bother us.All the people in our party agreed it was superb and would stay ther again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

After a recent 3 night stay I can report that Forest Lodge was a very good place to stay and an even better place to eat.

The rooms were nicely furnished and the beds were very comfortable. The rooms had a good sized television and bathroom which was good to have. The staff were always available and there was ample car parking. The only thing missing was wireless internet that would have made the stay better. I believe this should be a given now in hotels.

The hotel restaurant is joined to the bar and the food that is served is some of the best I have had. The service is quite quick and all of the food is beautifully cooked and there is ample food on the plate to satisfy even the biggest appetites. I ate there every night and can personally recommend the tagine, vegetarian lasagne and the haddock. The desserts are equally as good with the local ice cream scoring high marks.

I highly recommend the hotel to people staying in the area and would even recommend people travel from as far as Nottingham to eat there.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a good size but make sure you bring a few extra coat hangers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hewijj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montauban, Owner at The Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thanks for your kind review. For information, we do have free WiFi available and have had for the past few years. Usernames and passwords are available from reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edwinstowe
5.0 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
7.8 mi away
Best Western Lion Hotel
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Acorn Lodge Guest House
Acorn Lodge Guest House
#2 of 3 in Worksop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
11.2 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
9.3 mi away
Saracens Head Hotel
Saracens Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Southwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forest Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forest Lodge Hotel

Property: The Forest Lodge Hotel
Address: 4 Church Street, Edwinstowe NG21 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Edwinstowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edwinstowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Forest Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Forest Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Forest Hotel Edwinstowe
Forest Hotel Edwinstowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing