We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super service with a friendly smile : )”
Review of Marion's Manor

Marion's Manor
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marion's Manor
Ranked #2 of 6 Edwinstowe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Had 1 night with Marion when we went to see Paul Weller in Sherwood Forest, well what can I say... perfect- comfy bed, lovely breakfast, spotlessly clean! Only thing she hadn't organised was an England win- well you can't have everything!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BozzyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Marion's Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

I cannot say enough about Marions Manor. Marion is such a great host (along with Eric). A very warm welcome by Marion. I was there with my Dad, Gran, Aunts and Uncle (I'm 31). The Manor itself was lovely. Great big Gardens with 4 budgies and some fish out there a great place to spend some time in peace. You could swear that the noise of all the birds chirping was a cd being played its so nice. Felt guilty switching on my TV when this is waiting out the back for you.

Moving inside, the house is immaculate. Every small detail is catered. A very comfortable bed. The breakfast was excellent and served on some expensive china. Lots of choice for the breakfast, I went full English and it was a great choice (after my cornflakes). Fresh Orange Juice and Tea and Coffee available too.

Marion was so helpful, when she knew we were going out, she offered us the phone numbers of every taxi number in the local area. When we couldn't get a taxi she even offered to take us through as we weren't going too far. We managed to sort a lift anyway but it was such a nice offer.

I will definitely be back here.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Ampie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I have to admit we chose this B&B based on the name and my daughter's penchant for all things Robin Hood. It turned out to be a terrific choice - very clean, comfortable room, lovely backyard with birdfeeders and bench, easy walk to Sherwood Forest and restaurants, delicious breakfast, great directions to both B&B and local attractions. Really enjoyed talking with Marion - very kind and interested in her guests. Highly recommend her B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Marion and Eric are warm-hearted most welcoming. Their B&B is very (imaculately) clean without appearing to be prissy. It is also bright and cheerful. The breakfast offers a wide choice and the cooked meals are perfectly cooked. Scrambled egg is difficult to get just right. Marion does it! ... and toast comes in a toast rack, so is good and crispy - a gold star for that. Though on the A6075, there appeared to be little traffic noise at night. My single room had plenty of space, a washbasin (large bathroom with separate bath and shower adjacent + towelling robe), full tea and coffee kit. My room had very good lighting - suitable for reading a book, unlike most B&Bs and a lot of hotels.
Parking off road at the back, house reached via their garden. You might need to park in Lansbury Ave or Maid Marion Drive opposite and call at the house to get directions to the rear - the access lane off the A6075 is not obvious, but can be clearly seen on Google Maps if enlarged sufficiently.
Very convenient for Sherwood Forest and the Major Oak.

Room Tip: I was alone, so had No.3 upstairs, at the back with a large, separate bathroom. My niece and husbanc...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bittern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We have stayed several times and it is our B & B of choice bar none. Marion offers the perfect B & B experience; a warm welcome, a comfy bed, local advice and knowledge and an excellent fry up or smoked salmon & scrambled eggs on a toasted muffin if you want something a bit different. There is ample parking, lovely gardens and all the help you might need. We will be booking up early to make sure that we get our favourite room.

Room Tip: Room 2, although a twin, is cosy and looks out on the lovely garden. Nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_Italian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
supergran54, Owner at Marion's Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Thank you so much for your comments. We look forward to seeing you next year x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Clean, spacious, comfortable and a good breakfast. Most of all, Marion and Eric are genuinely nice people who are hugely accommodating to your needs. Lovely place to stay for anyone, especially if you are visiting Sherwood Forest.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Booked here to see a gig at Sherwood Forest. Marion had pre booked a taxi for the guests to get us there and back which was useful but the taxi was expensive!
The B&B is lovely big house with beautiful gardens.
Our room was pretty big with a large private bathroom next door.
Very clean.
Breakfast delicious.
On arrival we advised that we had missed our exit so got a little lost and when we checked out the following day Marion had written us directions to get us back home - very helpful.
Check out is at 10am which is pretty early - this was the only downside.
Definitely recommend as excellent value for money and Marion and Eric superb.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pokerface9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edwinstowe
0.2 mi away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
186 reviews
5.0 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
6.9 mi away
Travelodge Retford Markham Moor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Best Western Lion Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dukeries Lodge
Dukeries Lodge
#5 of 6 in Edwinstowe
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Sherwood Forest
YHA Sherwood Forest
#2 of 2 in Edwinstowe
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marion's Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marion's Manor

Address: Ollerton Road, Edwinstowe NG21 9QF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Edwinstowe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Edwinstowe
Price Range: £60 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marion's Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Marion's Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing