We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable”
Review of Dukeries Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dukeries Lodge
Ranked #5 of 6 Edwinstowe B&B and Inns
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Friendly welcome and shown to room, unfortunately first room had plumbing issue but offered an alternative larger room on next floor. Comfortable but in need of a facelift. Good breakfast and friendly staff. Room Clean with good quality bedding and comfy bed. Another chair would have been nice.

Room Tip: All rooms individual obviously not purpose built so small ensuites.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    47
    46
    34
    19
See reviews for
38
74
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Had a lovely welcome but unfortunately we were not impressed, the room was very dark and depressing, not very clean (except for bedding and towels), very small room and bed even though we did request a large double when we booked, bathroom tiny and not very clean, very noisy plumbing throughout the whole stay, we could hear a lot of noise from the bar so I wouldn't like to stay on a busy night!! no double glazed windows so could hear traffic noise.... the breakfast was not very good, it tasted like it had been cooked with lard!! On a plus side the staff are pleasant and the evening meal we had was quite nice.... Overall, the place looks tired and needs a good clean to sparkle it all up!! we would like to stay again if changes are made!!!!

Room Tip: room 9 is very small and you can hear a lot of noise from the road and bar area, doors slamming and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olenczuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edwinstowe hotels

Diggle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The hotel is better than average but good rather than very good the staff were pleasant and helpful the room was comfortable the breakfast was first class although I declined the full breakfast the full breakfast delivered to the next table had enough food to sustain a person for a day and the quality was good

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this pub for two nights and it was quite comfortable. The building is quite old but has been moderately renovated and our room was quite large. Plumbing was a bit of an issue but we worked it out eventually. The rate was reasonable as was the menu and bar prices. Staff were friendly although some of the bar staff were a bit slow. We found it quite central and walked to Sherwood Forest from here. We also drove to Rufford Abbey for the World War II re-enactment which was fantastic. They even had a cannon firing demonstration.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Holidayhound62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I took my mum for her birthday meal. There were four of us and we went on Thursday which is steak night. Two of us had two courses and two of us had all three and for that, including drinks and a bottle of wine, it came to a grand total of £68! The steaks were beautifully cooked, the starters were fabulous (and very generous!) and the Sicilian lemon cheesecake was fantastic - although nothing like the picture, not that it mattered after I tasted it. Overall, I can thoroughly recommend their savoury food - deserts are a bit more hit & miss.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed at The Dukeries for our wedding night. We got to the hotel at 10:45pm and the staff were so helpful. We stayed In the Maid Marion Suite and the room was lovely with a nice comfy bed, a lovely on-suite and a beautiful view. When we went for breakfast we were met with a smile and the breakfast was beautiful and very big! We are returning for our 1 year Anniversary next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leebrazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stopped here for early evening meal, 5 adults and child. Excellent service, good pub food and very reasonably priced. Staff very helpful.
Yes it is on a main road but not that busy when we visited. interesting building.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edwinstowe
0.4 mi away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
5.4 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
8.2 mi away
Best Western Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marion's Manor
Marion's Manor
#2 of 6 in Edwinstowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.5 mi away
YHA Sherwood Forest
YHA Sherwood Forest
#2 of 2 in Edwinstowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukeries Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukeries Lodge

Property: Dukeries Lodge
Address: High Street, Edwinstowe NG22 9HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Edwinstowe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Edwinstowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukeries Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Description: Having been recently fully renovated, our wonderful 18th-century coaching inn, we are now enjoying sharing this wonderful hotel with you. In the rural countryside village of Edwinstowe, Nottinghamshire, the Dukeries Lodge dates back to the days of highwaymen, when it first provided a comfortable stopover. Our passion has been to retain the traditional character and sense of history – even choosing to keep the creaky floors and wonderful stained glass windows. All our individually styled bedrooms and our Maid Marian suite are admired by everyone. A family-run hotel with a reputation for superb hospitality, long renowned as one of the best loved venues for celebrations of all kinds, we also offer meeting and conference packages. Conveniently located on the border of Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire & Yorkshire close to the A1, M1, M18 & M62, we are within an hour’s drive from Retford, Doncaster, Leeds, Sheffield and Nottingham. Robin Hood Airport. Traveling Entertainment Sports and Leisure Outdoor AdventureStuff for KidsLove and MarriageHealth and BeautyLiving the High LifeThe `just plain odd` listHotel's Cancellation Policy12 Noon Day Prior to Arrival General PoliciesChildren AcceptedPets AcceptedCheck In on or after - 14:00Check Out prior to - 11:00Parking Info / Road InfoNearest Motorway - A1Parking - On-Site - 100Parking Restrictions - all day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dukeries Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukeries Hotel Edwinstowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing