We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Forest Live Concerts”
Review of Dukeries Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dukeries Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Edwinstowe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here when we attended the Jessie J concert at Sherwood Pines. Check in was very efficient and friendly. We were escorted to our room and shown how to get in on return from the concert. Our room was clean as was the bathroom which looked as if it had been recently refurbished. It also had tea and coffee making facilities and biscuits. Our room faced the main road so there was some traffic noise but that didn't prevent us from having a good night's sleep. The breakfast was excellent with prompt, friendly service. Breakfast consisted of cereal, fruit juice, yogurt, toast and a full English. I had the vegetarian breakfast which was lovely and served really hot. I agree with another reviewer that the bedrooms are dark but that is the style. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it at £65 for a double room and breakfast.

Room Tip: If you don't like traffic noise ask for a room not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALH57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

If you are visiting the area the id 100% reccomend this place. Stayed here last week for the 4th time. Great staff, nice rooms, lovely breakfast and good price. I particularly like the maid Marion suit, it overlooks the village and has the best facilities

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KathrynM0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I have stayed here twice, for the price, you do get a nice stay. The first time we stayed, we were given a dusty mouldy room (room 9 i believe). we were advised that as the bathroom has limited ventilation the mould is impossible to avoid. Luckily, we were given a different room on the top floor. this room was larger and had a lovely large bathroom, was very clean. For the money, you get what you pay for, a basic, clean, pleasant experience. The 2nd time we stayed we stayed in the maid marion suit. This hosts a lovely large 4 post bed, bright beautiful windows with brilliant view of the steeple and village. The breakfast is basic but adequate and tasty for what you get. Overall great stay :)

Room Tip: Would avoid room 9 due to mouldy bathroom but reccomend room 12 for the bed, view and large room. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrynM0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We booked to stay at the Dukeries Lodge as we were visiting family at Center Parcs. This was supposed to be a pre Christmas treat, but turned out to be a complete nightmare. We arrived late at night after spending a lovely day in Center Parcs, but we had to walk through the bar area to get to reception which seemed to be full of locals staring at us as we walked through. We checked in and were shown to our double room. The room was very depressing indeed. Very small, hardly any space to walk past the bed to the other side of the room. The walls were painted a very dark and gloomy burgundy colour and one wall was pale lilac, which showed every mark and stain, so not very pleasant at all. The room was filled with a miss match of dark furniture which has clearly seen better days! The bathroom was a joke. The door wouldn't open fully because the sink was in the way and the shower was filthy. The walls in the room were paper thin. We could hear everything in the room next door. The guests next door were very noisy and had their tv on through the night and were talking and laughing really loud. My husband ended up knocking on their door and asking them to be quiet at 3am. The noise continued well into the night. We phoned the number provided in the room to report this noise, but there was no answer. To top it off, every time someone else flushed their toilet, it seemed to be coming through a pipe in our room making a really loud noise. The window might as well have been wide open as every time a car went past, it sounded like you were sat on the road side. The noise was so bad, we even considered going to sleep in the car!
The Breakfast was ok, but some of the cutlery was filthy and the orange juice was very watery. No fresh fruit or pastries on offer, it was either cereal or a full English, and even then my husband was told that the chef could be a bit funny about his request for an extra sausage as you are only allowed one!
When we checked out we complained about the trouble we had had and explained that we had tried to phone the number provided in the night only to be told that it wasn't her phone and there was nothing they could do. The lady on reception was clearly not going to compensate us for our terrible stay at all.
This is the worst £65 we have ever spent and we would never stay there again, it was horrendous!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

this was our second visit to the lodge ..the first time was reasonably good (7/10) the second time was at best second rate.the following observations were made....my chickenwas overcooked(fried?) and stringy ..my wifes pork was hard and dry.the roast potatoes were soggy..the sprouts (my favourite veg) were hard .the carrots under cooked.the Yorkshire pudding was tasteless and rubbery(not eaten)...far more care needs to be taken when serving what is afterall very simple food ..why do so many pubs make such a poor job of such easy meals..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

On arriving at hotel first thoughts looks Ok from the out side at reception OK. Stayed in single room bed OK windows inside very dirty Bathroom OK. The bar is not bad food OK cooked and not bad price. Breakfast in the morning very good over all was pleased with my stay

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lakesboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Perfect place to stay if going to a venue at South Forest as only 5 minutes walk away. Busy restaurant but table found and served quickly, not the best nights sleep as
Room 10 next door stayed up talking and laughing plus the noisy plumbing system! On the plus side we found the staff welcoming and friendly and the breakfast was Fab! Would stay again if visiting this area

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okehpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edwinstowe
0.4 mi away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
192 reviews
5.4 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Marion's Manor
Marion's Manor
#2 of 6 in Edwinstowe
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
YHA Sherwood Forest
YHA Sherwood Forest
#2 of 2 in Edwinstowe
58 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Dukeries Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukeries Lodge

Address: High Street, Edwinstowe NG22 9HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Edwinstowe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Edwinstowe
Price Range: £51 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukeries Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Description: Having been recently fully renovated, our wonderful 18th-century coaching inn, we are now enjoying sharing this wonderful hotel with you. In the rural countryside village of Edwinstowe, Nottinghamshire, the Dukeries Lodge dates back to the days of highwaymen, when it first provided a comfortable stopover. Our passion has been to retain the traditional character and sense of history – even choosing to keep the creaky floors and wonderful stained glass windows. All our individually styled bedrooms and our Maid Marian suite are admired by everyone. A family-run hotel with a reputation for superb hospitality, long renowned as one of the best loved venues for celebrations of all kinds, we also offer meeting and conference packages. Conveniently located on the border of Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire & Yorkshire close to the A1, M1, M18 & M62, we are within an hour’s drive from Retford, Doncaster, Leeds, Sheffield and Nottingham. Robin Hood Airport. Traveling Entertainment Sports and Leisure Outdoor AdventureStuff for KidsLove and MarriageHealth and BeautyLiving the High LifeThe `just plain odd` listHotel's Cancellation Policy12 Noon Day Prior to Arrival General PoliciesChildren AcceptedPets AcceptedCheck In on or after - 14:00Check Out prior to - 11:00Parking Info / Road InfoNearest Motorway - A1Parking - On-Site - 100Parking Restrictions - all day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Dukeries Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukeries Hotel Edwinstowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing