We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really friendly place to stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dukeries Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dukeries Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Edwinstowe B&B and Inns
Heysham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really friendly place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here with a friend for 2 nights, midweek.We checked in late afternoon and were shown to our room and had the "if you're late back" talk at the same time! The room was a small twin with a tiny en-suite but it was clean and fine for somewhere to sleep. What really makes this place is the staff - they are all so friendly. Nothing is too much trouble, all you have to do is ask. Carlos the singing barman and Lynne who was on duty for breakfast were both lovely, very natural and very friendly - though all members are a credit to the place. Will definitely be going back, especially after the rooms are refurbished. Superb location too. Loved it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    46
    45
    34
    18
See reviews for
36
74
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The people were kind and helpful, good food, walking distance to everything you could need. Free wifi is wonderful. Their cheesecake is AMAZING! Easy walk to Sherwood. :) A big thank you to everyone at The Dukeries Lodge that made our holiday a dream come true.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StarKaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Really pleased I found this place. Just stayed one night (Sunday) as was attending a meeting the next day then travelling back home . Was joined by 3 friends for an evening meal.

The menu offered plenty of variety ~ good pub style fare. Service was both friendly and accommodating as one of our number was a little late and arrived after last meal orders were normally taken. On a Sunday the last orders for a meal are usually taken at 8:45 ( it is an hour later on all other days of the week) And a very nice meal too.

The hotel was quiet as it was a Sunday evening ~ I was the only guest and as the ground floor is security alarmed at night I was given clear guidance (and a special access key) as to how to move around upstairs and avoid setting off the alarm ! No problem ~ the single room was more than adequate for my needs.

Breakfast was included in the very reasonable price of just £42.50 (inc VAT) . A very generous full English.

All in all a good find ~ very convenient for visiting Sherwood Forest .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clivec186387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I ate here with a party of four when we were staying nearby.
The pub is really nicely decorated and really big, there are lots of little nooks and crannies and quirky details around.
The menu is huge - probably a little too much choice as it was difficult to choose what to eat! There is a LOT of variety - pies, fish, pasta, grills, mussels, roasts, burgers, chicken, curries, platters, mexican, even 'posher nosh' like duck and pork belly. When we visited, as well as the regular menu, it was also Steak Club. There is also a 2 meals for £10 section on the menu which had a lot of variety also - there were about 15 meals to choose from which is much larger choice than other pubs.

We ordered:
- An 8oz gammon steak served with fried eggs, chips, grilled tomato and peas
- A Philly burger (beefburger topped with soft cheese and mushrooms) with chips and coleslaw
- A Pork Platter (Pork chop, 2 sausages, Gammon, half rack of BBQ ribs, corn on the cob, chips, tomato, peas)
- Scampi with chips and mushy peas
- 2 portions of onion rings
- A portion of garlic bread

All of the above came to just under £35 which is astoundingly good value for money especially considering the portions were massive! They actually brought out about 35 onion rings!
All of the food was standard pub grub, but it was done well - a step up from your average Wetherspoons. Many chain pubs can be a bit shoddy, but this was decent no-nonsense pub grub. It wasn't greasy, it was all cooked well and was served quickly (about 10 minutes after ordering). All the staff were lovely and friendly too. The only complaint was that the sausages were really poor quality. My extremely unfussy husband couldn't eat them, and he eats anything!
We also ordered puddings - treacle pudding with custard, chocolate fudge cake and a ridiculously huge waffle stack with ice cream which were all nice and again, huge portions (puddings came to about £8 in all). Drinks were also very reasonable, with a cordial, a large glass of rose, a pint of lager and a J20 coming to £9.
All in all, for massive mains, huge puddings and drinks for 4 at just over £50, you can't complain. Would definitely visit if in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruby f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed for two nights, access to rooms via private staircase once the pub has closed but I had to find that out for myself. Room clean but the bed was so uncomfortable and hard. Single glazed windows look great, doubt they'd be any use in winter. Shower was cold at best. I didn't realise until I looked at my receipt that breakfast was optional. It must be, as I apparently paid £24.00 for two days worth of breakfast for two people. That's a joke. It's 2 fry ups not 2 steaks. It's very much a look- after- yourself b&b. no offer of housekeeping either. Average. Very average. I stay in hotels a lot and this was not worth £65.00 a night.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iamchloeblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Staff are great & friendly - But the room we were allocated was tiny, dark & smelt stale. The bathroom was filthy & the floor painted black & sticky - the TV didn't work the non emergency contact numbers went straight to answer machine & the breakfast was deep fried - the breakfast was advertised as fresh local produce the only item that was fresh & local was the yogurt - could wait to leave - don't bother a Youth Hostel would be better

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misspaula_1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edwinstowe hotels

Uk
Level Contributor
298 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here when we attended the Jessie J concert at Sherwood Pines. Check in was very efficient and friendly. We were escorted to our room and shown how to get in on return from the concert. Our room was clean as was the bathroom which looked as if it had been recently refurbished. It also had tea and coffee making facilities and biscuits. Our room faced the main road so there was some traffic noise but that didn't prevent us from having a good night's sleep. The breakfast was excellent with prompt, friendly service. Breakfast consisted of cereal, fruit juice, yogurt, toast and a full English. I had the vegetarian breakfast which was lovely and served really hot. I agree with another reviewer that the bedrooms are dark but that is the style. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it at £65 for a double room and breakfast.

Room Tip: If you don't like traffic noise ask for a room not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALH57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edwinstowe
5.4 mi away
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Clumber Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
8.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel
11.5 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Mansfield Manor Hotel
Mansfield Manor Hotel
#2 of 14 in Mansfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.5 mi away
YHA Sherwood Forest
YHA Sherwood Forest
#2 of 2 in Edwinstowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Maypole at Wellow
The Maypole at Wellow
#13 of 39 in Newark-on-Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukeries Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukeries Lodge

Property: Dukeries Lodge
Address: High Street, Edwinstowe NG22 9HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Edwinstowe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Edwinstowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukeries Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Description: Having been recently fully renovated, our wonderful 18th-century coaching inn, we are now enjoying sharing this wonderful hotel with you. In the rural countryside village of Edwinstowe, Nottinghamshire, the Dukeries Lodge dates back to the days of highwaymen, when it first provided a comfortable stopover. Our passion has been to retain the traditional character and sense of history – even choosing to keep the creaky floors and wonderful stained glass windows. All our individually styled bedrooms and our Maid Marian suite are admired by everyone. A family-run hotel with a reputation for superb hospitality, long renowned as one of the best loved venues for celebrations of all kinds, we also offer meeting and conference packages. Conveniently located on the border of Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire & Yorkshire close to the A1, M1, M18 & M62, we are within an hour’s drive from Retford, Doncaster, Leeds, Sheffield and Nottingham. Robin Hood Airport. Traveling Entertainment Sports and Leisure Outdoor AdventureStuff for KidsLove and MarriageHealth and BeautyLiving the High LifeThe `just plain odd` listHotel's Cancellation Policy12 Noon Day Prior to Arrival General PoliciesChildren AcceptedPets AcceptedCheck In on or after - 14:00Check Out prior to - 11:00Parking Info / Road InfoNearest Motorway - A1Parking - On-Site - 100Parking Restrictions - all day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dukeries Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukeries Hotel Edwinstowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing