We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Forest Holidays Sherwood Forest, Nottinghamshire
Nearby Hotels
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clifton Hotel(Mansfield)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Worksop(Worksop)(Great Value!)
US$53
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Mansfield Hotel(Sutton in Ashfield)
US$57
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,037)
Filter reviews
1,037 results
Traveller rating
693
216
68
29
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
693
216
68
29
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolden oak cabinunderfloor heatingentertainment packagehot tubgo apelog burnersherwood forestnight walktv packagescrabble boardlong weekenddecking areacleaned dailydishwasher tabletsco opshop on siterelaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
689 - 694 of 1,037 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Booked a Monday to Friday break in a two bedroom golden oak cabin. First impressions were good with check in being quick and friendly. The retreat is the reception, small shop, bar and restaurant area and found this to be tidy and quite well equipped.
When we entered our cabin (44) we were happy with what we saw. The fixtures and fittings look to be of good quality and there was plenty of room for the three of us. The kitchen is well equipped and of a good size. Both bedrooms were very comfortable and the showers were always powerful with plenty of hot water. The outside area is comfortable and the hot tub was a joy to climb into after cycling and walking around the forest all day. Clever design meant we weren't overlooked by other cabins. Shortly after arriving we were visited by a member of staff to check everything was okay and he provided information about the cabin etc. found this to be informative and a nice touch.
We booked two trips out with the ranger. Twilight walk and night walk using night vision googles. These trips were really good value and John the ranger was great fun and really entertaining.
We didn't venture to far from the holiday site and Sherwood pines as we found plenty of things to entertain ourselves.
An area that they could improve on would be to close the retreat later. It would have been nice to sit and have a drink as the sun went down but the retreat closed at eight. Too early.
We would be happy to use Forest Holidays again, don't expect Centre Parcs, no swimming pool etc but if you are happy exploring the area and walking or riding then give it a try.
One other word of advice. Store your bikes in the cabins, unfortunately bike thefts are very common. As we were packing up the car the police were there investigating the theft of three bikes taken overnight, however don't be put off, take precautions with your bikes and have a great holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sparkySussexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Sherwood Forest, Nottinghamshire, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your break at Sherwood Forest. I am pleased to hear that you had a relaxing holiday and enjoyed the Forest Ranger walks. I am afraid we have no plans to extend the opening hours of the Forest Retreat at the moment but we will happily recommend local hostelries or of course, you could stock up from our off licence section and then watch the sun go down from your own hot tub.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a Monday to Friday break and had a lovely time. Nice place, peaceful and plenty to do around the site. Very clean cabins, we stayed in the treehouse and the extra treehouse bit was new and lovely. The ranger john was fantastic with the kids.

Problems -
The ropes on the end of the bed on the treehouse go right down the TV when sat/laid in bed, also the kettle was plugged in inside the cupboard which is going to ruin the wood and there could do with being a mini fridge for milk etc.
The decking gets very sloppy around the hot tub, could so with some rubber matting around this.
We were told there was no tv in the treehouse or kettle so we brought one and lots of books, there was a tv and kettle!
One day there was no checking of the hot tub, they drove straight past our cabin, told them at reception but nothing was done.
One day the lady checking the hot tub wasn't nice about having to fill the hot tub up as the kids had been splashing, told us and them off! They are small children, they're going to splash!
Also think it's unfair paying per dog, we got no treats or anything for dogs as others have said and have to pay per dog when it makes no difference how many there are and nobody checks either. Should have paid for one.
I return in 3 weeks with my mum and the children so asked if I could request the same cabin, they wanted £25 to do this, very steep!
The scrabble set was full but with all x's, y's, z's etc, loads of them so was basically unusable.
Some plates were chipped and cups.
There are steps going into the cabin, could have put a ramp there as there's plenty space and then it would be suitable for pushchairs and disabled. I know that there are disabled cabins but putting a ramp aswell as stairs would mean more disabled guests and family's could use the cabins.
There are two fridges but only one tiny top box for a freezer.
The gravel roads are in need of some tlc as it's awful driving down to the cabins.
Nothing major but things that could make a big difference!
Despite that, we had an amazing time and will be returning again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumofmanydebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Sherwood Forest, Nottinghamshire, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for writing a review following your recent break at Sherwood Forest. I am pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and liked the setting too. Sorry to hear about the problems you encountered, and thank you for bringing them to our attention. We are looking forward to seeing you again for your next holiday with us.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Have just returned from a 3 night break at a most idyllic and pleasant holiday park, however our experience was clouded by extremely poor customer service on the part of an on-site supervisor whose conduct was a disgrace from the time of our arrival to departure. Ruined what was an expensive weekend break at almost £1000 for one of the luxury cabins. Have been in touch with the booking agent and the owners of the company; have to say given the concerns that I have raised with the company am extremely disappointed not to have had direct contact from the manager in the customer service team today. I will not be returning nor will I be recommending this site to others who might have visited - a very disheartened customer!

Room Tip: Larger and more luxurious lodges attract a higher cost.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley-Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Sherwood Forest, Nottinghamshire, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your review. As you are aware we are now in direct contact with you regarding your complaint.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stopped here from Monday to Friday and it was just perfect.
On arrival we were greeted by very friendly helpful staff and a staff member came to our cabin about an hour after we got there to make sure we were happy with our cabin, to show us how to use the jacuzzi, kitchen appliances and anything else we wanted help with.
We stopped in a Golden Oak 6 bed cabin. It was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Loads of towels, showering products and bath robes in the main bedroom. Our cabin was nestled in the trees and very secluded. Although you could see other cabins when you pulled up, you certainly couldn't see them once you were inside or using the veranda, which made it great for using the jacuzzi. It was lovely and quiet, we didn't hear any of our neighbours.
The furniture in the cabin was very well made, none of those cheap stuff you get from a lot of hotels these days. The dining table was made from very heavy wood, it was beautiful.
We had daily visits from the local squirrels, cheeky little things would come up to the windows and nosey in on you. The kids loved that.
The jacuzzi was well maintained every day and we were never disturbed by the staff when they did this.
The grounds around the resort were very well maintained, not a picking of rubbish lying anywhere and there was a great forest feel around the whole park.
We went on the twilight walk. We didn't see any wildlife apart from a rabbit but we learnt a lot from our guide about the forest around us. I think we might have seen some deer had the children in the group not made so much noise. The thunder storm we were walking through also didn't help but added to the ambiance of the walk.
Go Ape and the cycle centre are only a small walk through the trees and sign posted so you can't get lost. If you have the money it is worth trying either of the activities, or both.
We would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Sherwood Forest, Nottinghamshire, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review following your recent 4 night break at Sherwood Forest. I am delighted you liked your cabin and the forest setting and it sounds as if you had plenty of activities to keep you busy as a family. I hope we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed in a cabin for the weekend for our anniversary. The place was amazing! It's set deep in the Forrest. Our cabin had a wood burner and a private hot tub which was bliss. The place was very secluded and it felt like we were the only people on earth sometimes. Only con was it was quite expensive however I would definitely recommend it to anyone. We brought all out own food/ drink so just cooked in and had BBQs.

Definitely worth it for a treat or a special occasion. I would 100% go back and would love to take my others in my family too.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Sherwood Forest, Nottinghamshire, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your review. It sounds as if you felt properly away from it all, deep in the forest. I am delighted you enjoyed your break and we would love to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews