We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelham
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a great little gem”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as a last minute thing what a great find. This little hotel really makes you feel at home with great service, delicious food and great atmosphere. Could do with the garden being cleaned up a bit that would be my only criticism of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leander_cobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Leander

Thanks for leaving such a lovely review on your stay with us here at Kelham House, we really appreciate people letting us know about their experience and how they saw our corner of the world!

Noted on the garden, the seasons powered through and we got a bit behind, we're on it now!

Thanks again,

The Kelham House team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    71
    25
    17
    9
See reviews for
71
85
6
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Amazing value for money for a beautiful location with lovely views over the country side. The staff were exceptionally welcoming and the room was comfortable, spotless and quiet, until a rather loud guest and his group decided to return to his room just before midnight, not the Hotels fault, just an inconsiderate guest.
I stayed in room 6 and although this appears to be a small room compared to the others, it was a good size.
Breakfast was superb.
I would have more than willingly paid a higher price for the B&B as I felt that I was under paying for the level of Hotel this is.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Andrew

Thanks so much for leaving such a fantastic piece of feedback about your stay here at Kelham House. All the team will be shown your review if they haven't seen it already.

Value for money is something we put a real focus on and maybe you caught us when we were quiet and we priced the rooms more competitively, saying that is you come again feel free to leave a good tip so you don't feel guilty taking advantage of our hospitality :-)

Thanks again, it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much,

All the best

the Kelham House team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding here, nothing was too much trouble, the staff were really helpful in particular Matt, they made our special day brilliant, would definitely recommend for any functions or overnight stays. Thanks again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahKnox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Hannah

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We're all really glad that your wedding was such a success and we'll make sure that Mat sees this too as he got a mention!

All the best

The Kelham House team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stay at this hotel at least one night most weeks. It is one of the nicest I've stayed in around the country and by far the best in the vicinity of Newark. Decor is of an exception standard and in the winter there is alway a welcoming real open fire in the reception area. Rooms are very well furnished and equipped. Food is always of an excellent standard and dinner is of reasonable value for this level of hotel. Options of resturant and bar meals are a definite plus and the ambience of each provides guests with a quality eating experience.

Whilst all of the hotel staff are excellent, special mention has to be made of regular receptionist Nina who delivers outstanding customer service in a warm and friendly way. She skillfully avoids the mechanical approach of many reception staff at other hotels and nothing is ever too much trouble for her. She even offers to carry my bags for me - but I'm a gentleman so I decline every time! Nina you should be made a mentor for others who follow.

So well done to the team at Kelham, my one gripe is that your bar prices tend to be very high. Sort these out and I'm not sure what else you can do.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good - I'm not going to tell you my favourite as it will get booked up!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Nick

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a great piece of feedback. It's especially heartening as you have the chance to see us at work week in and week out so to hear that we are consistently being great is invaluable!

Nina is great and a real asset to us so we'll make sure that she sees this but on behalf of all of the Kelham House team a big thanks to you for your continued custom and heres to many more successful stays!

All the best

All at Kelham House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We did not stay here but attended our nephews wedding. What a lovely place and the staff so friendly and attentive, they helped make it the occasion it was. The location and setting are superb for a wedding and the food provided was so well presented and tasteful. Nothing seemed to be too much bother for them. If we are ever in the area again I would love to stay here to sample all the delights it has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Jacqs44

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, it's always really important that everyone that attends one of our weddings has a great time so we'll take a big pat on the back for this one! We'd love to have you stay in the future so we'll look forward to welcoming you soon.

All the best

The Kelham House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stay at this hotel from time to time on business. Consequently single night stays as a solo guest.
Having stayed there again this Sunday evening, I felt it about time that I left review.
I am always made to feel welcome. The evening meal is always good and breakfasts are well cooked with quality produce.
Rooms are clean comfortable, spacious, and full of character (I have always stayed in the main part of the hotel).
The staff have always been frienly and helpful towards me. Particular mention here to Nena on reception, who is an absolute delight. Friendly, attentive and always makes me feel welcome, Thank you Nena.
Look forward to returning and wouldn't stay anywhere else when I'm in the area
Ian

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianchippenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Ian

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us this review. It's great that you are a regularly returning guest as that is one of the strongest barometers to us that we're doing the job we need to do.

Nina's great and we're very lucky to have her on the team, so we'll be sure to pass this on.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

All the best

The Kelham House team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend at Kelham House as guests at the wedding of our best friends daughter. The wedding was held in the extension at the back of the hotel and it was lovely, really lovely. The staff were all excellent, especially Matt who oversaw everything. And we stayed in a lovely room in the converted stables. Beautiful place and lovely people and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alec5705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Alec

Thanks for taking the time to leave this great review, and we're really glad that you had such a great time at the wedding.

We're really proud of the team and Mat is great, we'll be sure to pass this feedback on to him.

Thanks again.

All the best

Everyone at Kelham House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelham
2.3 mi away
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
#6 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
334 reviews
4.4 mi away
Saracens Head Hotel
Saracens Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Southwell
360 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#2 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Millgate House Hotel
Millgate House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
182 reviews
12.1 mi away
Cockliffe Country House Hotel
14.1 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelham House Country Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelham House Country Manor Hotel

Property: Kelham House Country Manor Hotel
Address: Main Street, Kelham, Newark-on-Trent NG23 5QP, England (Formerly Red House Country Manor)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent > Kelham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kelham House Country Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel was built as a private manor house in 1903 and became a hotel about 50 years later. Under new ownership since 2010 the hotel has been totally refurbished and extended to provide luxury accommodation at affordable prices. Situated in the outskirts of the historic Newark on Trent it provides a perfect location for business traveller, visitor to the area or as a venue for weddings, parties and meetings. As of July 2014 we are happy to announce our 3 star AA accreditation, as well as our first dining rosette awarded by the AA inspector for our a la carte menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Kelham House Country Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Hotel Country Manor
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel Nottinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing