We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Dovecote Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dovecote Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Laxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Watton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst away on business, accomodation was lovely and the breakfast the next morning was amazing - would recommend it to anyone and will be coming back again. the service was impeccable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daviddovecote, Owner at The Dovecote Inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for the great review of The Dovecote Inn. I am so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. I will pass on your positive comments to my ever hard working staff. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards, Linda B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    38
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
54
107
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Don't know why you have two trip advisor sites but hey ho, since I reviewed this lovely pub on the other site ages ago I thought I would review it again for the benefit of my trip advisor friends right here and know as I visited again today, and was treated once again to a superb lunch with crazy good coffee and chocolate fudge thing accompaniment which my husband claims as his given right and I am assured I would really like it, given the chance.

Situated middle of nowhere, Wednesday lunch and place is buzzing, could hardly get in the car park, didn't book but there was no question of turning us away.

Great food, fabulous service, friendly atmosphere superb village location, what's not to like?

Love it here!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daviddovecote, Owner at The Dovecote Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
I don't know why we have 2 sites either - but tripadvisor refuse to amalgamate the two! Something about one being for the restaurant the other, a pub with letting bedrooms. Thought the word "inn" was all encompassing, but as you say hey ho, who are we to question tripadvisor?!
Thanks for your great review. So glad you again enjoyed your visit here. Next time you're around give me the nod and I'll make sure you BOTH get some homemade chocolate fudge.
Look forward to seeing you again soon
Regards, Linda B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A family get together for lunch & the Dovecote Inn was chosen as the ideal halfway place for a "catch up"... We arrived at this beautiful inn with it's great welcoming ambiance & we were greeted by very friendly staff. The food was absolutely delicious & the desserts to die for. Great value for money. Definitely recommended - but please do book so as not to be disappointed as it's very popular. Will be re-visiting in the near future

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missicatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daviddovecote, Owner at The Dovecote Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your very kind review. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your lunch with us. It is always much appreciated when people take the time and effort to positively review our establishment, so thank you so much. Hopefully we will see again very soon, at The Dovecote Inn.
Kind regards
Linda B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We meet with friends on an adhoc basis midway between where we live.Rufford Abbey was a first port of call and then we wanted a nice village pub with good beer and food for a relaxed lunch.Not being from the area we did some research and checked trip advisor and decided on the Dovecote. It is everything we wanted it to be. As soon as we saw the busy car park on a mid week day we thought it would be good. As soon as we walked through the door we received a friendly greeting and were asked to take a drink at the bar and soon shown to our table.The atmosphere was warm and friendly although a little dark where our table was located- but we hadn't booked so were grateful for any table.The menus arrived promptly and despite the very extensive menu and specials all decided on the lunchtime 2 courses for £9:95 offering.The whitebait starter was as good as any we have had anywhere and the batter was very light with fresh tasting fish. A mixture of main courses followed and they were all tasty and well cooked- not huge but big enough.Excellent value especially for a lunchtime.Would definitely call in when in the area.Our waitress was charming and efficient. Helped to make our day.Went on to pay a visit to the Holocaust Remembrance Centre nearby - whatever your religion or views a visit worth making.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greecophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daviddovecote, Owner at The Dovecote Inn, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your very lovely review. We are so pleased that we met with your expectations. We try very hard to please all our guests, it is so nice when our hard work and high standards are appreciated. I will pass on your lovely comments to my staff, I am sure that they will be as delighted as I am to receive such positive comments
Kind regards, Linda B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The 2 of us dropped in at The Dovecote Inn last night. What a lovely welcoming place :)
The warming atmosphere and the fabulous food make this "pub" a must do.
We would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clayg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daviddovecote, Owner at The Dovecote Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
What a lovely review, thank you so much. You have summed up the Dovecote Inn beautifully thank you. We try our very best to please all our customers, whether you have a special meal booked, or call in on chance. It is so nice to hear that we are consistently getting it right. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Dovecote Inn, very soon. Kind regards, Linda B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

visited the Dovecote for a late Sunday lunch and it really was excellent. We only had the main course roast beef but it was cooked to perfection very tender the veg and Yorkshires were cooked spot on. In short could not fault it, the staff very pleasant and accommodating topped off with a decent choice of beer and wines.
We will visit again and try some of the other fare on offer, the menu looks great and they seem to have a full calender of events and special nights throughout the year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherwoodtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daviddovecote, Owner at The Dovecote Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your delightful review of the Dovecote Inn. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us, please do come again soon and try our other menus on offer
Perhaps you might like our new "Winter Warmer" menu launched this week, and available Sunday evening through to Friday evening 5.30pm to 7.30pm. It is already proving a delicious hit with our customers.
Look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Linda B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We called into this traditional country pub intending to just stop for a quick drink, but on seeing the quality of the food decided to ask if we could eat. Although all tables were fully booked, the very efficient and friendly manageress managed to accommodate the four of us for Sunday lunch. It turned out to be a great piece of luck as the food was exceptional - well cooked, good portions and great service. We would definitely recommend eating here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssomeinre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daviddovecote, Owner at The Dovecote Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of The Dovecote Inn, I am so pleased that we were able to accommodate you on another very busy Sunday lunch.
We work very hard here to make everyone's experience at The Dovecote a pleasant and memorable one, whether you have booked with us, or just called in on speck. Thank you for your very positive comments.
Please call again and see us soon. Perhaps you might like our new "Winter Warmer" menu, available Sunday evening through to Friday evening 5.30pm to 7.30pm.

Kind regards, Linda B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laxton
6.6 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
6.1 mi away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
181 reviews
7.7 mi away
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Retford Markham Moor
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
11.5 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dovecote Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dovecote Inn

Property: The Dovecote Inn
Address: Cross Hill, Laxton NG22 0SX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Laxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Laxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dovecote Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional country inn, with an award winning restaurant, and a bar serving a range of cask ales, craft lagers and a superb selection of hand picked wines. Set in beautiful grounds, we are located in the historic medieval village of Laxton in North Nottinghamshire, and form part of the "Crown Estate", owned wholly by the royal family. We have two beautiful letting bedrooms, located in a separate barn conversion annex. Both rooms are king size and en-suite, and provide continental breakfast facilities within the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dovecote Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing