We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basil Faulty type welcome!”
Review of Redbrick House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Redbrick House
Ranked #4 of 14 Mansfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location, lovely rooms and the bbq for the wedding reception was fab. The waiters and waitresses were pleasantly helpful but oh dear the welcome from the owners was almost with reluctance! Then towards the end of the night he was busy tipping children off chairs, moving tables and clearing spaces because he had a 'busy day the next day'. Surely busy weekends with wedding receptions and parties is one of the occupational hazards of owning a hotel? His attitude really spoilt it for me in what was otherwise a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Normbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

Was recommended to us by a friend, the whole experience was excellent. Can not fault in anyway.
The cleanliness and equipped kitchen was very good. We would highly recommend. The location was very good in a secluded location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We have just returned home today after a lovely weekend in this lodge. These lodges are amazing if you are looking to relax in peaceful and beautiful surroundings this is the place. We spent a lot of time in the hot tub relaxing and also enjoyed cosying up infront of the log burner. The lodge has 2 bedrooms and 2 shower rooms with toilet and basin and also a 3rd toilet with basin which would be better if they changed this room into a sauna as 3 toilets were not needed. There was a small mix up with our booking but staff more than made up for it by giving us the pamper pack for free (normally £100) and also free Sunday lunch for the two of us in there onsite Restaurant. The food was fantastic and with service to match the staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us.We would definitely stay here again.
Everything we needed was here a full info pack explaining the lodge using the heating and hot tub there is a barbecue,dishwasher,microwave,fridge with freezer compartment, hair dryer,iron,ironing board,towels,all cooking utensils etc. A few logs by the fire extra bags £5 from reception
As other reviewers have said it is not perfect the steam shower was not fully operational a couple of light bulbs were out and yes the t.v. was small for the size of the room but none of this took away from our enjoyment at all.

Room Tip: The sherwood lodge is the newest to be built so you may find this to be the nicer of the lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oggy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Just returned from a mid week break, staying in Sherwood lodge at the back of Redbrick House.
We were both impressed by the size of the lodge, the cleanliness, comfort and general stay in this quiet secluded location. The kitchen was very well equipped and loved the fact we had a dishwasher. There was milk in the fridge, plenty of coffee, tea, sugar and biscuits on arrival. A Tea towel, dish cloth and even dishwasher tablets were all provided too. We had matches and wood for the log burner..but never needed to use this as the weather was glorious and hot....we had the windows and doors open constantly! The hottub was great....certainly very warm and a welcome relaxation after each day of walking around Sherwood Forest and nearby villages. Also nice to sit outside each evening on the verandah.
Rarely saw the staff, but they were helpful and polite when we did need to speak to them.
You do have to take your own robes....but that's about it. Towels were provided...even had an iron and ironing board too. (They should list this on hoseasons! I ended up taking our iron and didn't need it)
A tip is that there are lights in the stairs...you need to go into the cupboard underneath and switch them on at the plug socket, and then at the switch on the wire....very pretty!
Certainly would stay there again.. A great place to get away from it all in a little bit of luxury.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shazzapots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Was disappointed with our recent stay at the Lakeview Lodge, 26-30/8/13.It was Ok but in comparison to other Autograph Lodges this one is very lacking.
Plus points: Good crockery/cooking utensils
Minus Points: No robes, no matches for log burner which we needed as under floor heating did not work, limited local information, no takeaway menus, no discount at restaurant (which other lodges offer). No local walks/maps available, lighting bad in rooms, very dark, too dark to do make up and no bulbs in shaver lights. steam room does not work and upstairs shower doors did not close. Actually none of toilet doors closed. Mat in lounge stained and damaged, hot tub very frothy which normally means not clean. Rusty/broken bathroom appliances.
TV small for size of room and no tv in any of bedrooms which is a little unusual,
If had booked a normal lodge probably would of been ok with some of these points but after staying at the like of Weybread Lakes and Griffon Forest (which is not even a autograph lodge but far superior), Redbrick lodges does not meet the standards expected I am afraid.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donnabell40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed for 7 nights in the lakeview lodge - very spacious and contemporary.
Lovely verandah, hot tub and bbq on site.

Also tried the restaurant which was very good with a good choice and resonably priced

Room Tip: only stayed lakeview lodge but would definitely recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martyb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

After reading mostly excellent reviews I expected my familys trip here to be anything oher than what it turned out to be. Upon our arrival the level of customer service was exceptionally poor. The staff (red head/blonde and short 'blonde/grey' haired woman) looked very untidy in make shift scruffy 'uniforms' not to mention their lack of enthusiasim and effort. The staffs priority seemed to be avoiding customers so they could chat an use their mobile phones! A La Carte?? well that is certainly not the food we recieved! Microwaved food more like!! We could not even brave a desert at this youth club! Who I believe to be the lady in charge of the array of monkeys working in this place was nothing but miserable until she began chatting with a gentleman i suspect is a regular, her whole demeanor changed as she sat flirting and sipping wine! I must add this type of behaviour oozes professionalism! As we had a late evening meal we managed unfortunately to witness staff clocking off and also hear their inappropriate conversations too!! All in all if you want cheap quality food served by miserable inadequate staff then this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mansfield
3.6 mi away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
189 reviews
3.1 mi away
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mansfield
51 reviews
7.6 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mansfield Manor Hotel
Mansfield Manor Hotel
#3 of 14 in Mansfield
303 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mansfield Lodge Hotel
Mansfield Lodge Hotel
#1 of 14 in Mansfield
163 reviews
4.2 mi away
281 Restaurant and Rooms
281 Restaurant and Rooms
#2 of 14 in Mansfield
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redbrick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redbrick House

Address: Peafield Lane | nr Edwinstone, Mansfield NG20 0EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Mansfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mansfield
Price Range: £70 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Redbrick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing