We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff & excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
281 Restaurant and Rooms
Ranked #3 of 13 Mansfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely staff & excellent food”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We went to 281 last night, we had purchased a groupon however this place had been recommended for us to try.
The menu is small but still something for everyone & very reasonably priced. The food was beautifully presented & perfectly cooked. I personally like my wine & the wine list again is very limited but again they have a couple of options for each type of wine.
The owner made time to come & speak to us & she was very friendly. It's obviously being refurbished & it's being done to a high standard.
I will definitely be a returning customer in the future.
Thank you for a lovely evening.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pugsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Owner at 281 Restaurant and Rooms, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Glad you enjoyed your evening with us, hopefully see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    57
    15
    11
    10
See reviews for
39
40
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Upon arrival wasn't really greeted with any enthusiasm. The manageress didn't even crack a smile or make any eye contact. Didn't feel welcome one bit. We was going to eat in the restaurant but decided to go elsewhere for this reason.
The lad serving breakfast in the morning was very polite and welcoming though.
The rooms where nice and clean and decorated nice enough but the hallways leading to them could do with updating.
Expensive enough considering was a Mon night.
Upon checking out was again greater my the manageress who was sat eating breakfast at reception. She had no idea, how she made manager I don't know.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Digalnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Owner at 281 Restaurant and Rooms, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your feed back its very important to us for our continual customer service improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Booked the function room here for our son's 21st birthday party and had a really enjoyable experience, a number of guests attending the party commented on how nice the room looked and it was really well laid out.

We chose the set meal option, and for the price the food was excellent with a good selection of choices for each course appealing to all tastes. It was refreshing that the sundry items such as wine, tea/coffee, and cheese and biscuits were of similarly good value.

Service was efficient and unobtrusive without fuss, and the pace of the service between courses was pitched just about right, feeling neither rushed or unduly slow. The attention we received whilst making arrangements for the evening was courteous and professional giving confidence that all would be well on the night.

We would certainly consider coming back here in the future and can whole heartedly recommend it if you have the requirement for a function room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snub1668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Owner at 281 Restaurant and Rooms, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, glad you enjoyed your celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodicote, Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stay here when visiting family in Mansfield, we were there Friday 15th till 17th nov, we had a very comfortable newly refurbished room (very nice) we booked a meal Saturday evening and wasn't disappointed the food was well cooked, nicely presented and staff very attentive without being intrusive. We would recommend the hotel if you are looking value for money, friendly staff and good food then it's here you need to be!!
Thank you we will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the house, nice to have your early morning cuppa sat by the window wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquiemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Owner at 281 Restaurant and Rooms, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments,we are pleased you enjoyed your weekend with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Compelled to write my first review on trip advisor as 281 so disappointing. Stayed one night in Room 205 which was little more than a broom cupboard; soulless, cold, wallpaper peeling off the walls. No wardrobe for clothes, no bath (shower and toilet only) and the plumbing was noisy. The bed was clean and breakfast was fine.

The receptionist was unsmiling, unfriendly and unapologetic. On leaving, I said “by the way, there was no soap in the shower” (pretty essential to any hotel, I’d have thought) and she said “oh, that’s okay - the cleaners will put some in today”

Needless to say, I shan’t be rushing back...

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Owner at 281 Restaurant and Rooms, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your feed back, we are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at our hotel.
We are in the process of refurbishing all the rooms 205 which is one of our budget singles has had a new en suite with just a shower fitted due to space.
The decoration of the room is on our programme.
We do hope you will come and stay with us again in any of our refurbished rooms,subject to availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
720 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We chose 281 for our school having visited it as Pine Lodge Hotel 2 years ago. The transformation by the current owners is very good with good service good food and great value all round. members of the group who stayed overnight said that the rooms were very nice. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Owner at 281 Restaurant and Rooms, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for your comments glad you had a good reunion and a great weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Been here three times now in the last couple of months and each time the food has been spectacular. They definitely have a talented chef in the kitchen.
The creamy garlic mushrooms are to die for, the lamb shank so generous in portion size and succulent and the desserts are mouth watering.
I hope the Resteraunt is not overlooked being quite small and part of a hotel because it is simply amazing and probably the best food there is to offer in Mansfield.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank AandF2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Owner at 281 Restaurant and Rooms, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, please come again and try our new menu from the 5th September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mansfield
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Mansfield Hotel
Travelodge Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton in Ashfield
218 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mansfield
49 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mour Hotel
Mour Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annesley
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
173 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
#2 of 2 in South Normanton
1,540 reviews
17.0 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 281 Restaurant and Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 281 Restaurant and Rooms

Property: 281 Restaurant and Rooms
Address: 281-283 Nottingham Road, Mansfield NG18 4SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Mansfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Mansfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 281 Restaurant and Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
281 Restaurant & rooms Hotel is rated 3-star by the Tourism Council. All rooms are en-suite, with digital TV. We aim to provide, comfortable rooms, home cooked food and a warm welcome. We are within a 10 minutes drive of Hollinwell, Coxmoor and Sherwood golf clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your 281 Restaurant and Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing