We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem with potential” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 281 Restaurant and Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
281 Restaurant and Rooms
Ranked #3 of 14 Mansfield B&B and Inns
Hartshorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem with potential”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

A warm and friendly. Welcome on arrival with some useful tips on the gig we were going to. Kind enough to plug our cool box in down stairs save carrying to our room.
We were told that the owners had been there three 3 years and had refurbished downstairs and the bedrooms were next.
The room was serviceable and comfortable and ran the beds were comfortable and the room was clean.
All in all the stay was pleasant and welcoming breakfast was good.
Ladies a couple of tips bigger towels please they are like handkerchiefs and you may want to put fans in the rooms for hot days but apart from that we were happy with our stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tee_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Owner at 281 Restaurant and Rooms, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We appreciate that you have given us some feed back and will take on board your tips regarding the towels and providing fans for the hot weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    56
    13
    11
    10
See reviews for
39
38
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here for a stopover and was very pleasant , clean rooms comfortable and convenient . Breakfast unfussy and plenty of options . Food options on the evening we stayed was limited to a a curry night and was Ok but nothing special. very attentive and trying to improve from old owenrs and believe moving the right direction. Good value

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Owner at 281 Restaurant and Rooms, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feed back with reference to the curry night and will change this for the future events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here during the spring bank holiday. I found it very expensive for what it offers.

The accomodation is not bad. Bedrooms are recently refurbished and quite comfortable. It is not a 5* B&B though. It is average and good. Wall are paper thin. If you have bad luck and stay side by side with noisy and rude people which was our case, you might have some discomfort during your night of sleep. Thumbs up for the headshower, brand new, and I couldn't get enough of it. The bed was also very comfortable. It was great after a day walking in the Peak District.

After reading some reviews, we had some expectations for the breakfast. Well, it was quite disappointing. The offer was below average, although I recognize that if you go with no expectations at all you might be happy with it. It was not our case. Expectation was high and what we got could not get close.

On the other hand, the owners are extremely friendly, polite, really nice people. They make a good effort to make you feel comfortable, and are very attentive.

Location is good. Easy access to Nottingham, Sherwood Forest, Peak District.

Overall I was happy with my stay. But for the price I would expect at least a much better breakfast and maybe one dinner included.

Room Tip: If you stay in the end of the corridor you half your chances to stay close to noisy people that can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silasrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Owner at 281 Restaurant and Rooms, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your comments we are sorry your stay wasn't to your expectation, we striving to deliver customer excellence at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

281 has a great location and good service. It has been refurbished - almost complete- and has a very nice new bar. I've stayed at least 10 times and the service has always been friendly and efficient. Free Wi-Fi and a good breakfast. Mansfield does not have many central hotels, the big chains are on the outskirts- but 281 is convenient and well run.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenceNerja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Owner at 281 Restaurant and Rooms, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your comments glad you enjoy your stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
450 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I have stayed here each year from 2011 while our disabled son is staying overnight at Portland College for their annual reunion (and 281 was recommended by the college). We drive up from Kent so it's a hectic weekend. This makes us the more glad of a comfortable bed in a pleasant room. The new decoration is tasteful and pleasant - and the bed as comfortable as ever! The breakfast was as good as ever as well. Pleasant staff in Reception and in the dining hall. Best of all was only a minimal rise in the cost from last year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Owner at 281 Restaurant and Rooms, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your comments we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have stayed here most weeks since Sept 2013 through my job. I have yet to be disappointed. The staff are 1st class, polite, nothing ever a hassle. Food is excellent quality and superb value. I've been made to feel one of the family and will return for personal stays without hesitation. Well done to all at 281.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john1susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Owner at 281 Restaurant and Rooms, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, glad we could accommodate by serving the best pancakes ever!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodicote, Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stay here each time we visit family, the food and the service is great, the staff are always very polite and friendly, the room is always clean and tidy, we had the family visit for an evening meal with us and with us was our two year old granddaughter, a high chair was made available for her, she was a little noisy so apologies to the other guests! The staff were brilliant, thank you everyone.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacquiemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Owner at 281 Restaurant and Rooms, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you when you visit your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mansfield
1.4 mi away
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mansfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Normanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
#2 of 2 in South Normanton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Mansfield Hotel
Travelodge Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton in Ashfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cockliffe Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 281 Restaurant and Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 281 Restaurant and Rooms

Property: 281 Restaurant and Rooms
Address: 281-283 Nottingham Road, Mansfield NG18 4SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Mansfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mansfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 281 Restaurant and Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
281 Restaurant & rooms Hotel is rated 3-star by the Tourism Council. All rooms are en-suite, with digital TV. We aim to provide, comfortable rooms, home cooked food and a warm welcome. We are within a 10 minutes drive of Hollinwell, Coxmoor and Sherwood golf clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your 281 Restaurant and Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing