We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
281 Restaurant and Rooms
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Clifton Hotel(Mansfield)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Mansfield Hotel(Sutton in Ashfield)
US$60
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$42
US$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mour Hotel(Annesley)
US$123
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel(South Normanton)(Great Value!)
US$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Derbyshire Derby(South Normanton)
US$96
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Twin Oaks Hotel(Palterton)
US$111
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
78
60
16
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
60
16
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdecent showerfriendly chapclean lightsmall receptionpleasant roomwithout reservationgood nights sleeppublic areasfull english breakfastwedding receptionfew beershonest foodlovely meallovely hotelevening mealcomfortable roomsfamily event
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

281 is local to us so we only usually use the restaurant and bar either for business or pleasure. We have always found Lisa and her team to be highly accommodating and have enjoyed the refreshments and surroundings. It's a lovely building with some tasteful renovation done in recent years and there's a lovely patio area out front where you can sit and watch the world go by. Food has always been fresh and tasty. Recommend!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Owner at 281 Restaurant and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your kind comments glad you love 281 as much as we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

So I booked a 'suite' here at the 281. Location is good and it is easy to find. Ample parking too which is good.

On arrival I checked it and was told my room was on the second floor. No lift. When I got to the room I was very disappointed that the decor advertised on the website bore absolutely no reflection of what I was presented. Tired old furniture, dank, damp smells. Peeling and stained wallpaper. Dirty and worn carpet. No, the pictures on the website were not reflective of the room.

On a positive note, the cooked breakfast was excellent although the buffet table could be enhanced!

Room Tip: Don't take 217
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Owner at 281 Restaurant and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Sorry you were disappointed, we are in the process of refurbishing all the rooms during the near future. We do hope you will come and stay again if in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The friendly welcome is a nice start. The accommodation is perfectly adequate, at the price, but lacks some presentation. A chair in the room would be welcome.
Problems with getting a TV reception and lack of soap in the shower- gel dispenser are minor irritations. Steep stairs and one or two steep steps immediately outside the bedroom door demand attention and care, especially if a guest has any mobility issues.
A comfortable and well stocked bar is attractive in the package of hospitality on offer. A good breakfast selection was well served by the kitchen and catering staff, especially when coping with an influx of 20 plus arrivals at the same time. Well done for that.

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms on higher floors offer least disturbance from the busy facilities and functions.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Owner at 281 Restaurant and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your review,it is important to us to receive feedback from our guests. We have increased our room checking policies to ensure everything is well stocked in the bedrooms. We are in the middle of replacing digibox TV service with new digital televisions for ease of use for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

A warm and friendly. Welcome on arrival with some useful tips on the gig we were going to. Kind enough to plug our cool box in down stairs save carrying to our room.
We were told that the owners had been there three 3 years and had refurbished downstairs and the bedrooms were next.
The room was serviceable and comfortable and ran the beds were comfortable and the room was clean.
All in all the stay was pleasant and welcoming breakfast was good.
Ladies a couple of tips bigger towels please they are like handkerchiefs and you may want to put fans in the rooms for hot days but apart from that we were happy with our stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tee_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Owner at 281 Restaurant and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

We appreciate that you have given us some feed back and will take on board your tips regarding the towels and providing fans for the hot weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here for a stopover and was very pleasant , clean rooms comfortable and convenient . Breakfast unfussy and plenty of options . Food options on the evening we stayed was limited to a a curry night and was Ok but nothing special. very attentive and trying to improve from old owenrs and believe moving the right direction. Good value

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Owner at 281 Restaurant and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feed back with reference to the curry night and will change this for the future events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews