We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL”
Review of Central Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sutton in Ashfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Central Hotel
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here for one night 19th October,very warm welcome,gave us key to our room and also the front door so we could come and go as we pleased as we were attending a party this was ideal for us because we would be back after midnight.The room was well decorated and very clean with tea and coffee in the room,breakfast was continental and had a good selection of food.Tina & Steven you do a good job and would recommend you to anyone,many thanks for our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank honeyEssex063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here for 1 night when going to see a band at the Diamond, as did others staying that night. Parking at rear of hotel but we got the last space, I'm not sure where we would have parked otherwise.

Very warm welcome on arrival. Nicely decorated room although we both kept banging our toes on the wooden bedstead. Small but clean bathroom although shower temperature was a bit erratic.

Breakfast was continental, extra £6 for English. Good selection, toast, ham, cheeses, fruit and juices.

Fine for an overnight stay and close to pubs and shops.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taylorfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed over night at the Central Hotel. The lady whom ran the hotel was very friendly. We stayed in the outbuilding/chalet which was small but comfortable and clean. The breakfast was lovely and cooked to perfection. Lots of cereal, fruit, ham & cheese to choose from too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Central Hotel. We often go to The Diamond to see bands and this place is just a mile walk from there. The welcome is so friendly and warm. We cannot fault this hotel. The rooms are spotless. The welcome tray is well stocked. Everything is geared to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
The Central is one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steve504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here for a night when visiting friends. This was our second stay at this hotel and we'd certainly stay again. The welcome was very friendly and very warm, literally. We had the room on the front of the hotel and it was very nicely furnished and had obviously been renovated recently. Plenty of storage space, tv mounted on the wall and plenty of tea and coffee. The only downside I would have to mention would be the shower. Although there was plenty of hot water It had very little pressure behind it so it took ages to get the shampoo out of your hair. But that is the only downside of our stay.
We didn't have the continental breakfast on offer as we went to our friends but I understand a cooked breakfast is available for an extra £6 each. I don't know if it would be worth paying the extra I'm afraid.
If you're looking for somewhere central, cheerful, friendly and comfortable to stay in Sutton this is the place.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sleefamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

Upon arriving at the hotel I was immediately made to feel at home with a warm friendly welcome. This continued throughout my stay until departure, cannot fault the staff. My room was off to the side of the building with its own front door which was handy as I am sometimes back late and don't like waking people or having to ring a doorbell to get in. The room itself was contemporary and clean with all the amenities you would expect. Breakfast was continental and there was a good choice along with fresh coffee.
As for the price, well, had I payed double I would have been satisfied. From someone who works in the hotel business The Central Hotel represents excellent value for money and I would definitely stay again. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank richards2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Had a one night stay at the Central and was really impressed. Nice warm welcome and the place is absolutely spotless and nicely furnished/ decorated. The continental breakfast included was very generous. Altogether faultless, great value for money and better than much larger chain hotels i have stayed in. Will definitely stay here again when i visit Sutton in Ashfield.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dayoMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Address: 1 Station Road, Sutton in Ashfield NG17 5FF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Sutton in Ashfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sutton in Ashfield
Price Range: £45 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing