We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Worksop
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“5 Star Service”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at this lovely little 3 star hotel for an anniversary, kids-free couple of nights. It was wonderful - the staff were so helpful and friendly. Particular thanks to Dorian, Sam and Rachel. Nothing was too much trouble. It really was 5 star service and means we would recommend this hotel to anyone and return in future.

The hotel is lovely and clean and our room was spacious (we upgraded to Exec room) with a lovely big bathroom down 4 stairs with a corner bath!

We ate in the hotel both nights and found the food to be excellent. My husband raved about the braised beef and we also enjoyed the sweet potato wedges. Sadly too full to sample the delicious sounding deserts. It is reasonably priced and if you prebook its 15% off the bill.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma P, General Manager at Best Western Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi,

It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review.

I will ensure that all you r comments are passed on to all of my colleagues. All our food is fresh and home cooked our Head Chef takes pride in his cooking ensuring that all meals are just how he would want them.

We always give the best service possible we treat our guests how we would want to be treated ourselves.

We really do hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    236
    77
    28
    12
See reviews for
85
403
17
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Booked to stay here through groupon, when phoned said not many rooms left so needed to book exec suite, so we did looking at reviews this seems to always be the case. Rooms were clean, stayed in 306 sink is blocked but bathroom was very clean. Bed was comfortable booked in for a double room but was given a twin room. Staff on arrival were lovely breakfast staff were lovely. Worth a stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 776michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma P, General Manager at Best Western Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

In regards to the executive room, our standard rooms sell out extremely quickly when we have the Groupon deal we only ever say that the executives are available if we have none of the standard rooms left. Please accept my apologies regarding the twin room we do hope that this didn't ruin any part of your stay. Thank you for bringing the sink to my attention, maintenance went and sorted the problem immediately.

We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I booked this hotel with my partner and his 12yr old son. We stayed for one night as we were doing various places and this fitted in with our journey.
We paid £39, through Groupon for 2 (B/B)+£15 for a child.Also a bottle of Prosecco in with the deal too.
We were given The Sherwood Suite,it was really well equipped. Double bedroom, Single Bedroom, Living room with an additional single bed in it. Two plasma tv with Sky,good sized bathroom. There were also two fans to keep nice and cool.

The staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful.
Nice bar downstairs with food and a terrace outside where you can enjoy a bit of sunshine.
Breakfast was good in the morning, buffet style.

We would definately stay here again , it was a pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma P, General Manager at Best Western Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review. it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

The deal that you stayed on is a fantastic offer and gives you great value for money. We are really pleased that you liked the room having these family rooms ensures that you all get your own bit of personal space.

All the staff give great customer service to each and everybody that stays or eats with us we. I will pass all your comments on to the rest of the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Lovely hotel, clean, light. Staff friendly and approachable. Room well decorated with large wardrobe and a desk with drawers, two bedside chests. Lovely tiled bathroom with shower and wood look flooring. Tea and coffee, with a small kettle, provided in the room, also a hair dryer. Really nice outdoor area/patio where we had a late "sharing platter" meal and a drink. Breakfast was serve yourself buffet, food plentiful, with a full English cooked breakfast, cereal, fruit, toast, croissants, Danish pastries, fruit juice and tea and coffee. Delicious! Hotel is about 20 minutes from Sheffield airport. We will certainly stay here when we are in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JDH6350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma P, General Manager at Best Western Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi,

It is great to hear that you really enjoyed your stay and that you was able to take the time to leave us a lovely review.

In the rooms we provide everything that we think that you are going to need to make your stay as comfortable as possible, we want you to have that home from home feel.

We ensure that we always serve a large breakfast and giving people the buffet they can choose exactly what they want and eat plenty. I will pass your comments on to the Head Chef and his team.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just returned from another 2 night stay at the excellently located Best Western Lion Hotel. Situated on the main strip of shops and bars and only minutes away from Clumber Park and many other attractions. We were in a very comfortable room with excellent facilities. The staff are amazing, nothing is too much trouble. We found all staff to be very helpful and friendly. We managed to park our car at the hotel free of charge, however there is a small car park next to the hotel which is not expensive to park in. The breakfast is lovely, excellent choice and if you would prefer a fried egg, just ask and the staff will bring one for you to the table. Good sausages, bacon, beans, hash browns, tomatoes, mushrooms, scrambled egg, toast etc. plus juices and a good selection of croissants and pastries. The restaurant also serves good food. However there are lots of places to eat and drink out and about in Worksop with very reasonable prices. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: he executive rooms are great but more expensive. Standard rooms are just as good with comfy beds an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LincolnJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma P, General Manager at Best Western Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review, it is great to hear that this is your second visit and that you thoroughly enjoyed yourself.

We ensure that all staff do everything possible to make your stay truly fantastic. We do cater for everyone and we always have plenty of choice on our menu and at breakfast, so there is enough food to set you up for the busy day ahead. We are in a great place and there is plenty to see and do in and around the area.

We hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times and as usual
it was a nice hotel with excellent staff.

The only But !!, was no air conditioning in the top floor rooms, even with 2 fans
going the temperature was near 88 dgs.

I don't think you can expect guests to sleep in those temps, air-conditioning
is a must for these rooms, ,a short term solution should be small stand alone
air-con units in each room.

For a renowned hotel chain this is extremely poor and needs rectifying asap ,
i would stay there again but not on the top floor.

Room Tip: Avoid any top floor room in High summer, and ask for a rooms facing the back car park when a weddin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Porkpie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma P, General Manager at Best Western Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay. Please accept our apologies regarding not having a comfortable nights sleep with us we appreciate that this must of been very frustrating for you. In regards to the air conditioning this is something that we are looking into as our rooms are going through a refurbishment programme. It does get warm through the hotel during summer and we do provide fans in each room with extra ones if was required.

Thank you for the lovely comments regarding the staff and we hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very nice hotel, the staff were really friendly, polite and very helpful. Clean rooms and lovely very large comfy beds, bathroom very clean with good shower. We stayed two nights here and the evening meals and breakfast were also very good. It's in a good position right in the town centre at the end of the precinct and had parking which was very handy. The drinks were good with reasonably priced beer. Would stay here again for sure

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank johnjules1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma P, General Manager at Best Western Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi,

Thank you for the great comments regarding your recent stay with us, we are very pleased that you had a great time.

We are in a great location as we are right at the top of town everything that you need is right here. We are also within close driving distances of some great attractions.

I will ensure to pass on all you lovely comments to all the staff, we ensure that we treat our guests the way we ourselves would hope to be treat if we were to stay away. It is really nice to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us, all our food is locally produced and freshly cooked. I will pass on your comments to the Head Chef and his team.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worksop
4.7 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
7.4 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
0.3 mi away
Acorn Lodge Guest House
Acorn Lodge Guest House
#2 of 3 in Worksop
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Worksop
Travelodge Worksop
#1 of 1 in Dukeries Mill
169 reviews
8.8 mi away
Travelodge Retford Markham Moor
7.8 mi away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lion Hotel

Property: Best Western Lion Hotel
Address: 112 Bridge Street, Worksop S80 1HT, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Worksop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Worksop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in Worksop, a central location for all major attractions in the South Yorkshire region. We offer excellent services and facilities and have a 3 star AA rating and a Silver Green Tourism Award.The hotel is superbly located close to the A1, M1 and A57 road networks. It is also easily accessible by train with Worksop Train Station just 2 minutes drive away. The hotel is only 30 minutes away from Doncaster Sheffield International Airport.Situated in the quaint market town of Worksop the Best Western Lion Hotel has 46 ensuite bedrooms, 115 bar & grill serving delicious home made dished what have been carefully selected by our talented head chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Worksop
Worksop Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing