We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sehr zu empfehlen!”
Review of Abbey Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbey Guest House
Ranked #1 of 12 Abingdon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Altenstadt, Germany
2 reviews
“Sehr zu empfehlen!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We feeled very heartily welcomed by Terry at Abbey Guest House and enjoyed the two days in Abbingdon/Oxford.
We got all, we needed: a wonderful, calm room with all facilities, good hints for eating in Abingdon and Oxford and driving by bus, and a best prepared breakfast!
If we'd ever return to Oxford, we would prefer to stay at The Abbey Guest House and will recommend it to all who will ask us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eberhard2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    10
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
36
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at Abbey Guest House last year and were so impressed we returned last month to attend a family Christening. Terry made our stay so very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The whole house is kept spotless and every extra was provided in the rooms. Great breakfasts with lots of choice and the best porridge I have ever tasted. Easy parking on site and Terry even put up with us eating take away pizzas in her dinning room. If you need to visit the area then look no further than Abbey Guest House you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My sisters and I stayed at Abbey Guest House for 2 nights while on holiday in the UK. From the second we arrived Terry made us feel like we were in our own home. We booked for 3 people on the first night and 4 on the second and Terry made an extra effort to move us around on both days without fuss to ensure we were comfortable.

The guest house is conveniently located only 15mins from the CBD of Oxford with the bus stopping right out front. It is without a doubt the cleanest place we have ever stayed in with the rooms being very homely and comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic with farm fresh produce and in particularly the porridge which Terry makes especially for each guest. Terry herself is extremely warm and inviting and loves to have a chat, even coming outside to see us off when we left!

A definite must stay if you are looking for a comfortable and homely place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Abbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in mid July with my 2 sisters and brother in law whilst travelling around England on holiday from Australia.
We had a very bad experience at a hotel in London and when booking our accommodation for our impending stay in Oxford were sure to look up and read reviews plus head to the B & B's website to check out photos. We were delighted with the reviews of Abbey Guest House as well as price (especially considering being the Summer holiday season and catering for 3 adults together for 1 night then splitting to 2 rooms the next when the in law arrived). So we booked for 2 nights!
Terry was nothing but accommodating right from the get go with her emails of reassurance and last minute changes. We felt instantly as though she was excited we were coming to stay and be a guest at her own house and did everything possible to make us feel accommodated.
We arrived after a harrowing drive on the English roads and straight away felt at home. Especially after staying in more motel chain accommodation in the centre of London where you are simply a number.
The rooms were lovely, very fresh and homely. The location brilliant, as not too far from the centre of Abingdon and a bus stop right out front that takes you to Oxford in 20mins. Abingdon is a beautiful town and well worth the visit.
Breakfast was delicious, very fresh and tasted like everything had just been delivered from a farm that morning. Of course the English Breakfast is a must.....when in Rome! My sister ordered porridge which Terry had made the night before specially and it did not disappoint- I'd know, she orders it everywhere and is a coniseur. She did not stop talking about how good it was.
We also spent time in the lounge room as a group and had wine and food of our own on the second night and again the atmosphere was lovely- just nice and relaxing to be in a real 'home' after being in hotels for a few weeks. We loved it!
Terry was always available to answer any questions we had but majority of information was clearly defined on the Guest House website or booklet in rooms which was brilliant for us not being local.
Thanks for having us stay Terry. We will definitely recommend to others travelling over your way and wish you all the best with your business and current extensions.
Cheers from Australia!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K80-R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

When you travel a great deal and spend a lot of time in hotels, to find accommodation that is clean, comfortable and welcoming is a real find. Having stayed at this B&B on more than one occasion the quality has never dipped. The comfort of a clean room with excellent facilities and guidance on how to use things is one less stresser after a hard day of travelling. I'm glad to say that the size of the reception is not what matters for experienced and busy travellers, rather it is the welcome which I have found to be always warm and welcoming. Above all the proprieter at Abbey Guest House has tried to think of everything even down to parking, which is essential when staying in the Oxfordshire region. If you are a seasoned traveller who likes home comforts you can't get any better than Abbey Guest House, clean, comfortable and excellent service. What more could you ask....unless you are a person that has a festish for signs like the last reviewer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

One of the funniest places we have stayed at.

Decor as in the website, in fact it is all as the website,nice decor very clean, tea or coffee with a friendly chat on arrival, good breakfast which will see anyone through till lunchtime.

It is on a main road which is noisy at the front even with closed windows. Front garden of the house is all given over to parking, but, park within the white lines or you will be told to move your car to within the lines.

As you go through the front door there is a collection of slippers with a notice saying if it is wet etc to take off your shoes and put on the slippers - they are not new. We were then taken to "Reception" which is the smallest we have ever seen , (delusions of grandeur) more like a cupboard with a shutter where Terry pops in to get you to sign in. This is also the breakfast room the lounge and the library.
Our room was spotless and very well furnished and the bed had Egyptian cotton sheets. Bathroom was very well fitted but very very small - could not open the door fully as it hit the hand basin.
Notices were everywhere in the room, telling you how to close the blinds, how to switch on lights, about a dozen in all, quite unnecessary, emergency notices we can understand but they were everywhere not just our room. A guest book of rules including ; lose your key and its £250 for a new one. Vacate the room between the hours of 10.00 and 16.00 and lots more.
If you can put up with all this and more which we have not included you decide if its worth the £90.
Would we return, never ever. But we did have a good laugh.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Tregorthe1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyGuesst, Owner at Abbey Guest House, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
After a lot of thought I have decided to respond to this rather strange review.

It is interesting to see that we have been rated a ‘3’ even though we were so terrible and also amusing; but it is very sad to read such unbelievably mis-leading comments. It is purely for this reason that this response has been written to enable other readers to decide for themselves after reading this response along with other reviews.

Noise – Yes there must be some and we do make it clear that we are just off a main road, but it is no good closing just the bedroom window and leaving the one in the bathroom open as then – of course – you will get some noise. Double glazing will only be best effective if used at every opening. But we are in a town, on a main road, with a bus stop outside, so guests must decide whether they want the peace and quiet of a country location or the convenience that this location has to offer - with the potential for noise if they wish to have their windows open (but they can request fans if it is warm and they wish to keep the windows closed!).

Parking – Yes we provide parking, but space is limited and so, to ensure that everyone can get off the street and onto the car park, we have white lines that we respectfully ask guests to abide by. That is only fair and considerate to people that arrive subsequently and want to park on site without obstructing even later arrivals.

Slipper tray?!! – One has to assume that the reference here is to a tray that is clearly marked up for ‘very DIRTY shoes’ and is in deference to our many guests that are walkers (usually along the Thames Path). No guest has ever been asked to remove shoes because they are wet or to use the slippers, but for many the option to have some different footwear is much appreciated. I accept that these slippers are not ‘new’ but they are all clean and washed after every use. As a result of this comment, I am now considering putting them in bags to show that they are clean.

Reception, Grandeur?!!!!!!! – This is a B&B, not a hotel, and reception is purely a shuttered window into the small office that is kept secure as guests’ details are held there. If anything had been said, these guests would have been made aware that the current arrangement is temporary until the building work (that started in June 2014) is complete. The plan is that by October 2014, the new breakfast room will be further to the back of the house and then ‘reception’ will actually look out into the extended hallway that will also have a lift to enable any guests with mobility problems to access the rooms on the first floor.

Small bathroom – Well again it is necessary to remind potential guests that we are a B&B, not a purpose built hotel!!! When converting the family house to make it guest friendly, there is always the decision to be made whether to have larger bedrooms without en-suite facilities or to have en-suite rooms. Most guests prefer the second option! As it happens the room that was allocated to these particular guests will be extended as part of the building programme and then a new and larger en-suite will be available. Again, if something had been said when they were here, the guests could have been made aware of this.

Notices – There are 3 (yes three!) ‘in-house’ signs - not 12 - in the room!! The first is in the bathroom and lets guests know where the ‘bath’ can be found as the en-suites only have showers. The second lets guests know where to find fresh milk as it is UHT milk that is provided on the hospitality tray – it also lets people know about alternative teas, drinking water, etc. The third sign is a temporary one as we have recently discovered that we have a problem with damage on our new thermal blinds. We are currently reviewing this as many guests feel guilty if they inadvertently break one of the slats as they were unaware of the fragility of the blinds. All other signage is either mandatory or advisory for fire or safety reasons and absolutely none of them refer to lighting.

Rule Book? – No, try Guest Information Folder! If someone wants information and I am not around, how else are they to find anything out? Although the B&B is my home, I do have a life and sometimes do go out and so am not available to answer queries. It is hoped that most (if not all) questions can be answered by looking in the folder – from how to operate the TV, what the password is for the Wi-Fi, the times of the local church services, taxi information, etc., etc. And yes, we do respectfully ask guests to vacate the rooms for a given period of time each day to enable the rooms to be cleaned, serviced and/or maintained. Again, as a B&B, I do not have staff available at every hour of the day and have to ensure that all and any work is done during certain hours, and sometimes this involves outside contractors who can not just arrive when a guest eventually decides to vacate their room that day! And as for a charge for lost keys, that is not unreasonable considering that the house has a very expensive lock and key system that is in place for the safety and security of all guests and their belongings.

So to conclude, these guests may have been amused by what we offer and have no intention of returning, from my point of view, they would not be welcomed back! I would much prefer to welcome guests who appreciate what I have to offer and come back time and again to confirm this choice. My guests have ‘names’ – they are not just Room Numbers! Many visitors to Abbey Guest House arrive as ‘guests’ but end up leaving as friends as I try to offer a warm, friendly and personal atmosphere with attention to detail that you will not find at a hotel.

Terry Boswell
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Needed accommodation for one night on business and had a very pleasant stay in a clean, comfortable room. The host, Terry, was extremely pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was superb to top it all off. Highly recommended - would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabhimself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
1.8 mi away
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Abingdon
450 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
236 reviews
2.6 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
5.6 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,076 reviews
7.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Guest House

Property: Abbey Guest House
Address: 136 Oxford Road | (Corner of Wheatcroft Close), Abingdon OX14 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Guest House is a 'non-smoking', family run B&B situated on the northern approach road into Abingdon. Substantial off-road parking is provided and a bus stop outside the house provides convenient, direct transport to Oxford! Rooms available include 2 double, 2 single, 1 triple, 1 ground floor twin suitable for guests with mobility impairment and 1 family room upstairs also with facilites to assist guests with mobility impairments. There is a lift to access the upper floor. Facilities include TV, iron, tea/coffee and security safe. We provide free WiFi and also internet PC. Prices include generous cooked 'English' breakfasts, with special dietary requirements met. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Abbey Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Guest House Hotel Abingdon
Abbey Guest House Abingdon, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing