We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eye opening!”

Annie's at The Boathouse
Ranked #45 of 104 Restaurants in Abingdon
Description: Beautiful Tea Room with lovely garden and outside seating, on the banks of the River Thames in Abingdon. Take away breakfast from 8am to 10am. Breakfast from 10am to 11.30am. Lunches. Cream Teas and succulent homemade cakes available all day! Delicious quiches, soups sandwiches, salads and ploughman's all prepared to order, plus an ever-changing 'daily specials' board. All food made from scratch by us. Colouring sheets and pencils provided at all times and free children's activities during the school holidays. Well-behaved children and dogs on leads welcome. Disabled ramp and disabled lavatory available plus baby-change facilities.
Restaurant details
Description: Beautiful Tea Room with lovely garden and outside seating, on the banks of the River Thames in Abingdon. Take away breakfast from 8am to 10am. Breakfast from 10am to 11.30am. Lunches. Cream Teas and succulent homemade cakes available all day! Delicious quiches, soups sandwiches, salads and ploughman's all prepared to order, plus an ever-changing 'daily specials' board. All food made from scratch by us. Colouring sheets and pencils provided at all times and free children's activities during the school holidays. Well-behaved children and dogs on leads welcome. Disabled ramp and disabled lavatory available plus baby-change facilities.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

New to Abingdon, my family and I already love Annie's, this will certainly be a future stop in our lunch time routine. Pricy but worth it, their thick bread is the best we've ever had. My husband very much enjoyed his quiche which was accompanied by a lovely garnish, the ladies brought over our cutlery and dressing without any fight - which we've experienced in other cafes in Abingdon!

The ladies were accommodating and made us feel very welcome even though it was very busy. 10/10 will recommend to friends!!!!!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Journey15055316997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdnaMaee, Public Relations Manager at Annie's at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Journey,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review! We absolutely agree our thick sliced Boaters Bread is delicious and freshly baked for us. All our specials are homemade too! I'm pleased we will be a regular part of your schedule as we look forward to seeing our regulars frequently.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon,

Edna Maee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First visit three of us and a baby. The service is so bad we waited for 35 min
To be served then another 10 min for are drinks to come . With the choice of cafe’s
And coffee shops in abingdon we will not be back .

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank jonkogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdnaMaee, Public Relations Manager at Annie's at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jonkogel,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we really appreciate your time and feedback. We’re so sorry it took so long for you to be served! We endeavour to create the best possible atmosphere and service daily, however, on the 11th we were incredibly understaffed and busy due to it being Remembrance Day. Despite this, you should not have had to wait so long and we do apologise profusely.

I do hope you reconsider and return at a later date as we will continue to improve our service,

Edna Maee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

Our local WI group enjoyed a fabulous cream tea today. The staff we very friendly and helpful and the food, especially the scones, were fabulous! Our table was laid out beautifully and the afternoon was very memorable.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Berni E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdnaMaee, Public Relations Manager at Annie's at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Berni E,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review! It was splendid having all you lovely ladies with us at the end of October! We’re super glad you had a great experience this time around​ and do encourage you to come again!

We hope to see you all soon,

Edna Maee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

As other reviews have said, food really tasty but very, very slow service. We got there before lunchtime so not that many customers. Had to clean our own table and waited ages for drinks to arrive. We ordered soups and a quiche which would all be pre-cooked. It did all taste nice and have eaten here before and as always the staff are very friendly and apologetic but they obviously need more staff. Our first visit was months ago and similar problem with service then.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Rosalind R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdnaMaee, Public Relations Manager at Annie's at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Rosalind R,

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your feedback! We’re so glad you enjoyed our homemade soup and delicious quiche! We’re so sorry you experienced a slow service with us. We do, indeed, endeavour to get food out as soon as possible however, there can be large food orders prior to having your own order taken!

We, as a business, are still finding our feet and continue to encourage growth from customer feedback! This is because we want to learn new and effective ways to better our service. We hope this incident does not discontinue any future visits!

We hope to see you again soon,

Edna Maee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

Well , where shall I start ......
Arrived at Annie’s at the boathouse in Abingdon for afternoon tea and was blown away by the beautiful location this little gem is located at , imagine a gorgeous sunny Saturday afternoon sat along the canal being greeted warmly by the lovely staff of Annie’s .
All the ladies at Annie’s out done themselves and could not have been more accommodating.

Not only was we spoilt for a choice of delicious sandwiches and cakes we was also provided with fresh straight out of the oven scones which by far are the best I have had , to elaborate it was rather like a yummy edible cloud .

We was all well taken care of and all in agreement that this place is a well worth a visit by all not only for yummy delights but spot on customer service .

100/100
10/10

Thank you all so much for a lovely afternoon.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdnaMaee, Public Relations Manager at Annie's at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Emily A,

Thank you for writing in your review! We encourage all customer feedback and we’re so pleased you enjoyed our lovely little location by the Thames. We offer a large variety of cakes and even cater to gluten and dairy free individuals! We do indeed endeavour to make freshly baked scones, cheese scones, cookies and rock cakes daily! Our doorstep bread is fluffy and fresh too! Super glad everything was yummy for you!

We hope you visit us again soon,

Edna Maee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Annie's at The Boathouse also viewed

Abingdon, Oxfordshire
Abingdon, Oxfordshire
 
Abingdon, Oxfordshire
Abingdon, Oxfordshire
 
Abingdon, Oxfordshire
Abingdon, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Annie's at The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing