We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of The Spread Eagle

The Spread Eagle
Ranked #20 of 93 Restaurants in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Derby
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

As this was just walking distance from my B&B I ate here on my first night, I would highly recommend this pub but please book a table as I turned up and the place was fall, the staff managed to find me a spot in the bar to eat, my food came quickly and was excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnitaWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    44
    13
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Great food. Fantastic (and very wide and varied) choice of food. Brilliant service. We will be back when we're down next.

Helpful?
Thank richjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I've heard a lot of good reviews about this pub so decided to try it out. Went with my husband on a busy night over Christmas and was very impressed. All the staff were friendly and helpful - food was served hot and promptly.

Decided to take the whole family on a Sunday afternoon just after Christmas and was still impressed with the service/food. All the children (who can be fussy) found several things they liked on the extensive menu and ate it all!

Overall, a good place to eat and drink :-)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Although I live nearby I never visited this pub before but been there yesterday for dinner with a group of friends and I was pleasantly surprised. Food arrived after 10-15 mins of waiting. I just had an appetizer as not very hungry, and I have to admit it was delicious and very nice presented. I would definitely go again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roxana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pub food that is the real thing, including exotic animal”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Neighborhoods setting, walking distance from my B&B, Rowen Guest House. Food, exceptionally good, piping hot, lots of veggies and what I believe to be real mashed potatoes. Too much on my Lamb shank meal to finish. Cold, cold brew. All for £18. Efficient servers well paced service. Great menu selections. Toasty and warm the way a Pub should be.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SusanS609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spread Eagle also viewed

Abingdon, Oxfordshire
 
Abingdon, Oxfordshire
 
Abingdon, Oxfordshire
Abingdon, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Spread Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing