We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Head and Bell

The Kings Head and Bell
Ranked #58 of 93 Restaurants in Abingdon
Price range: US$2 - US$17
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Kings Head & Bell is right in the heart of the beautiful market town of Abingdon on Thames, we have been refurbished to a high standard with stylish modern touches whilst keeping true to our roots of a great British pub. We serve a wide range of freshly cooked, made to order dishes, using ingredients sourced from local shops and farms. We pride ourselves on our quality cask ales and premium beers as well as our extensive range of wines and champagnes. The Kings Head & Bell is managed by Steve and supported by his professional and friendly staff. The kitchen team are quickly growing an excellent reputation for preparing & presenting beautifully cooked meals using locally sourced produce. Steve has a wide range of experience in the industry and very much welcomes the views of customers so why not pop in and introduce yourselves? We hope to see you soon!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely little pub with a beautiful secluded beer garden (albeit lacking in grass) at the back. Some good brews on tap and a friendly set of staff. All in all a Nice place to go for a drink.

Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    49
    30
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our party stopped off after a meal in town and was surprised that this pub tucked in a back street was so busy, people were giving a good buzz about the place,
Great location shame the drinks are very over priced in comparison to the punch howl or blue boar.
Will go back but I won't be in a rush.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayJLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Buzzing Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We came here to eat on two counts. Firstly this pub restaurant is family friendly and secondly it is dog friendly. It was early Saturday evening and the football was on inside and there was a band plus barbecue going on outside. Yet in spite of a healthy crowd we were very well looked after. The staff were friendly and the food was just what you would expect in an establishment like this. Our extended family group all had different items from the menu and all of them were attractively served and even more important hot and well cooked. Our dog was able to rest quietly underneath one of the chairs and my grandson enjoyed the dance like atmosphere from the band. A great enjoyable occasion.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erasmus16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
753 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Great little pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Heading back from the New Forest we needed somewhere to stop off to see the football. Having popped into Wetherspoons and finding that none of there TVs were on the channel we headed into the Kings Head as they had it advertised outside.
The staff were very pleasant and pointed out that they were showing it indoors and on two screens outside. We decided to have a bite to eat and the food was amazing. The food was well presented with the French fries served in a small fryer basket.
I would highly recommend this as it has a very friendly atmosphere with excellent menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveS1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
112 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A special little place -- a real great find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Fantastic and interesting beer selection, friendly serving staff, pleasant atmosphere, large partly-covered patio, clean washrooms!

What more could you want from a pub?

We didn't have a meal here -- just came in for a beer before AND after dinner -- and felt welcome and comfortable as non-locals. The diners in the restaurant section of the space looked very happy, and it was pretty crowded for a Tuesday night at the pub!

Look forward to returning for another great pint!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turkergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kings Head and Bell also viewed

Abingdon, Oxfordshire
Abingdon, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Kings Head and Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing