We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A conference centre not a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cosener's House
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Abingdon
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I highly recommend staying at The Cosener’s house in Abingdon. It is a lovely hotel hidden away but is also only walks away from the lovely Abingdon town, with many pubs and restaurants and also many shops nearby. There is also a beautiful Abbey ground next door where it is great for walks and taking young children. I think you definitely get a lot for your money as the rooms are well priced and breakfast is included. The food is amazing!! Very good value for money we decided to eat in most nights as we all liked it that much. The staff are very friendly and always willing to help out with anything you ask; they go above and beyond and seem happy to do so. As the coseners house is a conference centre I think the coseners team really go out there way to make it as much like a hotel as possible. As long as you expectations are not five star you will be very pleased with your stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Courtney-Jade R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

As I stood there on the staircase with the larger-than-life portrait of Sir Ernest Rutherford ('Ernie') glaring balefully down at me, I reflected on what Ernie must think of his former residence being turned into a conference centre/retreat.

In a quiet period, however, they rent the rooms out to tourists like us (2 adults and a 2y.o.). Placed in the 'newer' wing at the end of a 1st floor corridor with an astonishing number of fire doors, we were greeted to a large, airy room with views over the rose garden and river Thames. And, unlike Premier Inns, the windows opened wide!

Other things however had the potential to grate. The wifi wasn't available in our wing, but there was a CAT5 network cable for prehistoric laptops like mine. The bed needed replacement and there was no fridge (baby's bottles). In the bathroom, the shower was plain weird, the exhaust fan had failed (luckily the windows opened) and the heated tower rail was permanently on. As someone else has remarked, it looked a lot like student/college accommodation.

The location is beautiful, in a quiet backwater with its own parking areas near the centre of town, overlooking the River Thames plus its own Mill Stream, with the abbey ruins/park next door and town centre 5 mins away. There is an excellent children's park/playground nearby.

The bar looked a real upmarket affair, but the breakfast you had to be sharp about.

If you can overlook the accommodation foibles, this is a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeaJayOe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

A beautiful building in a lovely location by the Thames, this 'hotel' is more like a student residence. Most rooms are singles, and vary from the smallest broom cupboard to rooms with the loo across the (public) hallway. I have stayed here many times as it is the venue of choice for my employer but the mix of cobwebs, dust, mouldy showers and astronomic bar prices is wearing.

The venue seems to mostly attract large groups linked to the Science facilities around, which I guess explains why they don't feel the need to improve.

On the positive side, breakfast is ok (although it starts at 7.30 - useless for anyone who has to brave the Abingdon traffic) and it is close to the centre of town which has several good restaurants. Just don't try to get an ironing board, there must be only one in the place!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank AllWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed at Coseners House as friends were having a party there. Room comfortable - lovely view of Thames too. Fab breakfast though cleared away rather hurriedly while we were still eating. Mirror in room too far from desk and socket for hair drying/make up.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rickysmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We hired Coseners for our wedding with the family staying for two nights. The food was superb; the staff went the extra mile to make everything perfect. The accommodation is "conference" rather than chic but the bed was comfortable. It is an historical building, in a beautiful setting. The place has a very special ambience, especially the main hall and the gardens. The garden room where the wedding ceremony took place opened on to the gardens. Organisation and attention to detail are their major strengths . The Chefs are excellent and the food, all prepared to order, is top class.

Room Tip: Room 3 has the Four Poster Bed and is very comfortable. The venue offers little for children (no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyndaPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I have been in Cosener's house for my cousin's wedding: stayed here for 2 nights and had a good time.
The place is an old fascinating building surrounded by gardens full of flowers and near to
Thames channels. The view is just beautiful.

At the arrival, they give me a single room that I didn't liked: I have asked at the reception to give me another one and they gave me an amazing twin room with huge bathroom for the same price of the single.
The breakfast is very rich, they have both continental and English specialities.

The day of the wedding, they arranged the restaurant area beautifully, the service was impeccable: the food was good, they made a lot of changes to their menus to allow the bride to have all what she wanted.

At the reception they were very patient and kind, giving me a map of Abingdon, arranging taxi and triyng to be as helpful as possible.

Room Tip: 1) Stay away from room n°11!!! it's tiny and in front of the kitchen: you'd have to keep you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilithdelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Stayed for just one night on business. The hotel is set close enough to the town centre to get around easily, but also far enough away from any main roads. Surrounded by lakes, trees and complete silence, the hotel is very beautiful however a little difficult to find! Managed to find my way though in the dark and rain, using just Google Maps!
My room was very cosy and tidy, with some traditional furniture but also a good sized TV.
I stayed for both 3 course evening meal and breakfast, both of which had a huge variety of choice, and were cooked to a very high quality. The restaurant had beautiful views over the lakes which surround the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.1 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
269 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Abingdon
483 reviews
5.7 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Egrove Park
Egrove Park
#31 of 44 in Oxford
28 reviews
3.6 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
5.9 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cosener's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cosener's House

Address: Abbey Close, Abingdon OX14 3JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range: £72 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cosener's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cosener's House Abingdon, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing