We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service from managment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Abingdon
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible service from managment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

stayed here for a 1 night break..check in was great, got to the room which was outdated smelt like a mouldy sewer.. complained to manager on duty was told all rooms are like this and could not move us.He was a little rude. We slept ok but breakfast was an experiance..The same manager was on and again disapointed food was cold service was extremly poor, no organisation and we had a floor show for no extra cost.. the manager shouted at a young member of staff in front of us. Needless to say she burst into tears..i wont return as the whole experiance was a disgrace. Word of advice the manager on duty dont think he was english needs to be re trained.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbarett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    135
    131
    60
    22
See reviews for
60
120
13
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for just one night. Good car parking free & plentiful. Check in was easy & efficient. As you move to tge room corridor a strong strange damp smell hits you. That continued into the room which was ok. A really good size with chairs & stool which is not really suitable for working. The smell seemed to be coming from the drains but tap dripped so couldn't leave plug in the sink. Tile in the bathroom floor was raised & uneven not great to step out the bath onto. The bed was huge & comfortable but couldn't see any extra pillows. Noise from people walking up the corridor was like a deep banging in the room. It was clean although dated & bit whiffy.
The barman in the evening was fab. For a group of work colleagues he let us move two tables together & looked after our food & drink orders all night. Bar prices were very good especially with the promotions. Food choice was limited cross but ok. Actually tasted very good and reasonably priced not cheap but not a rip off.
Breakfast was ok big twin servers that have a good selection staff not so friendly but it was busy. All in all it was just OK nothing better than a motel really but some stand out staff. Not really worth the £85 b&b we paid would at one of the sister hotels or Premier Inn if Im in the area again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on buisness. After looking it up on Tripadvisor I was not looking forward to staying here.
On arrival, the receptiion staff were very friendly and check in was very easy. The room was a good size with everything you needed, even Clarins bathroom stuff...

The menu in the restautrant was very limited on a small menu, I had the chefs special one night (pasta) absolutly coated in Olive oil!!!! The burger and fish were a lot better. Breakfast in the morning was a bufet affair but a much better standard.

I had one of the back rooms which looks onto the road leading to Tesco. This is a very busy road considering its a dead end, Boy racers going past late at night.

All in All, great location for Oxford at very reasonable rates (if you dont want to pay Oxford prices). Would stay again but eat out of the hotel and stay in a room overlooking the hotel entrance / car park.

Oh, nearly forgot. Best shower I have ever had in a hotel, very powerfull.

Thanks

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking reception / car park, a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colandally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the abingdon four pillars hotel bank holiday weekend stayed in the connoisseur rooms .The rooms are fairly large with double bed table and chairs desk LCD T V with free view bathroom clean good size .Hospitality tray good 2 small bottles wins red and white 2 cans of drink 2 bottles water chocolates and biscuits.Free wi-fi through out the hotel no problems with reception at all breakfast was excellent .Evening meal was ok nothing special and service poor. due to a wedding party going on at the same time would not have had an eaten here again if not had booked DBB but on the following evening the service was much improved .

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank colinjohn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed for a week at the Four Pillar during a work convention. The location is a little out of the center but very close to the river and the rowing clubs. It's a very special walk to town. All the staff was lovely and helpfull with a very special star for Inacia (evening service at the restaurant, great smile and care) and the evening service restaurant manageress.
A drawback - the hotel is quite noisy and walls are thin. The beauty room is a joke. I booked for a massage and a facial and ended up with 1h30 of slamming doors and guys banging weights in the fitness room next door. Each time, the massage bed jumped high ! I felt extremely sorry for the poor beautician (very talented, very lovely) to work in such terrible conditions.
So the hotel in itself is nothing special but the staff is what needs to be remembered.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We arrived for a birthday event and thought it best to stay overnight although only about 15 miles from home.

Great start - plenty of parking, reception were efficient if not very friendly. Then our room - oh it was horrid! More basic than I had imagined for the price of £84 for bed and breakfast. I could have got a £76 rate but thought the breakfast might be nice.

The room was a good size though we'd been given one that had an extra single bed in and hadn't asked or needed it. The door to the bathroom was scratched and needed revarnishing. When I sat on the bed I could hear and feel the springs creaking. I can't though fault the cleanliness.

We were in the hotel for dinner and the food was pretty basic and bland but again the service was excellent and couldn't be faulted.

Despite the springs creaking every time we moved in the bed I slept surprisingly well.

And so to breakfast which again was really quite basic and bland and really not worth the extra money we'd paid. The staff were excellent though and very polite.

All in all if I'd paid £50 for the night I would have been satisfied but it really wasn't much better than very basic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Abingdon hotels

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spent a lovely weekend at the four pillars , we were there to attend a wedding which was held at the hotel , the staff were all so polite and helpful from the moment we walked through the door , management were on hand and very welcoming . Nothing was to much trouble and the wedding from start to finish ran smoothly thanks to the staff's planning . Would highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
5.5 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#11 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Abingdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Abingdon Hotel

Property: Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Address: Marcham Road, Abingdon OX14 1TZ, England (Formerly Oxford Abingdon Four Pillars Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Abingdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a charming three star Oxford hotel which offers great value accommodation in the heart of Oxfordshire? Then look no further than the Oxford Abingdon Hotel. With a number of places to eat and drink, meeting and event spaces, and 66 bedrooms we're proud to say our excellent hotel offers a range of modern facilities welcoming both leisure and business guests. The hotel can be found in Abingdon-On-Thames, a quaint market town in the heart of Oxfordshire which is conveniently only 6 miles from Oxford with its wide range of activities and places to see and enjoy. The rooms are modern and calm with all the mod-cons you would expect from such a great value hotel. Relax on the terrace with a glass of wine, enjoy a delicious meal in our top-notch restaurant or join us for one of our lively events with friends and family. Whatever you are looking for, Oxford Abingdon Hotel has something for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oxford Abingdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abingdon 4 Pillars Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing