We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Superior Room with lovely staff and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Abingdon
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Superior Room with lovely staff and food”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Had a one night stay in an upgraded room which was worth the extra money, Was situated WELL away from the main area as told them I slept lightly and needed a quiet space to chill.
Food was lovely, friendly staff in all areas and although there was a party, we were served quickly at the bar.
Emailed the manager to thank him for providing us with a relaxed mini break and how rare it was for me to do so :) Thanks!
Ceinwen and Adrian

Room Tip: Upgraded rooms are ace, wine, fizzy water, chocolates, toiletries were lush etc! big airy room to sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepyd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    141
    136
    60
    22
See reviews for
61
125
14
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and with the exception of one incident, which the management, unprompted, put right to our satisfaction, we had a very pleasant stay. The room was comfortable, clean, and well serviced. Whilst the evening menu in the restaurant was a little restricted the quality of the food was very good, with the chef quite happily preparing an 'off menu' meal to meet my wife's dietary needs. The choice and quality of the food at breakfast was again very good. At both the staff were very pleasant and attentive with empty plates and tables cleared promptly. Prices at the bar matched those at local public houses. That said the hotel has one drawback. Traffic noise to the rear can be disruptive to a good nights sleep, as does the location of a patio area and function room. We would quite happily stay at this hotel again, but would ensure when we booked insist on a room at the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: choose one at the front or if only ones to the rear available as far away from the reception area as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewis j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We had a good stay here in late May 2014, we didn't dine or have breakfast in the hotel as we had other plans, the rooms were nicely appointed, a good price for a Saturday and Sunday night. The reception staff were especially helpful Sunday as we missed Sunday cleaning due to my wife being ill and sleeping in, provided fresh coffee cups, tissues, coffee sachets and very kind to us. Rooms a little hot but it was unseasonably warm that weekend. Comfy bed, great bathroom and good facilities, TV, kettle, desk, comfy armchair hairs etc...

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

stayed here for a 1 night break..check in was great, got to the room which was outdated smelt like a mouldy sewer.. complained to manager on duty was told all rooms are like this and could not move us.He was a little rude. We slept ok but breakfast was an experiance..The same manager was on and again disapointed food was cold service was extremly poor, no organisation and we had a floor show for no extra cost.. the manager shouted at a young member of staff in front of us. Needless to say she burst into tears..i wont return as the whole experiance was a disgrace. Word of advice the manager on duty dont think he was english needs to be re trained.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbarett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Abingdon hotels

Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for just one night. Good car parking free & plentiful. Check in was easy & efficient. As you move to tge room corridor a strong strange damp smell hits you. That continued into the room which was ok. A really good size with chairs & stool which is not really suitable for working. The smell seemed to be coming from the drains but tap dripped so couldn't leave plug in the sink. Tile in the bathroom floor was raised & uneven not great to step out the bath onto. The bed was huge & comfortable but couldn't see any extra pillows. Noise from people walking up the corridor was like a deep banging in the room. It was clean although dated & bit whiffy.
The barman in the evening was fab. For a group of work colleagues he let us move two tables together & looked after our food & drink orders all night. Bar prices were very good especially with the promotions. Food choice was limited cross but ok. Actually tasted very good and reasonably priced not cheap but not a rip off.
Breakfast was ok big twin servers that have a good selection staff not so friendly but it was busy. All in all it was just OK nothing better than a motel really but some stand out staff. Not really worth the £85 b&b we paid would at one of the sister hotels or Premier Inn if Im in the area again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on buisness. After looking it up on Tripadvisor I was not looking forward to staying here.
On arrival, the receptiion staff were very friendly and check in was very easy. The room was a good size with everything you needed, even Clarins bathroom stuff...

The menu in the restautrant was very limited on a small menu, I had the chefs special one night (pasta) absolutly coated in Olive oil!!!! The burger and fish were a lot better. Breakfast in the morning was a bufet affair but a much better standard.

I had one of the back rooms which looks onto the road leading to Tesco. This is a very busy road considering its a dead end, Boy racers going past late at night.

All in All, great location for Oxford at very reasonable rates (if you dont want to pay Oxford prices). Would stay again but eat out of the hotel and stay in a room overlooking the hotel entrance / car park.

Oh, nearly forgot. Best shower I have ever had in a hotel, very powerfull.

Thanks

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking reception / car park, a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colandally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the abingdon four pillars hotel bank holiday weekend stayed in the connoisseur rooms .The rooms are fairly large with double bed table and chairs desk LCD T V with free view bathroom clean good size .Hospitality tray good 2 small bottles wins red and white 2 cans of drink 2 bottles water chocolates and biscuits.Free wi-fi through out the hotel no problems with reception at all breakfast was excellent .Evening meal was ok nothing special and service poor. due to a wedding party going on at the same time would not have had an eaten here again if not had booked DBB but on the following evening the service was much improved .

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank colinjohn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
1.1 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
237 reviews
4.2 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,077 reviews
4.4 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Abingdon Road Hotel
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Abingdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Abingdon Hotel

Property: Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Address: Marcham Road, Abingdon OX14 1TZ, England (Formerly Oxford Abingdon Four Pillars Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Abingdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a charming three star Oxford hotel which offers great value accommodation in the heart of Oxfordshire? Then look no further than the Oxford Abingdon Hotel. With a number of places to eat and drink, meeting and event spaces, and 66 bedrooms we're proud to say our excellent hotel offers a range of modern facilities welcoming both leisure and business guests. The hotel can be found in Abingdon-On-Thames, a quaint market town in the heart of Oxfordshire which is conveniently only 6 miles from Oxford with its wide range of activities and places to see and enjoy. The rooms are modern and calm with all the mod-cons you would expect from such a great value hotel. Relax on the terrace with a glass of wine, enjoy a delicious meal in our top-notch restaurant or join us for one of our lively events with friends and family. Whatever you are looking for, Oxford Abingdon Hotel has something for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oxford Abingdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abingdon 4 Pillars Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing