We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Fine But Not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Abingdon
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed one night in the Oxford Abingdon Four Pillars Hotel. It was a hot day in the area, and the room had no air conditioned and the windows did not open more than a fist's width. It was stifling.
The WiFi essentially didn't work. It would come and go, mostly go.
The room was clean. The bed was fine. The room had a very dated look and looked a bit like a nursing home.
I was not impressed looking at the menu of the hotel, so I took a cab to the Oxford City Center. Going there it costs me 20 pounds and returning to this hotel cost 23 pounds.
I was staying on the 2nd floor. I had a heavy suitcase, especially after a very long day. I did not see a lift, and if there was one, the staff did not point me to it. They directed me to the steps and I just lugged my suitcase up myself.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We booked this hotel for Sat July 12 to break up the journey from Newcastle to Southampton and to visit Highclere Castle. Neither the hotel or Highclere worked out. Basically we spent a night in ratty hotel and paid 4 star price.When we arrived at the hotel we asked about getting into Oxford, we were told we could walk 10 minutes to Oxford along the River path - HA Ha - more like 30 minutes and over rough terrain. Oxford was heaving with tourists.The hotel rooms were dank and miserable and hot as hell - no A/C and overnight as it was approx 25c we were sweating and the room had natural air except the windows and the noise from traffic was terrible. The bathroom had a dirty sink and mold and mildew around the tub/shower. The toilet handle was actually broken, it was coming off and one had to push it in the flush the loo.I would say don't stay here. If it was 40 pounds a night, then go for it and get what you paid. The sister hotel along the way was a much nicer looking place, however that was full and I mistakenly thought that the hotel in Abingdon would be OK - BIG MISTAKE. Don't go there unless you want to be taken for a mug. Don't go to Highclere unless you have a pre paid ticket - even then - it was heaving with people --- way oversold.. I saw in TA that someone paid $60 pounds, for this hotel well that was all it was worth - unfortunately we paid the going rate of 129 pounds and got totally ripped off. I would NEVER stay at a PILLAR hotel again. We were pleased to get out and on our way.

Room Tip: The noise from the road is really loud and the hotel was almost empty. We could hear traffic all nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peepub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Had an e-mail, Dinner, B&B £60.00. this was to good to miss, never been to this hotel before so did not quite no what to expect, but we were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and welcoming, I believe it is on of the smaller Fours Pillar Hotels.

The evening meal was excellent, but breakfast was even better, not the same range as some of the other hotels, but the plates and the food was hot, did not look like it had been kept warm and very good cooked breakfast, (we came down at 9.00a.m.)

Large room well maintained, but could do with air-con, on the night we stayed it was very hot and traffic noise with the windows open.

Visited Abingdon town centrethe following morning, made a nice break, will go back when they have another offer like this.

Room Tip: If you are using the A34 and looking for a nights B&B this is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ricketywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Had a one night stay in an upgraded room which was worth the extra money, Was situated WELL away from the main area as told them I slept lightly and needed a quiet space to chill.
Food was lovely, friendly staff in all areas and although there was a party, we were served quickly at the bar.
Emailed the manager to thank him for providing us with a relaxed mini break and how rare it was for me to do so :) Thanks!
Ceinwen and Adrian

Room Tip: Upgraded rooms are ace, wine, fizzy water, chocolates, toiletries were lush etc! big airy room to sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleepyd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and with the exception of one incident, which the management, unprompted, put right to our satisfaction, we had a very pleasant stay. The room was comfortable, clean, and well serviced. Whilst the evening menu in the restaurant was a little restricted the quality of the food was very good, with the chef quite happily preparing an 'off menu' meal to meet my wife's dietary needs. The choice and quality of the food at breakfast was again very good. At both the staff were very pleasant and attentive with empty plates and tables cleared promptly. Prices at the bar matched those at local public houses. That said the hotel has one drawback. Traffic noise to the rear can be disruptive to a good nights sleep, as does the location of a patio area and function room. We would quite happily stay at this hotel again, but would ensure when we booked insist on a room at the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: choose one at the front or if only ones to the rear available as far away from the reception area as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewis j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a good stay here in late May 2014, we didn't dine or have breakfast in the hotel as we had other plans, the rooms were nicely appointed, a good price for a Saturday and Sunday night. The reception staff were especially helpful Sunday as we missed Sunday cleaning due to my wife being ill and sleeping in, provided fresh coffee cups, tissues, coffee sachets and very kind to us. Rooms a little hot but it was unseasonably warm that weekend. Comfy bed, great bathroom and good facilities, TV, kettle, desk, comfy armchair hairs etc...

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

stayed here for a 1 night break..check in was great, got to the room which was outdated smelt like a mouldy sewer.. complained to manager on duty was told all rooms are like this and could not move us.He was a little rude. We slept ok but breakfast was an experiance..The same manager was on and again disapointed food was cold service was extremly poor, no organisation and we had a floor show for no extra cost.. the manager shouted at a young member of staff in front of us. Needless to say she burst into tears..i wont return as the whole experiance was a disgrace. Word of advice the manager on duty dont think he was english needs to be re trained.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sbarett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
1.1 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
269 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Cosener's House
The Cosener's House
#5 of 5 in Abingdon
114 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,179 reviews
4.4 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
5 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Abingdon Road Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Abingdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Abingdon Hotel

Address: Marcham Road, Abingdon OX14 1TZ, England (Formerly Oxford Abingdon Four Pillars Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range: £38 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Abingdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a charming three star Oxford hotel which offers great value accommodation in the heart of Oxfordshire? Then look no further than the Oxford Abingdon Hotel. The hotel can be found in Abingdon-On-Thames, a quaint market town in the heart of Oxfordshire which is conveniently only 6 miles from Oxford with its wide range of activities and places to see and enjoy. The rooms are modern and calm with all you would expect from such a great value hotel. Whatever you are looking for, Oxford Abingdon Hotel has something for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oxford Abingdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abingdon 4 Pillars Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing