We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”
Review of The Black Horse

The Black Horse
Reserve with OpenTable
The Black Horse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 95 Restaurants in Abingdon
Price range: US$8 - US$27
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband and i went to the Black Horse for Sunday lunch recently, based on the reviews we had seen. Whilst the food was very tasty, homemade stockpot gravy and goose fat roast potatoes i was however disappointed with the minute portion of veg. The veg came in a separate dish and once divided between us we ended up with one small cauli floret each, half a dozen baby carrots and a few french beans (something i do not believe should be served with a Sunday Roast).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    33
    13
    15
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good food and great service”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I often go to the Black horse for a meal and never have any complaints. Food can only be out done by the service. The landlady is wonderful and remembers you every time you go in. Will keep going as long as nothing changes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tenalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Country Pub”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I visited the Black Horse with friends on the way to Oxford for a football game. When had chosen the pub from the internet as it had everything we were after; decent beer, good lunch menu, pool table, darts, juke box etc.

The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcomed. They were split between the two bars but always came quickly when we rang the bell for service. Happy to chat when they took our orders and even offered to provide us with directions when we left.

Food was very good. We all ordered toasted sandwiches or baguettes and were impressed by the quantity and quality we received. I personally had a cheese and ham toastie with chips which, at £4.50, I wasn't expecting to be more than a slice of cheap plastic ham. What I got was more like delicious pulled pork and good quality cheese with plenty of chips and a great homemade coleslaw.

The facilities were good quality - the pool table and dart board were in very good condition and the juke box was as up to date as we needed.

We've added this to our list of pubs to visit as we travel around the country for football and will definitely be returning when we're next in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Had lunch with friends at the Black Horse yesterday. The standard menu and the daily specials looked very good and we all had difficulty choosing what to have. They seem to specialise in fish although there was a good selection of meat dishes as well.

When the food arrived it was all excellent and the presentation and cooking were certainly up to the best of Gastro Pub standards.

The whole meal was served very quickly by very pleasant staff.

When the bill arrived we were suprised at how reasonable it was for 4 starters, 4 mains and 3 desserts with drinks (beer and glasses of wine) £100.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 66Ihughes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly and Cosy”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Good selection of locally sourced food well prepared. Cheese board was very good, as was the daily special Cheesecake.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 143Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Horse also viewed

Abingdon, Oxfordshire
Abingdon, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Black Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing