We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little B&B”
Review of The Brewery Tap

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Brewery Tap
Ranked #2 of 12 Abingdon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

Had a night in Brewery Tap. Great room on top floor, comfortable, spacious & very plush. A little noise from main road, but had my trusty war-plugs, so a great night's sleep. Continental breakfast fine & good range of ale downstairs. Will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poohman45678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2013

I have lived in Abingdon for 20 years, and have been drinking in the Tap since I was legal, but I have never eaten here. Well my friend and I came in for lunch. What can I say, AMAZING! Great value for money and my food was lovely.

I would like to go back on a Sunday and try something from their main menu.

Room Tip: Sorry didn't sleep here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Very comfortable room, nicely decorated and furnished. Would definitely stay again if visiting Abingdon again - it is certainly better than the competition! The hotel is on a busy road, so beware if you're not used to a bit of background noise. If you're used to it, it won't be noticeable.

The staff were very friendly, and the food in the pub looked good (didn't eatthere, but the beer was excellent). Breakfast is a continental DIY affair, so if you're looking for the full English you'll need to go out.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Visited on a Sunday lunch time to celebrate a family birthday. Nice ambience and outstanding loos - beautifully decorated! Good service and the food was of a high quality but for a lunch time menu and the location of the pub the price was a little on the high side. Limited car parking so not knowing the area it was difficult to find alternative car parking as the pub car park was full when we arrived. Overall a pleasant lunch time experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JAC446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Stayed overnight at The Brewery Tap and would be more than happy to do so again. There are three bedrooms, which are above the pub and have their own entrance door. Our bedroom and ensuite were both of a good size and were nicely warm and we had a lovely large and extremely comfortable bed, decent size TV, two armchairs, a desk and another chair, cupboards and even somewhere to hang things. Wi-fi is free and fast. Bit noisy from the traffic as our room was at the front of the building, and a main road runs outside, but we knew the pub's location and it certainly wouldn't stop us staying again. The buffet breakfast bar, cleverly and snugly tucked into an alcove, offered an excellent selection of breakfast items - only thing missing appeared to be fresh bread, but there were croissants, crackers, muesli, packets of cereal, milk, jam, butter, yoghurts, cold meats, cheese, fresh fruit and fruit salads, and a drinks machine. Breakfast was taken back to our room. A couple of water glasses would have been useful, and for some reason we only had one set of towels but it wasn't an issue. All in all, a very pleasant and enjoyable experience and I can thoroughly recommend The Brewery Tap.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whizzkid50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

On a recent visit to Oxford we decided to say in Abingdon and take the bus into Oxford. We stayed here 3 nights and were impressed with the overall standard. Very freindly and helpful staff, excellent beers and food. I am glad we stayed for the Sunday roast which was superb, as were the evening snacks. Great atmosphere and very pleasant room, if a bit noisy as pub is on a busy road, not a problem if you have supped sufficient ale. There is plenty of choice of 'continental style' breakfast that you help yourself to, but the beverage machine produced dissapointing tea & coffee.

Room Tip: Room 1 at the back may have less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mortontheale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

Great real ale, the bar staff are very helpful and great knowledge of the beers on sale. Lunchtime food is excellent and you must not miss the Tap Sunday Lunch, its to die for! They also have Dexter Harvey playing "chilledout tunes" every other sunday, well worth a listen.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJParker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.3 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
259 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Abingdon
467 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cosener's House
The Cosener's House
#5 of 5 in Abingdon
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
4.4 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,144 reviews
5.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brewery Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brewery Tap

Address: 40-42 Ock Street, Abingdon OX14 5BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Price Range: £102 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade II listed pub with superbly renovated en-suite accommodation in the former 'tap-house' for Morland's brewery. In the 'Good Beer Guide', known for great food and a multiple nominee for CAMRA's SE Oxfordshire pub of the year. Town centre location, off street parking, secret beer garden! Available for functions and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Brewery Tap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brewery Tap Abingdon, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing