We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC VALUE FOR MONEY”
Review of The Brewery Tap

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Brewery Tap
Ranked #2 of 12 Abingdon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed here last night visiting family and can't fault in anyway. Usually stay at the Crown and Thistle but as it is being refurbished, we had to find somewhere new - and what a find!!!! Beautiful rooms an although you don't get the full English you get at the Crown and Thistle, the spread put on for the buffet breakfast was unbelievable. Room cost us £88 and I don't know how they do it. It must be because they don't have to pay staff. Everything was laid out in a little area outside our room and we helped ourselves to anything from tea/coffee to bottled water, croissants, cheese, ham, fruit even Marmite (if you like that sort of thing!!!). We didn't have to pay a deposit just paid on arrival and we booked weeks ago.

Although it was quite loud from downstairs when we went to bed, this wasn't going on all night until silly o`clock and after a few scoops anyway we didn't notice. A nice touch were the ear plugs in the drawer but honestly, these weren't needed.

Will certainly be recommending and would visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helgeddaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

It's rare that you find a place that you would recommend without hesitation. This is one if those rare places.

The Brewery Tap is consistently good. I've never received poor service once in the years I have been visiting, and the drinks, food, service and accommodation are exceptional and certainly worthy of the price.

While the pricing may be a bit steep, you do get good value for what you are paying. There are plenty of lower priced places around, but it still remains the busiest and friendliest place in Abingdon to visit.

The place is a credit to the family who run it, and who have a long history of being publicans and local business leaders.

Try everything, and if something isn't quite right, mention it.

You shouldn't leave here disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricMurphy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Went for Sunday Lunch.Lunch arrived with meat on the plate swimming in a glutinous mess described as gravy-i use the term advisedly)
When asked by the very pleasant waitress if everything was OK i remarked that it would have been nice to have the gravy in a gravy boat and then customers could put on as much as they want(or not)she said she would tell the chef.
When she returned i asked what the chef had said she shrugged her shoulders and said he had said nothing.
Our first and last visit to the Brewery Tap. Unless you like meals swimming in a mess do not go.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank JANET P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew H, Owner at The Brewery Tap, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Janet,

My family and I have spent nearly twenty years trying to make The Brewery Tap the best pub in the area and a big part of our effort is to listen to our customers. We were quite upset to read about your poor Sunday roast experience on Trip Advisor and we all wanted to convey to you our apologies.

Almost all of our customers seem to prefer lashings of gravy poured directly over the lunch but in reaction to your comments, we've added to the menu that customers may have the gravy served on the side if they wish.

Regarding the consistency and flavour of our gravy (beef and lamb varieties) we usually get great comments. It takes us two days to prepare, roasting the marrow bones and reducing the stock, but appreciate it might be a little too rich or thick for everyone's tastes. We do offer a lighter vegetarian gravy that might suit better, or the lighter pork gravy?

Lastly, I can assure you that Charlotte did let the chef know your comments but not until after service was closed and she should not have led you to believe that she was going to bring it to his attention during service.

I hope you find these further comments and our reactions suitable and it would be a pleasure to serve you again in the future.

Regards,

Matthew Heritage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Haven't stayed but went for an excellent Sunday lunch, good selection, lots of local produce and really tasty, big portions too! Beers are decent though they don't seem to have loose cannon on that much anymore which is a shame, nice atmosphere in the evenings as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a pub that has the right beers the right atmosphere and the right people look no further
If Loose cannon is on sale recommend that as well although they always have local bitters as well

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

Had a night in Brewery Tap. Great room on top floor, comfortable, spacious & very plush. A little noise from main road, but had my trusty war-plugs, so a great night's sleep. Continental breakfast fine & good range of ale downstairs. Will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poohman45678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I have lived in Abingdon for 20 years, and have been drinking in the Tap since I was legal, but I have never eaten here. Well my friend and I came in for lunch. What can I say, AMAZING! Great value for money and my food was lovely.

I would like to go back on a Sunday and try something from their main menu.

Room Tip: Sorry didn't sleep here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.3 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
266 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Abingdon
478 reviews
3.8 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,166 reviews
6 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.2 mi away
Abbey Guest House
Abbey Guest House
#1 of 12 in Abingdon
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brewery Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brewery Tap

Address: 40-42 Ock Street, Abingdon OX14 5BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Price Range: £108 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade II listed pub with superbly renovated en-suite accommodation in the former 'tap-house' for Morland's brewery. In the 'Good Beer Guide', known for great food and a multiple nominee for CAMRA's SE Oxfordshire pub of the year. Town centre location, off street parking, secret beer garden! Available for functions and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Brewery Tap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brewery Tap Abingdon, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing