We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch!”
Review of The Brewery Tap

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Brewery Tap
Ranked #2 of 12 Abingdon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I have just enjoyed an excellent lunch at the Brewery Tap with a party of four colleagues. We all agreed that the quality of the food was excellent and great value for money! The chips in particular deserve a special mention....they are out of this world! Roaring fires, perfectly kept real ale and friendly staff make this a great place to lunch....Sadly, the kitchen is not open in the evening, which is a shame.

This is not a fine dining establishment but if you want a good honest lunch at reasonable prices you cant go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and 3 year old daughter had Sunday lunch at The Brewery tap. The restaurant was fully booked but they had one table left next to the fire which they let us have. The bar/restaurant is very cosy with a lovely open fire. The Sunday lunch menu had all of the usual favorites and had a good vegetarian option. The meals themselves were excellent as was the impeccable service from all members of staff.

This was the best Sunday lunch I have had in a long time and I would definitely go back. Remember to book!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bathtraveller_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Great pub in central location with parking, lovely atmosphere with friendly and attentive staff, great choice of drinks and food.the rooms are excellent and decorated to a high standard. This pub is a hidden gem cannot wait to come back thanks again all

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomglanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Looks very ordinary but is very welcoming. Stone floors and old appearance inside but a lovely warm fire and very pleasant staff.
A really different and extensive menu eg white cabbage and sausage soup with lovely food carefully cooked.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BridgendDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Chose to stay here recently to see friends in the area whilst away for business. Great traditional pub with well appointed en-suite rooms full of history and character. Centrally located in Abingdon with parking on site this was perfect for my overnight stay and also excellent value. I can definitely recommend the accomodation, friendly staff and the choice of ales in the pub was very good too!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

I used to live in Abingdon so visited often but now live further away so don't get back as often as I'd like.

I took the opportunity to stay here a while ago and was very impressed with the quality of the room. I had room 2.

Due to this being an old building the rooms have lots of character and can be on different levels but the quality of the room was in my view excellent. Location-wise you are in an ideal place to access the town and all it has to offer. Restaurants are 2 minutes away if that on foot, and the food here is a good reason not to venture far. Sunday lunch is excellent and popular so book early. The Beef and Horseradish sarny is also a favourite. The wife loves the Fish Finger Butty!! Parking at the pub can be limited depending on what time you arrive but Abingdon has 3 car parks that I can recall; two of which are a 3 to 4 minute walk and the multi storey car park is maybe 5 to 6 minutes away on foot. The car park on West St. Helens Street is an easy walk via Coopers Lane which runs through the town house and apartment development behind the pub. For the beer loving historians amongst you this is where the Morlands Brewery used to be and some of those buildings are still there; converted for living space.

Abingdon is built on the river Thames and 5 minutes will get you there with some lovely riverside walks. If you take Coopers Lane you will end up a stone's throw from St. Helen's church; a church has been on this site for over 1000 years. Abingdon is one town that claims the title of the oldest continuously populated settlements in Britain, at least 6000 years. Check Wikipedia info at http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Abingdon,_Oxfordshire

The pub itself is lovely; a real fire for those winter evenings and lovely wood, stone and brick decor. The juke box always has an excellent mix and the bar has just about everything you could want; the standard beers plus quest ales on top of the usual optics and mixers. My liver would testify to the fact that I've never been short of options (not big or clever I know :-). I've put 4 out of 5 for value because there are cheaper pubs in town but going elsewhere always tends to be a stop on the way to the 'Tap because this is the best in my honest opinion, and has been for a long time!

I could wax lyrical for ages but I'll finish on the fact that I love this pub for all of the above but mainly the people. Matt and JD are the best people you could meet and the staff are a happy, good looking bunch. The regular punters are also friendly and I completely understand why the Brewery Tap is a little community in itself. The theme to "Cheers" is now running through my mind!!

A must visit if you're coming to Abingdon!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Thank you all for a great Sunday lunch.I took my wife and Mum out for lunch here on the recommendation of a local, and we were not disappointed.Food and service where first class and I would recomend a visit if you are in the area

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wingnut19192005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.3 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
259 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Abingdon
467 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cosener's House
The Cosener's House
#5 of 5 in Abingdon
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
4.4 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,144 reviews
5.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brewery Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brewery Tap

Address: 40-42 Ock Street, Abingdon OX14 5BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Price Range: £103 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade II listed pub with superbly renovated en-suite accommodation in the former 'tap-house' for Morland's brewery. In the 'Good Beer Guide', known for great food and a multiple nominee for CAMRA's SE Oxfordshire pub of the year. Town centre location, off street parking, secret beer garden! Available for functions and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Brewery Tap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brewery Tap Abingdon, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing