We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Premier Inn I`ve stayed at..... so far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Not impressed with this one. I stay at a fair few Premier Inn hotels as I travel a lot for work. As there are generally more Premier Inn hotels knocking around, there is usually one fairly close to wherever I`m working.

Just lately though, I find myself looking further afield for the likes of Holiday Inn..... Abingdon Prem Inn is a fine example of why this is happening.

The Room....
Not impressed. Looking tired and in need of refurbishment. Bed unusually uncomfortable (Premier Inn beds are generally all pretty comfy). Not very clean either.

The Restaurant....
I initially had booked this room based on the fact that it had a Beefeater Grill pub.... I love em, grew up on family trips to local Beefeater`s! Sadly though, this place clearly struggles. They clearly must have a high turnover of staff as there was only one person who looked like they knew what they were doing (Gemma I think her name was ;)).

I sat sort of mid room with my back to the wall and just watched the chaos ensue. It was almost comical at times and kind of helped pass the time. In particular, one greasy looking guy running around serving food to people..... He didn`t have a clue which table was which, even to the point of asking people "Are you table ....?". One woman clearly had enough of this every time he came in and suddenly piped up "How would we know what table we are.... there`s no bloody numbers!!". The person named above (Gemma) was trying to keep order but clearly had no support from other staff or management. The food was actually pretty good to be honest. I had a lamb rump steak.... asked for it rare... it came rare... it was bang tidy. The bar staff were equally unqualified for the job.

The Breakfast......
I was almost dreading going down for breakfast..... and I was right to! What an absolute S%*t hole.... there had been no, and I mean NONE, ZERO, ZILCH, cleaning done since the night before.... the floor was covered in bits of food and debris, the tables were sticky and dirty. Having found an almost clean table, I noticed that instead of the usual hot buffet style breakfast as in all the other Premier Inns I`ve stayed at, it was waiter service instead... a sign of things to come I thought?? Having "Waited" for some time for both the "Waiter" and moreover, my breakfast, first impressions were good..... until I spotted a mosquito cooked into the white of my egg... Jurassic Park style.

Won`t be staying here again!

Room Tip: Any room NOT at this hotel would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James_hancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

We were welcomed by friendly staff at the hotel. The room was big and spotlessly clean. As it was hot the fan was left on when we arrived, we were able to keep the room cool during the night. Such a disappointment with the breakfast at the Ock Mill Beefeater Restaurant. We couldn't make out who were staff or customers as uniforms were not worn. We were left waiting for more than 1/2 hour for our cooked breakfast without an apology or being informed why there was such a delay. We had breakfast at the nearby McDonalds the next morning which was much cheaper and faster. The staff in the restaurant came over as unapproachable and unfriendly. When we mentioned this to Emma, the receptionist at the hotel she was very apologetic and offered us a refund for the breakfast. Emma also sorted our tv promptly when there was a problem with the switch. We were impressed by the way Emma dealt with us. I'm sure that the hotel will miss her when she leaves in 2 weeks time to study at Uni.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Annelies B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A pleasant hotel, staff very attentive, as well as helpful. The rooms are well furnished, flat screen TV's, all rooms have king size beds, though the matteress was too firm for my liking, as I am used to a water bed!
Overall I would stay there again, booking well in advance and rooms are only £29!

Room Tip: No lifts available to second floor, so any walking disability be sure to ask for ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Lovely location and a lovely pemimer inn. Aingdon is a lovely town on the river ock and has a lovely riverside setting and park where the children can play and splash about in the sprinlgers in the summer.


  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel, and although the bar/restaurant disappointed the Premier Inn was in our opinion very good. Upon arrival we were greeted by Sophie on reception. We found Sophie very helpful and exceptionally friendly, we were checked in efficiently and advised about rooms being hot and offered a fan which was very pleasing. This friendly, helpful approach from the staff on reception we found continued throughout our stay. Unfortunately the same cannot be said about the Ock Mill restaurant, next to the hotel which we used for breakfasts and dinners. The staff were rushed off of their feet making service poor, in particular we found a bald headed man (think management staff) rude to staff which was also extended to guets. 100% recommend the Premier Inn but would not recommend the Ock Mill for meals which is unfortunate as this lets the hotel down.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanandsue447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Just what you expect from a premier inn.
We had a room on the top floor of this converted mill
It was a good size and well equipped
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful
We used the Beefeater next door the menu was varied and the food good
The hotel is a short walk from Abingdon centre with its pubs,tea shops and riverside walks

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbingdonPI, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Good evening, thank you for taking the time to review your stay,

I’m glad to read that everything was as you expect, with a spacious room that had everything you needed.
I’m pleased that you also found the staff to be friendly and the restaurant to be good with a varied menu.

As you say we are just a 15-minute walk from the town centre and the Thames river which is lovely to visit on a sunny day.

Many thanks again for your review; we hope to see you again,

Gemma Corney
Oxford Cluster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed here for one night while walking the Thames path, and found it a very comfortable,friendly place. The room was very clean, spacious and quiet. We ate in the Beefeater next door, which was very convenient and the food & drink were very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubaluyve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbingdonPI, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Good evening, thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us,

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the rooms to be spacious and comfortable, and the staff to be friendly. I’m glad that you also found your meal in the restaurant to be very good.

Many thanks again for your review, we hope to see you again.

Gemma Corney
Oxford Cluster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.3 mi away
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Abingdon
467 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
259 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Abingdon Road Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,144 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cosener's House
The Cosener's House
#5 of 5 in Abingdon
109 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel

Address: Marcham Road | Abingdon, Abingdon OX14 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range: £54 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for a stay in Oxfordshire, the Premier Inn Abingdon occupies a converted mill within walking distance of this buzzing market town's centre. Easily accessible from the A34 and close to Didcot Parkway and Oxford train stations, you'll be well connected to routes around the county and to London and beyond. Wander around the weekly markets in Abingdon, take a relaxing river cruise to Henley and Oxford, experience the enchanting setting of Blenheim Palace, then enjoy a warm welcome with us where you'll find everything you need for a pleasant stay: spacious rooms, a tasty restaurant, and extra-comfy beds. Important info This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that this Premier Inn does not have a lift. Guests requiring an easily accessible room please contact the hotel direct. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing