We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel fine, restaurant lets it down.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The hotel is pretty much the same as any Premier Inn, clean and tidy. A good location for an easy drive to a Park and Ride for Oxford, also a good base for visiting the Cotswolds. The reception staff and cleaning staff were friendly and helpful. The staff in the restaurant next door were also friendly and the food was good. Our only moan really was the long wait to be seated one night, a problem with paying at the till another night and a 40 minute wait for our cooked breakfast on our last morning. This would make us hesitate about staying there again, as there didn't seem to be anywhere else, within walking distance, to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Basically what you would expect from a generic budget stop-over - bathroom was good with a nice powerful shower, breakfast was average but service was good - room itself was on the overheated side, however, with a very firm mattress and a very thick, heavy duvet which was synthetic in feel. Woke sweating on several occasions, so not exactly the good night's sleep they guarantee...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

For its location, not far off the A34, and in Abingdon itself, you would expect it to be noisy but it isn't, it's lovely and quiet.

The rooms are quite basic but mine was spotlessly clean and perfectly functional.

I have never managed to find a Premier Inn for the "headline rate" of £29 that appears all over the place. I paid over £70.

Unfortunately I got called away so didn't get a chance to try the conveniently located pub next door.

In common with every Premier Inn I have stayed at, staff are extremely friendly and eager to please.

If I am in that area again, it is the hotel I will stay at.

Room Tip: Ground floor room with a low number meant I had a view away from the road so was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Hotel staff very good,however the hotet is in need of a total refurbishment . The resturant next door is run by staff who have no people skills what so ever ,waited over ten minutes at the bar was told by the she was going home !!!!!!!!. Also food very poor and over priced ,breakfast staff were much better and a credit to the resturant ...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bedford12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Arrived at hotel at about 11pm. Tried to check in and were having issues with card machine. Could not pay by card was not allowed to gain access to room despite being booked in for 2 nights so surely could have made payment later/next morning.

Room:
This was a bizarre L shape reasonable aged and getting to the point it needed a refurb. Poor layout as plug socket was around 8 foot from the bed.

Cleanliness:
Walls scuffed throughout and found a pubic hair in the bath upon arrival. Also but the do not disturb sign on the door but the cleaner paid as much attention to this as the pubic hair in the bath.

Bed:
Found the matress hard and lumpy.

Bar:
As most people seem to have commented, staff and cleanliness leave a lot to be desired. For example tables were only cleared when people had left. I asked at 10pm if coffee was available. I was told yes so I ordered a latte only to be told that I couldn't have one as the machine was on clean.


Spent a 3rd night in didcot premier inn this was much better and more the standard I have been used to.


  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rclaeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Staff are helpful and friendly. Rooms are excellent for the price. Genrally quiet and comfortable.
Some problems with rooms getting too hot but resolved quickly.
The beefeater next door is a badly managed, below average pub/restaurant.
Wouldn't eat or sit there if I was paid for the suffering.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farhad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

As I've put in previous reviews. You always know what to expect from Premier Inn and Abingdon was no exception.

They are so reasonably priced, and I always consider them when looking for one nights accommodation, where I only need a base.

As with all Premier Inns the hotels are quite characterless, but they are perfect as a base.

Rooms always comfortable and clean. We had a really spacious room which was great.

I stayed here when attending a wedding locally (stayed with a friend.)

Lots of parking, didn't appear to be much more around- taxis quite pricey in area, but we needed to utilise as was going to a wedding in a neighbouring village.

Only disappointment was that we could not get breakfast. We hadn't pre-booked breakfast, but went to the adjoining Beefeater, but were told that they had a big group in so could not accommodate us for at least 90 minutes. We ended up walking own road and had McDonalds breakfast, but would have liked to have known that there was 1.5hrs of the morning that they could not accommodate breakfast guests.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrieb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.3 mi away
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Abingdon
472 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
264 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cosener's House
The Cosener's House
#5 of 5 in Abingdon
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,155 reviews
4.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
5.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel

Address: Marcham Road | Abingdon, Abingdon OX14 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range: £54 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for a stay in Oxfordshire, the Premier Inn Abingdon occupies a converted mill within walking distance of this buzzing market town's centre. Easily accessible from the A34 and close to Didcot Parkway and Oxford train stations, you'll be well connected to routes around the county and to London and beyond. Wander around the weekly markets in Abingdon, take a relaxing river cruise to Henley and Oxford, experience the enchanting setting of Blenheim Palace, then enjoy a warm welcome with us where you'll find everything you need for a pleasant stay: spacious rooms, a tasty restaurant, and extra-comfy beds. Important info This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that this Premier Inn does not have a lift. Guests requiring an easily accessible room please contact the hotel direct. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing