We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Needs updating ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Having previously stayed in a Premier Inn near Solihull last year and thinking it extremely pleasant I was disappointed here. The place needs updating, the photos shown on websites and adverts do not apply here. Travel cot provided for my son was fine, place was clean and staff lovely, no problems there. Bathroom in dire need of updating. The Beefeater was IMMENSELY slow even when not busy.
Heating in the room was very effective, so pleased with that.
Overall the place is let down by its decor and food service. Would stay again if improved.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    126
    38
    12
    7
See reviews for
66
108
21
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is a small Premier Inn, and as expected it's clean and tidy with helpful staff. The rooms are bright with good facilities such as a decent shower and good TV.
Friendly, efficient and polite employees.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliP564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

As long as you ask for the right side of hotel for your room you will be Ok with this Premier Inn . We made a special request and it was acted on by staff . The walk into abingdon centre is about 15 minutes in the same direction, and also the Hotel has quick access to the A34. The Premier Inns best point is the comfortable beds and guarantee of a good night sleep and they came up to that level but mainly because id asked for top floor and quiet rooms . Breakfast was another story though because the one young man running the Beefeater had no idea how to address customers . We were having self service continental at £5.50 so not cheap and self service area the bread was down to crusts only and lots of gaps in the self service selections. When we moved to another table 5 yards from the one he allocated he " gave us a right telling off in front of all other diners" . "Im on my own running this he said". You will have to sit where i put you. We are serving ourselved I pointed out .. "Dosnt matter" sit at this side he said. Best thing is avoid the Beefeater which dosnt seem to bother training staff if this is an example. Walk into abingdon and get a fresh breakfast from a proper cafe that dosnt shout at you and dosnt microwave all the food. Hotel was fine and we would stay again but would not eat next door even if it was free. So you are guaranteed a good night sleep in Premier Inns , but you might get substandard service and waste your money at the Beefeater next door.. give its miss. If you read my ratings we only ferer to the hotel

Room Tip: As said before the hotel in right next to the main road which has busy traffic . Unless you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

stayed here last weekend friendly staff , clean room , good nights sleep , only negative point is we booked a meal deal with the receptionist , but she failed to tell us we had to book a table so off we went to eat only to be asked "have you booked a table " no we said didnt know we had to . well we are very busy said the manager and told us to come back in half an hour , we spoke to one family who had been in the restaurant for 3 hours mostly waiting for their meals to arrive . so book your table if you go and dont go if you are hoping to get served quickly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicky p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Took time to find the place, so signing needs to be improved. Apart from that all was sweetness and light. Reception, room and comfort met all our expectations.
Will use Premier Inns again. The one thing that grated was the volume of musak in the dining room, but the staff turned it way down at my request.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Premier Inn in Abingdon for 2 nights in February. We chose to stay here due to its close proximity to Oxford. It was only a very short drive to the Park and Ride site.

The hotel has three floors (ground, first and second) and we were allocated a room on the second floor. The room was large, spotlessly clean and had one of the comfiest beds we've ever slept it. It even had walls thick enough to sufficiently muffle a screaming toddler next door!

We found the staff to be friendly and welcoming and had no cause to complain during our stay.

We dined at the Beefeater next door on one of the evenings and enjoyed our meal, the food was well cooked and value for money. The service was on the slow side though. If we'd have been in a rush it would have been quite frustrating.

We'd definitely stay here again if we visited the area in the future.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1einad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

This hotel was very easy to find, excellent location with very easy access to A34. I had a good nights sleep and a great evening meal and breakfast.
The parking is free and there is plenty of it, it is a quick walk into town and the river.


  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.3 mi away
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Abingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
5.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
4.3 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel
Address: Marcham Road | Abingdon, Abingdon OX14 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for a stay in Oxfordshire, the Premier Inn Abingdon occupies a converted mill within walking distance of this buzzing market town's centre. Easily accessible from the A34 and close to Didcot Parkway and Oxford train stations, you'll be well connected to routes around the county and to London and beyond. Wander around the weekly markets in Abingdon, take a relaxing river cruise to Henley and Oxford, experience the enchanting setting of Blenheim Palace, then enjoy a warm welcome with us where you'll find everything you need for a pleasant stay: spacious rooms, a tasty restaurant, and extra-comfy beds. Important info This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that this Premier Inn does not have a lift. Guests requiring an easily accessible room please contact the hotel direct. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing