We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“grumpy service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Napoli

Bella Napoli
Ranked #6 of 93 Restaurants in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Family run freshly cooked Italian meals with relaxing surroundings.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“grumpy service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Visited this restaurant lunch time on a Saturday. Even though it says on the menu that you can ask the chef for anything when we asked for pizzas (which by the way were on the menu outside) the waiter became grumpy and short with us. It didn't help that I found a curly hair on my food. The staff delivering the food were all in casual clothes. Food wasn't terrible but definitely not worth. Just to complete this horrible experience, when we got the bill and were going to pay it by card, the grumpy waiter told us that was cash only!!!!!!!
Really surprised to see good reviews here, it seems that we went to a different restaurant!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    38
    12
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Give it a try ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Four of us visited on a Saturday evening. The choice was adequate, in fact if you want something to eat which is not on the menu the chef will cook it for you. Service was ok, however it can be a little slow when they are busy. The dessert trolley offers a great choice, and seeing the puddings helps ensure you make the right decision.

Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good independent Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Plenty of good cheer from the long-term owners, and excellent food. We had the specials which were lovely, but not being on the menu meant that the cost wasn't known until the bill arrived.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank rustyrustic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, Friendly and Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is a fabulous little family owned Italian eatery. The food and wine recommendations were outstanding and the owner and his wife were wonderful! Highly recommend and will be eating there again (hopefully soon!)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSnoozemobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the exterior!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

From the outside this looks like a charming Italian hideaway, but don't be fooled. I've been to Bella Napoli twice, the first time during a quite lunch service with my housemate. Once we managed to get the lunch menu (after initially being handed the pricier dinner menu) I ordered a pizza, which was obviously hand made and tasted like authentic Italian.

It was after this experience that I made the mistake of going with my girlfriend for dinner. The restaurant was busier and the waitresses seemed distracted. We always make a point of ordering different dishes, but may as well not have bothered. Our mains were two hapless lumps of overdone meat with exactly the same cream sauce dredged over the lot. Some undressed lettuce leaves and grated carrot sat tweely on the side.

To top it off we asked three times for the bill over the space of 45 minutes before finally receiving it. At one point while we were waiting the waitress left the kitchen, stared at some pictures on the wall for a while then went back in without even turning towards the tables! Paying extra for the sides made this experience an expensive mistake.

Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bella Napoli also viewed

 
Abingdon, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Bella Napoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing