We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Cotswold Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The King's Head Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Bledington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Cotswold Inn”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Hi,

We were lucky enough to get a room here at the last minute. We got a "small double" room above the pub. The room was quite small but that was what it was described as on the website and was reflected in the price. I believe the rooms in the courtyard are larger. The room was decorated very nicely with a lovely en-suite bathroom. There was also a delightful shared sitting area.

The pub itself was really nice. Modernised, but did not take away the authentic feeling of being a traditional country pub. The pub had a good mix of diners and locals enjoying a drink.

The food in the pub was excellent quality and there was a wide range of choice on the menu

The included breakfast was excellent as well

In summary, a highly recommended place to stay in a beautiful Cotswold village.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    97
    33
    12
    3
See reviews for
34
212
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
york, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

A group of 16 friends and I were lucky enough to stay at The Kings Head Inn for 2 nights on the last weekend of July to celebrate my hen weekend.

The weekend was planned around a trip to 'Giffords Circus' which was stationed on Barrington village green approximately 8 miles from The Kings Head Inn.

As a large group we initially researched large self catering accommodation options thinking that communal areas for the whole of our group may be limited at a hotel or B&B. When no suitable self catering options were available within a few miles of the circus we decided to research B&B's too.

The Kings Head Inn stood out from the very beginning; beautifully furnished rooms, a perfect location and perhaps most importantly staff who went over and above to be helpful from day one.

After an initial enquiry we booked 8 of the B&B's rooms, taking all 6 of the courtyard rooms and 2 above the inn itself. All were beautiful, clean and unique, what was particularly good as far as we were concerned was that despite all being different we felt all of the rooms were of an equal standard so no one in the group was better or worse off than the others.

Before arrival we had specified which guests were to share rooms and which of the the rooms should be twins or doubles. The staff had this organised perfectly so that as the group checked in in dribs and drabs they were allocated suitable rooms with efficiency and ease.

We had decided to dine in the B&B on the Friday evening and due to a couple of members of the group being delayed it was necessary to delay dinner by an hour. The staff were incredibly accommodating and made a change to the meal without fuss, despite having a busy restaurant.

Over the course of the weekend we made many strange and perhaps awkward requests including having the staff make up hundreds of ice cubes for us to take to the circus and helping us hide 'clues' for a treasure hunt organised by some of the hens. The team catered for all of these requests with a sense of humour and a smile, nothing at all was too much trouble. And when we had arranged lunch at a pub in a neighbouring village for the Saturday afternoon, some of the fantastic staff even offered to drive our group over there in lieu of taxis!

Overall I can not rate our stay highly enough, the B&B was perfect for our needs and we felt we had had a real break away. The beds were divine, the rooms spotless, the service outstanding and the food was just wonderful. But what really made it special was the fantastic team. From all of our group, a massive thumbs up and a huge thank you for ensuring our stay was perfect!

Incidentally, anyone considering a visit to this part of the country or indeed this B&B would be hard pushed to find better accommodation- or better entertainment that Giffords Circus, both family and adult friendly and spectacular in my book! :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireRose123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed for the weekend with another couple in courtyard rooms. The rooms were quiet and we weren't really affected by improvement works taking place in the courtyard area. I'm not sure how long those will take and I've only given 4 out of 5 as my feeling is that it could be done out of season. The room was spacious and the food great. The staff are friendly and the setting is very relaxed. We were lucky with the weather and so were able to sit outside looking across the village green until the light faded. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the courtyard are quiet. Room 12 is at the end of the courtyard block upstairs and has win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DawnieC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We loved our stay here! The pub overlooks the village green and a stream. We had a quiet courtyard room with a super kingsize bed - if you want an overhead shower, be sure to ask! We only had a hand shower which was not ideal for us. However everything else was perfect. We explored the small village and fields with the church bells ringing in the background. We had a really good dinner in the atmospheric pub (you must try the apple tarte tatin!). Also a good substantial breakfast to send us on our way.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mary689_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorks
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed here 7th -9th June in Room 9 situated in the courtyard. Very efficient and friendly staff especially the very pleasant guy who checked us in and also took our dinner order in the restaurant. We stayed in Room 9 in the courtyard, a large extremely comfortable superking room with high quality bedlinen and furnishings. The restaurant served superb food from a varied menu with localy sourced produce. Breakfast again was delicious. There was a slight problem with the toaster which was very slow and then failed completely but after a few minutes and attempts by other guests and staff to get it working it started again -we all had a laugh and everyone got their toast ! The bar area is very typical of an old inn with lots of character and has been well restored.There are also tables and chairs outside facing the picturesque village green.
We have stayed here before and of course I have already made another reservation. This must be one of the best small hotels in the Cotswolds

Room Tip: All the rooms are different. We always stay in the the courtyard where some rooms are situated on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pandja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We booked last minute as the sun decided to show its face and had the last room which was very clean and had everything we needed. We had a lovely stay and were made very welcome especially by Archie who works like a trooper keeping everyone happy. Breakfast menu had everything you could want and I would highly recommend their scrambled egg. The food was wonderful and they were very obliging if we wanted something altered with a dish - excellent! The ambience is delightful inside and outside. You can sit out the front and look over the green and watch the world go by and all your troubles seem to drift away - perfect!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenP3461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We had a two night break at the Kings Head, what a great choice. The location was perfect. The accomodation was was excellent spotlessley clean with very comfortable bed with good quality furnishings. The staff were friendly and efficent. The restaurant served a varied menu of very good quality. All in all an excellent choice

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bledington
5.4 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,056 reviews
3.5 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
955 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
693 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,158 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head Inn

Property: The King's Head Inn
Address: The Green, Bledington OX7 6XQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Bledington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bledington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The King's Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 16 th Century Cider House this is the classic Cotswold Inn on the village green that warms the soul as soon as you see it .Excellent food ,well kept Ales and twelve delightful bedrooms combined with a priceless atmosphere give you the complete Cotswold Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King`s Head Hotel Bledington
The King's Head Inn Bledington, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing