We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous, As Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The King's Head Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Bledington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Marvellous, As Ever”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Yet again we had a truly lovely time in this old timbered inn. We have stayed here around 20 times over the years and it always lives up to our expectations. The rooms in the courtyard are particularly weel-appointed, comfortable and warm. The beer is always kept in tip-top condition and the food is interesting and well-cooked. Indeed we felt the food had actually even improved a little.

It is a cosy, romantic place with a wonderful inglenook fireplace. It oozes charachter and has not been "designed to death" -it retains its old world charm. Together with the Olive House in Rutland this is our top UK Pub of the hundreds we have stayed in!

Room Tip: courtyard rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    97
    33
    12
    3
See reviews for
31
210
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Friendly, helpful staff. Fantastic room, comfy bed, lovely bath, watch your head around hotel! Dined in the restaurant in the evening, food was fantastic. Breakfast lovely also, lots of choice. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dts1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm County, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights in late November and had dinner and breakfast in the pub both days. We were looking for a cosy pub for a quiet getaway, and good base for some country walks during the day. The Kings Head was just perfect. With its open fire which burns all day, quiet green location in Bledington, low ceilings and hearty food, it suit the bill perfectly.
In terms of the accommodation, it was the best of all the pubs we stayed in on our trip in this area. The room was big, warm and beautifully renovated. The shower was hot. The bed was super comfortable. We woke up looking out over fields with cows and sheep. Lovely.
The pub had a great vibe, with a good mix of visitors and locals. The food was really good and hearty. Not fine dining, but good pub grub, as expected.
Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the more newly renovated rooms up the back, which were quiet and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A_och_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The Kings Head is just about the ultimate English country pub. Low ceilings, real fires, warm service and gourmet style food.
We stayed two nights and ate in the restaurant on both evenings. Great food, well presented. Thoroughly recommended

Room Tip: We preferred to eat in the bar area as the restaurant is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Just what I had been looking for. A relaxing weekend in the Cotswolds. The food was so good the first night we decided to eat in the second night too.
One small criticism - the window in the diningroom should be better draught proofed. We asked to move as did customers on the next night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Palinurus82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed at The Kings Head Inn by myself for 2 nights whilst shooting at a nearby farm with friends. The Inn is warm, toasty and welcoming and the location is quite picturesque. Even on a Sunday night it was busy despite it being off the beaten track. My courtyard room was spacious, warm and well-equipped. Pleasingly the bed was extremely comfortable. I ate dinner on the first night and was impressed with both the quality of the food and the excellent service. Breakfast on both mornings was a real treat. I could not fault any aspect of my stay and I will be back next year

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EXPILOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Since our stay we must have recommended this Inn to at least 2 dozen more of our friends. We could not praise it enough. We were looking for a country pub with good rooms and excellent food in front of an open fire. We were not at all disappointed the whole weekend was perfection. The food was outstanding, the room very comfortable and the Inn itself idyllic. My favourite was the little bantam chickens roaming free in the grounds - so cute.
We are keen walkers and the walks in the area were great. We hope to be back soon,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bledington
3.5 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Swan Inn
The Swan Inn
#1 of 15 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head Inn

Property: The King's Head Inn
Address: The Green, Bledington OX7 6XQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Bledington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bledington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The King's Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 16 th Century Cider House this is the classic Cotswold Inn on the village green that warms the soul as soon as you see it .Excellent food ,well kept Ales and twelve delightful bedrooms combined with a priceless atmosphere give you the complete Cotswold Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King`s Head Hotel Bledington
The King's Head Inn Bledington, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing