We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The King's Head Inn
Nearby Hotels
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa(Stow-on-the-Wold)(Great Value!)
US$203
US$192
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheep on Sheep Street(Stow-on-the-Wold)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Unicorn Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
US$273
US$266
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lamb Inn(Shipton under Wychwood)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Slaughters Manor House(Lower Slaughter)
US$770
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dial House Hotel(Bourton-on-the-Water)
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$273
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fosse Manor Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chester House Hotel(Bourton-on-the-Water)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
230
116
39
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
116
39
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubvillage greencourtyard roomhand heldlovely cotswoldinglenook fireplaceboth nightsselection of beersopen firelow ceilingskipperscomfortable roomsvaried menurisottolovely locationwine listshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I think the Top line sums it up really, the Food (and beer / spirit / wine selection) was top notch, the staff very friendly and attentive. It's just the rooms were a little lacking, especially the bathroom. I checked through a couple of recent reviews, and seen others before me have mentioned the mould in the bathroom, (maybe the same room!) and there was no real shower facility! there was shower head on the taps but no shower curtain, so you couldn't effectively shower ! I may be being over fussy, but with such excellence in the other areas, I felt disappointed they'd not kept on top of the bathrooms. I'd still return and would still heartily recommend a night at the King's Head Inn. Just stay in the Bar area till tired !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dizzydisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

As usual, very friendly. Accommodation of high standard. A pity that the menu did not cater for a wider range of tastes. We stayed 3 nights, and on two of those the main courses were not as good as on our previous visits.However, breakfasts were excellent.

Room Tip: We like the courtyard rooms
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bribet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed for one night in Feb 2014. We stayed on the dinner b&b deal. The staff were excellent as was the food. Even if we paid full price for our meal I still would have left happy; as it was, getting a third off our bill thanks to the deal meant we thought it excelled. I had the pigs head fritters which, despite the rather odd sounding title were really good. My wife had a deep fried crispy hens egg which was still runny in the middle. Very clever. The wood pigeon was also great but would have been improved if it were served on a plate and not a wooden board as it was very difficult to carve and pour gravy onto!

Our room was large and cleaned by room service to a good standard. The view over the courtyard is nice too. In places I felt the room needed freshening up, for example there was mould on the ceiling in the bathroom over the shower and also on some of the pipes in the bathroom presumably due to condensation. Some of the decor was a bit tired too like the windowsills and woodwork. It was still a nice room but would have been improved by someone spending half a day with a bit of sandpaper and paint in there. The mattress was also a bit uncomfy.

The breakfast was superb and matched the evening meal in terms of quality and choice. The breakfast room is a nice place to sit although when we were eating there were loud builders on the plastic roof literally above our head which was a little annoying at times. It would have been better if breakfast was served in the restaurant or, if the builders were prevented working on that area until 9:15 when breakfast is over. Just a thought.

Overall though; really good and I would stay again. If you do stay, you must eat there because that's a lot of what this place is all about.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aquaman81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Yet again we had a truly lovely time in this old timbered inn. We have stayed here around 20 times over the years and it always lives up to our expectations. The rooms in the courtyard are particularly weel-appointed, comfortable and warm. The beer is always kept in tip-top condition and the food is interesting and well-cooked. Indeed we felt the food had actually even improved a little.

It is a cosy, romantic place with a wonderful inglenook fireplace. It oozes charachter and has not been "designed to death" -it retains its old world charm. Together with the Olive House in Rutland this is our top UK Pub of the hundreds we have stayed in!

Room Tip: courtyard rooms are quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jamiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Friendly, helpful staff. Fantastic room, comfy bed, lovely bath, watch your head around hotel! Dined in the restaurant in the evening, food was fantastic. Breakfast lovely also, lots of choice. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dts1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews