We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The King's Head Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Bledington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay here with my wife and some friends to attend a nearby wedding. The pub is situated in a beautiful village in the Cotswolds. The staff, without exception, were possibly the most friendly and welcoming I have ever experienced without being too OTT - pitched just right. Nothing was too much trouble. Special thanks to Dave and Rob for 'beyond the call of duty' assistance with transport arrangements.The food was excellent - really good quality and presented beautifully. And all accompanied by a nice selection of 4 really good real ales. We will be back - we haven't sampled the wine list yet!!! :o)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I felt compelled to write a review after having such a lovely meal last night. We have eaten here many times but last night was fantastic. Really delicious food, a very attentive waiter , friendly owner and great atmosphere. We had a table where the baby could join us on the sofa and there was lots of room. Looking forward to my next chilli burger. :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Lara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Recently enjoyed lunch here midweek. Food was fresh, delicious and plentiful. Service was friendly and efficient. We hadn't been for ages and had forgotten how good it is so will be back again soon. Excellent value too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfromshipston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed in room 2 - the smallest and therefore one of the cheaper room , but had a lovely view on to the village green with lots of ducks !. Room 2 is in the old part of the Inn above the bar and is small but very pretty , we saw Room 1 which was empty and quite a bit more room but is a little dearer . This Inn is beautiful , it combines old beams , low ceilings (in places) with lovely cream decor and crisp white bedding with big baths and lots of lovely towels . I loved it and prefererred the old rooms above the pub to the newer court yard rooms , someone mentioned the noise from the bar - I definitely didn't think this was any problem at all , we stayed a busy Friday night and I loved listening to the very very low rumble of voices after we had gone up to bed . Breakfast was one of the best cooked breakfast I have ever had and we also had a lovely evening meal which was excellent . I also loved chilling around the a Pubs log fire on a late wet afternoon after having a great walk through another pretty village - Kingham then on to Daylesford Organic farm and shop for lunch . Staff were superb and always ready to help . Thank you Kings Head for a lovely break .

Room Tip: If you don't mind quirky shaped rooms and low beams go for the old rooms in the Inn itself , ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally1234798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was a last minute booking found in Sawdays.
The location was perfect, facing the village green, and convenient for visiting the various Cotswold towns.
We were booked in room 9 in the courtyard. The room itself was comfortable but the bathroom quite small although adequate.
The staff were friendly and could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable.
You could choose to eat in either the dining room or the bar and we chose the latter.
It had plenty of character with a log fire at one end and a great atmosphere.
We could not praise the food enough, it was wonderful. So much so, we ate there on both nights and tried their Sunday roast which was enormous.
Overall, a very memorable weekend and a place we would definitely stay at again.
If the bathroom had been bigger, we would have awarded a 5.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are quieter than those in the main building according to Sawdays book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcall43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The bedroom was very comfortable,bathroom could do with a shower cubicle as it was huge and only had a bath with hand held shower and in this day and age most people want a shower not a bath.
The evening menu was a let down and we found the meals very pretentious and overpriced [Getting very little for a lot of money] also I find this trend of food being served on chopping boards and slates ridiculous!! Please bring back proper meals on proper plates.
One of our party complained about a steak being chewy and very tough.. in fact inedible, no apologies were given just asked if he wanted anything else,but as we had already waited 30 mins and nothing else appealed on the menu he had to go without a meal.
On checkout the cost of this meal still appeared on the bill and we asked for it to be removed!
Not very good customer service!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank grumpyoldgits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

As regular visitors to Gloucestershire over the years, we thought we'd try a new location and The King's Head turned out to be an excellent choice. The welcome, attentive staff, wide range of beers and wines, broad menu, first rate bedroom with a view over the delightful green fully met our expectations.
The meals were all good. We stayed for a long weekend, and eyedeebees do like a good quiz. Although thoroughly outgunned by all the teams of six, it was huge fun as some 70 or so turned out to play on a Sunday night, with a first class beef curry served as well.
The stay was helped by some excellent walking weather, and we covered 8 miles on Saturday, 4 on Sunday, by which time we were quite bushed. The return to The King's Head was most welcoming. We will return.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank eyedeebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bledington
3.9 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#1 of 1 in Shipton under Wychwood
235 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
214 reviews
18.8 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,879 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Swan Inn
The Swan Inn
#1 of 15 in Burford
265 reviews
12.5 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#3 of 31 in Cirencester
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head Inn

Address: The Green, Bledington OX7 6XQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Bledington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bledington
Price Range: £98 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The King's Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 16 th Century Cider House this is the classic Cotswold Inn on the village green that warms the soul as soon as you see it .Excellent food ,well kept Ales and twelve delightful bedrooms combined with a priceless atmosphere give you the complete Cotswold Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King`s Head Hotel Bledington
The King's Head Inn Bledington, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing