We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Girly weekend- perfect for spa and shopping” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chesterton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Girly weekend- perfect for spa and shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We had booked 3 rooms for 5 of us (originally supposed to be 6) for a one night spa break via Secret Escapes. I came prepared, printed off the booking, just in case the hotel's view was different from the deal we had booked. But everything was just as booked. We had a seamless check in. We were directed to our rooms and the spa. We enjoyed a lovely time at the spa.
We had wanted treatments and had called earlier in the week to book but everything was fully booked up. However, we still had a good time in the spacious jacuzzi, pool, steam room and sauna.
During check in, the receptionist asked us what time we wanted a table for dinner. We gave her a time. After our spa session we went to our rooms to get ready for dinner, one of my friends went to double check the time for our table booking and was told that we didnt have a booking. My friend manage to sort it out and was told that since there was only 5 of us, they will be able to "squeeze us in". That annoyed me, seeing that we did originally make the booking but luckilly when we had dinner we didn't feel "squeezed in".
The food was gorgeous and value for money. Our booking included a bottle of house wine per room. The hotel had a good selection of house wines, so we really felt like we had a good deal with our 3 bottles between the 5 of us.
The next day we each had an English breakfast, after such a delicious dinner, I was disappointed that breakfast wasn't of the same high standards. The bacon was really salty and tasted cheap.
Overall though, we had such a lovely spa break and we continued our break at Bicester village for some shopping. It was only a 10 minutes drive with free parking.
I would definitely stay here again, the rooms were nice and spacious and the staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Book your spa treatments as soon as you book your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    285
    162
    80
    66
See reviews for
135
351
25
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had booked 2 rooms for 5 of us on a Spa weekend. The welcome was good, the rooms were clean & big enough (even ours with a Z-Bed squeezed in), the food was tasty, the pool & spa area were great and the treatments were lovely.
We even managed to borrow 5 champagne glasses & an ice bucket so that we could drink bubbly in our room while we got ready for dinner....
I would happily stay there again

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 1927Pippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel in march to celebrate a milestone birthday and had an amazing time. I couldnt complain about anything. So we decided to come back and here i am writing this review laying in a bed of one of the rooms very disappointed! Upon arrival today we was not greeted in a very polite or friendly way unlike last time. The man on reception failed to even lift a smile and took an 1 hour to get us checked in. Once finally getting to our room we were less than impressed. The carpet is covered in unsightly stains the toilet and bathroom were disgusting and clearly hadnt been cleaned and the fold out bed is so thin and uncomfortable its not suitable for anyone to sleep on. Putting all that a side we then headed to the restaurant for dinner...very unorganised this was. After being shown to our table we were given the menus....the choice of food is not great a tall and is very overpriced for what it is also doesnt taste great and the dessert fruit tart pastry was undercooked and just utterly disgusting. Our table was placed in the corner and as u do u look around and notice things...in this case today there are cob webs hanging from the ceiling with spiders very off putting the funiture is badly stained....i could go on! On a positive note the spa here is lovely and so are the spa staff. Facilites are clean nice and very relaxing a good selection of treatments offered and by experienced staff. Its a real shame to be writing such a negative review after such a wonderful stay in march but the hotel and its staff have definately drastically gone down hill! After all this and only being here a few hours i went to reception and listed my issues and asked for a complaint form in which one doesnt exist....i wonder why! I have been told to go back in the morning...i just hope i get a decent night sleep after such a bad day!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jfcep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had our wedding here on August Bank Holiday weekend 2013. We had previously been let down by another venue only 6 weeks before the wedding. We spoke with the hotel and they helped us out immensely. The wedding, despite teh very short notice was incredible. We had a fantastic evening and there isn't a single thing I would have changed, with perhaps the only exception being the bad head in the morning! The venue was stunning. The staff were on hand at all times. The organisation was fantastic and the food was perfect and exactly what we wanted. We certainly didn't go short on anything. The bar prices are exceptionally reasonable for a hotel such as this, comparable to local pub prices. The grounds of the hotel are really nice as well. The room we had was a great room. It looked out across some of the golf course. Not that I play golf at all! Heated floor in the bathroom was a seriously nice touch. My wife had a spa day the week before and she said that was fantastic. I can't thank everyone at the hotel enough for how they came through for uswhen we had trouble with a previous venue. I was genuinely moved by the whole thing. Sadly we missed the breakfast in the morning but those that did have it have told me it was good. Despite the hangover in the morning the whole thing was fantastic and I would recommend the hotel to anyone. It is defintely worth it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLardmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I took my daughter for a spa weekend (Mid Oct 2013) and was very very impressed. Lovely Spa, Great Treatments, therapists very experienced, friendly and professional, Pool/Jazuzzi/Steam/Sauna all perfect, free Newspapers and Magazines around to read whilst relaxing on the loungers. We had a day in the spa on the first day and then a day in Bicester Shopping outlet on the second day (where our 10% off vouchers the hotel gave us came in very handy) We went for the spa weekend deal, had two treatments each and Breakfast and evening meal on both days (you get a budget of £26 per person per eve meal) this doesn't include drinks. Rooms are standard in decoration, but beds were lovely and one of the most comfortable I have slept on in a hotel, and bathrooms very nice. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall a great stay, would recommend and go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Like another poster here I booked this through secret escapes for my husband's birthday - was great, we checked in and got the VIP card which gives you 10% off at Bicester village. We went off and shopped and then came back to hotel for round of golf. Husband soldiered on for seven holes but weather was awful so we gave up! Room was really nice and spacious and clean, we ran out of teabags (only two normal ones) but they brought more up which was nice. We went out into the town for dinner and cinema (new complex, not all restaurants open yet but cinema nice) so didn;t have time to check out the spa etc but looked really nice. Got back and realised we'd forgotten toothpaate and the receptionist lady helpfully brought up a little travel set which was great.
Had a lovely breakfast - the lady in charge was excellent and really friendly, great cooked breakfast, not at all greasy and nice portion and then we departed! It's a great hotel that's about five mins from bicester village and seven mins from the town. Would recommend and would definitely go again if only to use the spa!!

Room Tip: We had superior room so don;t know about regular ones but it was fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rb1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Really enjoyed a short (4 day) stay at the Bicester Hotel. The golf course is beautiful. I only wish I'd had the time to play a round. The hotel is upscale but comfortable - functional not luxurious. The front desk team was very responsive and helpful. The room was excellent. Very comfortable. Nicely appointed. Great view of the golf course. It is a very quiet place. The breakfast was very good. The service was excellent - quick and attentive. We really enjoyed the sports bar. Great place for an afternoon snack or a light dinner. Very friendly staff. The Spa was excellent. Appointments were right on time. The environment was very good - very relaxing. It was time well spent. One thing to consider is that while there are many things within 5 to 10 miles the hotel itself is definitely out in the country. It would be hard to find without GPS. If you want something in town this isn't it - however, if you want a beautiful countryside and a relaxing environment this is perfect. Add to that the golf course, the gym and the spa this is more of a destination location. If would make for an excellent long weekend if you lived close by.

Room Tip: From what I could tell the rooms seemed rather evenly matched.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterton
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bicester Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bignell Park Hotel
Bignell Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chesterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The King's Arms Hotel & Restaurant
12.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
12.6 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa

Property: Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa
Address: Akeman Street | Bicester, Chesterton OX26 1TH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chesterton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chesterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bicester Hotel offers chic hotel accommodation, a luxury health club and spa, an 18 Hole Golf Course, a comprehensive range of conference & banqueting facilities and equipment, free wi-fi throughout the premises, excellent restaurants to suit every taste and occasion, a sports bar showing all major sporting events and our own OFSTED registered creche. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicester Hotel, Golf Hotel Chesterton
Bicester Country Hotel
Bicester Country Resort
Bicester Hotel, Golf And Spa Chesterton, Oxfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing