We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located food excellent staff helpful and friendly”
Review of Bignell Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bignell Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chesterton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

A small refrigerator in the room would be helpful but that is a niggle enjoyed stay staff friendly and helpful food excellent and service very speedy both dinner and breakfast also enjoyed a treatment and again staff friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mhldavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found all the staff friendly and helpful, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had a voucher for a 2 night stay with dinner allowance and massage, and arrived with some trepidation after reading the reviews. We needn't have worried. Set in a charming and peaceful location within a stones throw of places to visit, this is a traditional hotel. As long as you are not expecting a boutique experience, you will find comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and linen, comfortable lounge areas, willing and friendly staff, and wonderful food. No pub grub here - a limited but tasty menu with good wines at reasonable prices. It was just what we needed to refresh our batteries.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel. It is great to hear that you found our rooms clean and comfortable, the food good, and our staff friendly and helpful, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Efficiently booked in and went to a very comfortable ,well equipped room. Very large bathroom where the bath had obviously been taken out ( this I personally prefer) and replaced with a shower in half the space.Lacked a shelf or anywhere to put toilet bags etc. -= on top of loo!!
As on a voucher had an allowance towards dinner which was fair but not a lot of choice and would only cover 2 courses. Served by 2 very pleasant young girls but there English was difficult to understand.
Breakfast was not great - only warm - but did tell the charming lady waitress- and the next morning everything was fine.Very quiet in Dining room which was a bit odd.
Had a massage with which I was not impressed as next day back aching - I have them regularly so knew something amiss afterwards.
Took ages to check out as the lady was on the phone taking more bookings .

Room Tip: Several on ground floor - 21/22 next to marquee where weddings/events obviously held.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THIRSTYSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel. It is good to hear that your arrival was efficiently checked in by reception and that your room was comfortable. Our restaurant menu is an A la Carte Menu of varing prices. Dependent upon the selection, it is possible to take 3 courses for the value of the voucher. Guests do have the option to select more expensive choices and pay the diiference should they wish. I would like to offer my apologies for your dis-satisfaction with the massage. It is extremely rare for us to have negative feedback concerning this, our therapist being highly qualified and experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Nice hotel in quite location. Stayed while on business in area so eat in resturant. Was not happy with drink served at bar (cloudy larger) but young girl not understanding of my complaint. Had steak in resturant which i feel was over priced, choice of menu limited. However happy with room which was large and had all requirements. Breakfast in morning also good freshly cooked with waitress more understanding of how service should be in a hotel.

Room Tip: Check about strength of wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel. It is pleasing to note your positive comments regarding your room and breakfast. Our restaurant manu changes regularly, and for guests wishing a different selection, we also have a lounge and room service menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I have just returned with my friend from 2 nights at this hotel. We were able to go because there was a special deal through Amazon. We really needed a rest, and to be both looked after and pampered. The Bignell Park came up trumps.

The hotel is set in very peaceful and green surroundings.
The staff on reception; in particular, Clare, who really put herself out for us, and Lindsay , were friendly and obliging. The breakfast waitress, Debbie, was pleasant, attentive and really efficient, so we got what we wanted.. and didn't have to wait a long time for it. The hotel owner/manager (whose name, I am afraid, I did not ask,) recommended for a local Indian restaurant which was excellent.

Our room (number 21) was well-decorated, big and had all the things I look for in a hotel room (except, perhaps, enough artificial light). It had plenty of wardrobe and cupboard space, beautifully comfortable beds, a full length mirror, tea and coffee etc facilities...which were correctly placed near an electric socket and a little bin..so there was no need to mess about or cause a danger by boiling the kettle on the floor, and convenience for throwing away used tea bags. It had an enormous, well-equipped and well designed bathroom with plenty of really hot water.
The breakfast was lovely. Our deal included one dinner in the hotel's restaurant. This was superb.

I had booked for us to have a massage (which was subsidized because of the deal). We agreed that the experience was heavenly. Thank you, again, Rachel.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel, and my friend and I intend to go back as often as possible.

Room Tip: Room 21 (a twin room) wont disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel, with your positive comments.

It is always pleasing to know that the staff have done everything to ensure that our guests have enjoyed their stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We booked this hotel on a two night deal which included breakfast and a massage for a good price but were a bit concerned by some of the negative reviews on Tripadvisor. We should not have been. The hotel was great and we had a lovely stay.
The staff are very friendly and when we arrived we were told our deal included an evening meal on one night, which we were not aware of. This made our stay even more of a bargain.
Our room was large and clean, with a good TV, a comfortable bed and a nice bathroom. It was big enough to move the bed a bit and add a table and two chairs, which would be even better.
The grounds of the hotel are very nice and handy for our dog. The location is good, on the edge of a small village a few miles from Oxford.
The evening meal and breakfast were fine, but could have been better. Some of the ingredients did not seem to be of the highest quality. Also our waitress at breakfast on the second day was very polite and friendly but her English was poor. This led to a few mix ups with some of the orders.
This is a very good hotel which will get better as changes are made. It may also get more expensive as its reputation grows. The owners seem to have big plans for it and it has the potential. I would recommend this hotel, especially at the prices we paid.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RobChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We recently held a family celebration in Bignell Park Hotel and everything was very good. The staff, especially Sharon, Lindsay and Barbara, could not have been more polite and helpful and the Head Chef and his team provided food of a high standard that was served in a timely manner. The restaurant had been prepared for our party and the cutlery, glassware and the table linen were pristine. All of our guests were delighted, including two children, and the celebration was enhanced further by good weather which meant that the gardens could be enjoyed. We had visited this hotel about three years ago and were not impressed at that time, although we only had a coffee and a chat with the then manager. It has improved immensely. Not only did the staff do all that they could to make our visit memorable, they did so with a smile and were clearly happy to do so.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Braynho39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterton
2.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
650 reviews
1.7 mi away
The King's Arms Hotel & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Bicester hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,672 reviews
8.3 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
730 reviews
12.6 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bignell Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bignell Park Hotel

Address: | Nr Bicester, Chesterton OX26 1UE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chesterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chesterton
Price Range: £60 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bignell Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful hotel, wedding venue and award-winning restaurant situated in the village of Chesterton, Oxfordshire. Bignell Park Hotel offers unique charm and character, whilst providing modern facilities to ensure the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, our services and facilities are tailored to meet your individual needs. We offer 22 uniquely styled, beautiful rooms, an award-winning restaurant Oaks, tailored meeting rooms and a charmingly romantic wedding venue. The hotel offers unbroken views across the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, whilst being conveniently located only minutes from the M40 motorway. Only five minutes from designer shopping outlet Bicester Village, Bignell Park Hotel is the perfect place to stay and relax after a long day's shopping. Bignell Park Hotel provides guests with a unique, quintessentially English experience. Situated in the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside and enjoying magnificent views, the Bignell Park Hotel offers quality hotel accommodation and is the perfect location for exploring the very best of English heritage and beauty. We look forward to welcoming you to the Bignell Park Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bignell Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bignell Park Chesterton
Bignell Park Hotel Chesterton, Oxfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing