We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bignell Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bignell Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chesterton
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beautiful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We booked the Emerald package which included champagne, chocolates on arrival, bed, breakfast & a 3 course a la carte evening meal plus a free bottle of house wine, our choice.
We got all this without asking or wanting. Entering our room we had champagne & chocolates, the room was beautiful,lovely bed, leather sofa and coffee table. 10/10 for cleanliness.
The hotel for me was situated in a lovely location, nice and quiet, nice bar, lounge, friendly staff.
Evening meal was lovely,small portions but more then enough if you have a 3 course meal.
We had breakfast also on the morning, could help yourself to cereals,juices,yogurt,fruits etc-also a full English breakfast included with tea/coffee, toast.
Our purpose for the trip was bicester village this did not disappoint us..a nice place to visit if you enjoy shopping and like a bargain on clothes.
If i was asked Id recommend this hotel to anyone for a short break..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel.

It is most pleasing to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. As you mention, we are extremely convenient for Bicester Village, whilst at the same time being in a quiet, rural location, and also have 10% discount vouchers for the outlets available for all of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bignell Park Hotel in the future when once again we hope you enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    135
    69
    35
    24
See reviews for
50
236
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Myself and my husband had a fantastic stay at Bignell Park. We booked a two night break to go shopping at Bicester Village and on arrival we were given a discount voucher for the village that more than paid for our stay at the hotel. The staff were lovely and our room was large with a four poster bed. The bar had a relaxing atmosphere and the food in the restaurant was very good, so over all a thoroughly enjoyable weekend. Mr & Mrs Moore

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We booked it through Secret Escapes with an upgrade to a family room which was supposed to be larger. When we booked in at 4.00pm we were given room 31 on the ground floor - it was like opening the door to a fridge - it was freezing, quite a dark room as it only had two wall lights and no ceiling lights and a suspicious stain on the carpet so we went back to reception and told them we could not stay there as we were booked in for 2 nights. We were immediately given a room on the first floor 37 and this was an entirely different matter - large, lots of lighting and a high ceiling, a leather settee etc. So we were very happy but it was still freezing and the same applied to the corridors - none of the radiators were on. We complained to Reception and so did another couple who had just arrived with a little girl. Reception said they would try and do something but what actually happened was this hotel (in November) had the heating set on timers and it did not come on in the afternoon until 6.00 pm. We asked if they could override it and they promised to try.....it didn't happen. We did complain about this because we said you cannot expect your guests to be cold in their rooms. The breakfasts were lovely and the staff very helpful. We did not find any member of staff who was impolite - all of them were great. However, as I have food allergies, and we had booked for dinner on the Friday night, there was no offer from the chef to adapt any of the dishes and out of 5 starters - I could not have any. They told me I could only have steak or lamb from the main with chips.....I was not impressed with this and therefore I would not recommend this restaurant to anybody. It is the sign of a good chef/restaurant if they can accommodate any special allergies or food requirements. This hotel is not one of them. The meal was included in our price on the first night but we did not eat there after that. The bathroom was a bit tired and the grouting was a little suspect. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable. So, put the heating on please for your guests.....they have paid for it. Also at the bar they had no beer on tap....so it looks like the taps are only there for show.....Other than that - thank you to the lovely staff - we did enjoy the weekend.

Room Tip: Please ask for a room on the 1st floor - definitely not room 31 on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel.

Your original room, 31 is in fact an Executive Double room, as advertised on the Secret Escapes promotion and for which you had paid. Room 37 which you were subsequently allocated is a Family room and was upgraded for you free of charge. I would like to thank you for your comments regarding the carpet. Our carpets are 'sea grass' which can not be cleaned normally. All of our bedroom carpets had been specially cleaned in late October. Unfortunately this particular room had since been stained, and has now been rectified.
With regard to the heating. It is common practice in hotels to have the heating on timers as is ours. We are able to over-ride the system when required to immediately switch the heating on.
Both the main bar and Marquee bar do have lager and bitter on draught. The main bar also has draught Guinness.
Having been notified in advance about your food allergy, you were greeted outside the restaurant by both the restaurant manager and Head Chef. The Head Chef discussed our menu at your table in the restaurant with you explaining which dishes were suitable, and modifications he could make to other dishes. Had you expressed an interest in dining on the second evening, he would willingly have made suggestions for you.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the breakfast and our staff. The staff consistently receive praise from our guests, surpassing their expectations and making their stay memorable, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bignell Park Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed here with my mum for a girly weekend - we got a voucher on Wowcher for it which is how we heard about it. A very well bought voucher, it was a really lovely and charming stay and perfect for what we wanted.

The hotel - A really pretty building in a charming setting, very simply and tastefully decorated - not overly luxurious.

The room - We were in the old building and by the looks of it there is a newer extension. Our room was therefore very old and quaint. It was not massive and overly luxurious but it had everything we needed and was comfortable and pretty. We weren't looking for a massive room as it was only really for sleeping in - we wanted to visit the area. There were facilities for making tea and coffee which was nice too. The bathroom was clean and also not huge but it all worked well.

The staff- They were lovely and very friendly. The majority of them were very accommodating and waitressed well in the restaurant for breakfast/dinner.

Breakfast - Was very tasty and there was a wide range of cold things to have. The cooked breakfast was also delicious, nice quality meat and ingredients and good portions - really worth the money. I was stuffed after both breakfasts which is good :)

Dinner - We chose to eat in the restaurant for one evening as the menu looked lovely and it did not disappoint. Easily one of the tastiest meals I have ever eaten, the portions weren't huge so could fully benefit from 3 courses but each dish was delicious. I would greatly recommend eating here as it is not that expensive for the quality of the meal you will eat. The dining room is also a gorgeous and romantic room.

Spa - We both had full body massages which were incredible. AMAZING - I can't say any more.

Location - Very well located for Bicester and Bicester village - and oxford too. but only if you have a car! I would not suggest staying here if you want to walk places as it will take you a while.

Overall - We had a lovely stay, very relaxing and special. If you want a luxury hotel experience then this is probably not the best place to go but it is really cute and romantic for those not set on having a posh stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old part of the building are very gorgeous and quaint - definite bonus for me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bignell Park Hotel.

I am delighted to note you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and found the rooms to be clean and tastefully furnished.

It is especially pleasing to note your positive comments regarding the staff and high quality of food, all of which is prepared on-site by our award winning chefs from fresh produce.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bignell Park Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Quiet location, yet excellent for visiting oxford and bicester village,the staff could not be more helpful, a very relaxing atmosphere, there was a very good menu and the food was top quality,
We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sand679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel.

It is pleasing to note your positive comments regarding the staff and food, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Having stayed at the Bignell Park Hotel for two nights in October I can only describe this hotel as Pertinacious Expensive & Shabby.
On arrival the grounds, exterior & reception area make for a good first impression however once past this area the hotel is tired, dated, and lack-lust in appearance,
Having been given our key we precede towards our room passing the entrance to a marquee which was not in use at this time but the stairwell to our room on the first floor was packed with upturned tables from the marquee (possible fire hazard).
On entering our room we found it shabby in appearance mainly due to the retro style of decor 1980 , the chandelier above the bed had only two lights that worked plus one unwelcome guest in the form of a spider and its web draped nicely from the top post of our bed to the chandelier! A safe box that could not be closed due to a previous occupant leaving the door bolts in the locked position but door open! Both these things where reported to reception but was informed that nothing could be done till the following day given that maintenance had finished for the day, time been about 4.30pm.
Oh now let me tell you about the rail that hung form the wall with a shelf above to hang ones clothes from. , no expense spent on the luxuries like a wardrobe! But at the price of this room per night this was not the standard expected!.
On opening the bathroom door we found that like rest of the room the paintwork was chipped scraped with knots in the wood visible under the paint work, bath panel that did not fit the bath and a shower that was over the bath with one of those lovely stick to your bum plastic curtains to pull around. Mold in the grouting and filler used to seal the end of the bath rather than a cut tile.

Evening meal was pertinacious nouvelle cuisine that at best was luke warm & bland with bottle water costing £4.50.

wifi steam driven !

Room Tip: Stay at another Hotel...............
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 331steveP1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel.

I am sorry that you have not enjoyed your time here as evidenced by your comments. Perhaps, had you mentioned your concerns to my deputy who checked you out of the hotel when she asked if you had enjoyed your stay, the negatives could have been discussed at the time.

Having reviewed the Duty Manager's diary, I note that the safe and light-bulb were both rectified first thing the following morning. With the hotel being non-smoking in all areas, many of our guests prefer the ample storage available for clothes by our use of rails for hangers. I have discussed the cleanliness issues with our Head Housekeeper who has assured me that these have been addressed.

Your comments on the food in the restaurant are somewhat surprising when considering the fact that our Restaurant Manager had enquired with yourselves during service if everything was satisfactory with your meal and had not received any negative feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bignell Park Hotel in the future when I feel confident that your stay will be memorable for all the right reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We booked this hotel through secret escapes on a 2 night, dinner B&B with a 20 minute spa treatment each. Check in was smooth and pleasant. Our room was very nice and spacious with high vaulted ceiling. The lounge and bar area were good with decent free wifi access for my ipad although there was a problem connecting my phone. We were not the only ones to have this problem. Wifi in our room, number 29 was very hit and miss with miss being the most common result despite there being a router directly opposite our room. The room was rear facing and very quiet, in fact I don't remember hearing a single sound from outside. There was a marquee set up visible from our room which may have changed things but this was not used during our stay. The food for dinner was good although there wasn't a large choice but what we had was very well cooked and presented nicely. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice to appeal to all tastes although a number of options incurred a surcharge which I thought was not on. The bar menu was also a bit restricted but the food and the drinks are reasonably priced. My only real fault was the stagnant water smell in the corridor from reception to the rooms, this seemed much worse in the mornings. For our treatment we both had a 20 minute massage which was ok, although the room was very small with the beds up against the wall and we were both in there being massaged at the same time. I must finish this with a positive note and that is for the staff. Everyone was pleasant and professional and always had a smile for you when serving or in passing.They are all a credit to the hotel and are the reason this review is a 4 instead of a 3.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the food to be very good and the staff friendly and helpful. All of our food is prepared 'in-house' from fresh produce by our team of award winning chefs. The breakfast menu has a substantial choice, and as is common practice certain items such as scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, kippers and potato and bacon hash with a duck egg do carry a supplement. Should guests prefer not to select these items, there is still the opportunity to choose from the cold buffet in addition to a full English breakfast which is cooked to order. The musty smell in the corridor was the result of someone leaving the window open during a torrential downpour and has been addressed by our Head Housekeeper.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bignell Park Hotel in the near future when we once again hope you will enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterton
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bicester Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
2.7 mi away
The King's Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
12.6 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
13.4 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bignell Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bignell Park Hotel

Property: Bignell Park Hotel
Address: | Nr Bicester, Chesterton OX26 1UE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chesterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chesterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bignell Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful hotel, wedding venue and award-winning restaurant situated in the village of Chesterton, Oxfordshire. Bignell Park Hotel offers unique charm and character, whilst providing modern facilities to ensure the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, our services and facilities are tailored to meet your individual needs. We offer 22 uniquely styled, beautiful rooms, an award-winning restaurant Oaks, tailored meeting rooms and a charmingly romantic wedding venue. The hotel offers unbroken views across the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, whilst being conveniently located only minutes from the M40 motorway. Only five minutes from designer shopping outlet Bicester Village, Bignell Park Hotel is the perfect place to stay and relax after a long day's shopping. Bignell Park Hotel provides guests with a unique, quintessentially English experience. Situated in the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside and enjoying magnificent views, the Bignell Park Hotel offers quality hotel accommodation and is the perfect location for exploring the very best of English heritage and beauty. We look forward to welcoming you to the Bignell Park Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Bignell Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bignell Park Chesterton
Bignell Park Hotel Chesterton, Oxfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing