We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food!!! Lovely dining room! Divine chef!”
Review of Bignell Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bignell Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chesterton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amazing food!!! Lovely dining room! Divine chef!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for an inexpensive voucher weekend recently and was totally impressed with the dinner served up. We were lucky enough to be there on a really quiet night but the food was so exceptional we asked to congratulate the chef and discovered he had been working in some very swanky star studded eateries up until recently. Don't eat for a week before you go so you can do this stunning chef justice.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 186338SimoneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit, especially the ambiance and food in the restaurant, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    139
    75
    35
    29
See reviews for
56
246
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Fab location in a quite corner of Oxfordshire. The room we stayed in was Broadway a very large well equipped room. Stayed for two nights with breakfast included. Good quality ingredients used and very friendly staff. Would recommend and we will stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucky8832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel.

I am pleased to note that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, finding the staff friendly, food good and room comfortable, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soulbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I had my 60th birthday party at the Bignell Park. We had some minor concerns due to some negative comments on this site which proved to be totally unfounded. My response to this is, no matter what location you look at on TripAdviser, you will always find negative comments. People need to realise that when running a hotel, from time to time things will go wrong. Anyway here's my experience.

I had 120 guests. Right from the planning meetings with the management, nothing was too much trouble.

We used the permanent marquee which was really warm as an industrial heater was provided by the hotel. Additionally, the other areas of the hotel were made available. My guests used all the rooms in the hotel and all were very impressed with the quality.

The staff went above and beyond the call of duty in order to make the evening a massive success. Everything from the marquee, the bar, the food (which I shall cover separately), the accommodation and the on duty staff, was just fantastic.

With regard to the food, your kitchen team exceeded our expectations and we have had nothing but fantastic comments from all who attended. The meat in Irish Stew was amazing and the Colcannon very traditional. The curry and accompaniments also were a great hit. The breakfasts in the morning, which was surprisingly well attended considering the number of sore heads (mine included !!) were brilliant - all freshly cooked.

The rooms were excellent and enjoyed by all who stayed.

So in summary, you will probably guess that we had an amazing time thanks to all the Bignell Park Team. Please pass on our thanks to all involved.

I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel and please, be realistic about reviews on this site. People generally love to complain but are very slow to praise, which can give a very one sided view.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruckers54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent birthday and stay at Bignell Park Hotel.

I am delighted that all aspects of your event and stay were enjoyable and that you found all staff professional and friendly, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Just returned home after a two night break at the Bignell Park Hotel.
Our room was lovely, very clean.
Staff were great.
breakfast was so nice, fresh and the staff in the restaurant was one of the most friendliest person we have ever met.
Reception staff always had a smile and nothing seem to much for them, when asked if we could have more tea bags and milk, they quickly brought them to us and with a smile.
Can not wait to go back.

Room Tip: we just loved the room we got. and I am a fussy person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helen348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel.

It is always pleasing to know that guests have thoroughly enjoyed their stay, and thank you for your positive comments regarding the staff, food and room and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights as a romantic getaway. We were slightly sceptical with some of the poor reviews on here, but we need not have worried. All the staff were polite, attentive and smart. The hotel was spotlessly clean. We enjoyed a first class meal in the restaurant, which we could thoroughly recommend. The breakfast was superb too. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel.

It is pleasing to note that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, finding the staff, rooms and food to be of a high standard, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

On a recent family visit to Chesterton we decided to have dinner at the hotel as we were looking to stay there but fortunately no rooms were available. On arrival it was evident the hotel lacked any atmosphere. We had reviewed the sample menu on line and hoped the actual menu would be better. All 5 or 6 starter options were not to my taste so I was happy to pass, my partner had a bowl of olives with some soggy bread with a drizzle of olive oil. Other family members had pate with toast that was rock hard, so hard we couldn't stop laughing. The mains also were not to my taste (no chicken option) so the helpful waitress agreed that I could order the smaller steak option from the bar menu. Perfect I thought a medium/well ribeye steak. It came and went as fast as it was brought to me as completely rare. She kindly took it back and once again brought it back very bloody. I tried to eat this but even tho it wasn't cooked to how I asked for it, it was so fatty it wasn't worth the bother. This hotel does not serve a la carte food, it try's hard to be all fancy and fails miserably. Fortunately m & s saved the day with crisps & dips as I left starving !!! The hotel inspector would have a ball here !!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Plopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent meal at Bignell Park Hotel.

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal. Having reviewed the menu on-line, it is surprising that you expected a different menu upon arrival. It is pleasing to note that the staff were flexible in catering to your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

On arrival room was cold as heating was not put on and it was a cold wet evening. Our first dinner we both had a steak. I asked for Rare and my partner asked for well done. They both came out rare.
The night was worse as the floor boards to room above us were so thin or old we could hear every walking person and also the fan in their bathroom operating.
Second nights dinner my partner had steak well done again and this time it came out burnt !!! My prawn toast was so hard it could not be eaten.
Upon checkout they were trying to charge for three dinners, a bit difficult as we were only there for two nights.
Stay away from this hotel as its overrated and very bad value for you hard earned money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, and that the steak wasn't cooked to your liking. With regard to the prawn toast, we do not serve it, so I can only assume you had something else.

I am confident that the inaccuracies on your bill were swiftly rectified by reception and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterton
2.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
621 reviews
1.7 mi away
The King's Arms Hotel & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Bicester hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western The Jersey Arms Hotel
Best Western The Jersey Arms Hot...
#1 of 1 in Middleton Stoney
15 reviews
7.8 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,635 reviews
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Bicester Cherwell Valley M40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bignell Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bignell Park Hotel

Property: Bignell Park Hotel
Address: | Nr Bicester, Chesterton OX26 1UE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chesterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chesterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bignell Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful hotel, wedding venue and award-winning restaurant situated in the village of Chesterton, Oxfordshire. Bignell Park Hotel offers unique charm and character, whilst providing modern facilities to ensure the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, our services and facilities are tailored to meet your individual needs. We offer 22 uniquely styled, beautiful rooms, an award-winning restaurant Oaks, tailored meeting rooms and a charmingly romantic wedding venue. The hotel offers unbroken views across the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, whilst being conveniently located only minutes from the M40 motorway. Only five minutes from designer shopping outlet Bicester Village, Bignell Park Hotel is the perfect place to stay and relax after a long day's shopping. Bignell Park Hotel provides guests with a unique, quintessentially English experience. Situated in the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside and enjoying magnificent views, the Bignell Park Hotel offers quality hotel accommodation and is the perfect location for exploring the very best of English heritage and beauty. We look forward to welcoming you to the Bignell Park Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bignell Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bignell Park Chesterton
Bignell Park Hotel Chesterton, Oxfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing