We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel to visit”
Review of Bignell Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bignell Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chesterton
Certificate of Excellence
Downham Market
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great hotel to visit”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

I've visited this hotel on numerous business occasions over the past three years and stayed over on almost every visit. The staff are great and really do make you welcome as well as going out of their way to make your stay comfortable. The bedrooms are a good size, comfortable and with great showers. The food is good and well presented. The Manager, Clive, Assistant Manager, Sharon and Head Receptionist Una (I hope that is the correct spelling) are a great team and a marvellous advert for this hotel. If visiting Oxford, the Bicester Shopping Village or any of the other historic part of Oxfordshire, The Bignell Park Hotel is the perfect venue to base yourself.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your numerous visits to Bignell Park Hotel.

I have passed on your comments to all members of the team, who wish you well in your retirement and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    138
    75
    35
    29
See reviews for
55
246
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband took for for a birthday weekend stay at Bignell Park Hotel in January 2014. We stayed in the Leamington room.
The hotel and room were impressive. Our room had lovely high ceilings and was tastefully decorated. The bed was large and particularly comfortable which I appreciated being 5 months pregnant at the time. The only thing I would say though is the room did have an overpoweringly and somewhat slightly unpleasant smell to it. I'm not sure if it was just because being pregnant I was more sensitive to smells at the time, although my husband did point it out on one occasion when we returned to our room. I'm not sure if it was the smell of furniture or what, but I didn't find it too pleasant.
Also worth mentioning that the wifi connection is pretty poor to non-existent in the rooms, however, if you're looking to take a break from it all, it's ideal.
Worth mentioning that breakfast was pretty good. The only think I would say is that it would have been nice if it could ave run a little later in the mornings.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L4R4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in January at Bignell Park Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, especially the breakfast and room facilities and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have just returned from this hotel after a two night stay, as a disabled person in a wheelchair I was disappointed with the facilities for disabled access and bathroom. This is a lovely hotel set in a really nice part of Oxfordshire close to Bicester and Oxford. The room was nicely set up and the bed was absolute luxury. The down side for me was we booked it as a disabled access room but although the bathroom was wide enough for me gain entry there wasn't a single safety rail anywhere. The shower was impossible to access and the only way for me to shower was to sit on the floor and stretch up to the shower control. Surely if you rent out a room for disabled people it should have at least the bare minimum safety needs in place. This was the down side for me and unfortunately I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone with a disability.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel.

It is pleasing to note your positive comments regarding the hotel.

I have also noted your comments regarding disability access. The room you occupied is advertised as a disabled accessible room, which it is. I have, however taken your views on board and am currently investigating the most appropriate measures that we can take to improve facilities for disabled guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very attractive and has a lovely setting amid the green Oxfordshire countryside and tiny village of Chesterton. Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and bright. The food was delicious and we enjoyed our dinner very much, despite there being only one other table in. The staff were very friendly and helpful. And my hot stone massage was amazing, a lovely end to a very pleasant stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Peachykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

we were a party of four,staying two nights with a KGB deal.Plenty to eat at breakfast,a really good selection.We decided to have the evening meal on the first night.Unfortunately the prices were a bit steep to say the least for the quantity on the plate!The next night we decided to try the pub in the village.Great food and great Guiness! Bedrooms were large and clean ,bed comfortable.Staff were friendly and helpful so made you welcome.The hotel is ideally situated for Oxford.Only 15 minutes to the Water Eaton Park and Ride.We would all stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel.

It is especially pleasing to note that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and would definitely return in the future.

Our menu is an A la Carte Menu with portion sizes to enable the guests to enjoy the experience of a 3 course meal without feeling uncomfortable. There is also a separate Bar, Lounge and Room Service Menu for guests who would prefer something lighter.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future when it is hoped you will once again enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Cave, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a pleasant and enjoyable two night stay at the Bignell Park Hotel in Chesterton. An attractive hotel in a beautiful setting, located in a lovely village just outside Bicester. Superb facilities, excellent restaurant, made all the better by a friendly, welcoming and professional management and staff; Nothing was too much trouble for them. We also had our black Labrador with us who was made very welcome and enjoyed the local walks too!
We found this hotel to be an ideal base from which to explore the area with good local shopping and proximity to the towns of Oxford and Banbury.
We are looking forward to a return visit in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel.

Wow! What a great review, thank you for such positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your kind comments to the entire team to ensure they are aware that their efforts are appreciated.

I do hope you will be able to visit us again and experience even more of the same hospitality that we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Easy to find and a pleasant surprise as I drove in through the gates.
Large car park right by the enterance to the hotel and after a few steps I was in the reception.
A fast and easy check in was followed by a wander down the hall to a lovely junior suite.
The evenings meal was yet another surprise as the food was of a far superior standard than I had expected and was a true delight.
Thank you to Clive (the manager) and his team, I will be back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel.

It is pleasing to discover that you found both the food and service from staff of a high standard and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterton
2.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
619 reviews
1.7 mi away
The King's Arms Hotel & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Bicester hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bicester Hotel
1.9 mi away
Best Western The Jersey Arms Hotel
Best Western The Jersey Arms Hot...
#1 of 1 in Middleton Stoney
13 reviews
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Bicester Cherwell Valley M40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bignell Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bignell Park Hotel

Property: Bignell Park Hotel
Address: | Nr Bicester, Chesterton OX26 1UE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chesterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chesterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bignell Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful hotel, wedding venue and award-winning restaurant situated in the village of Chesterton, Oxfordshire. Bignell Park Hotel offers unique charm and character, whilst providing modern facilities to ensure the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, our services and facilities are tailored to meet your individual needs. We offer 22 uniquely styled, beautiful rooms, an award-winning restaurant Oaks, tailored meeting rooms and a charmingly romantic wedding venue. The hotel offers unbroken views across the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, whilst being conveniently located only minutes from the M40 motorway. Only five minutes from designer shopping outlet Bicester Village, Bignell Park Hotel is the perfect place to stay and relax after a long day's shopping. Bignell Park Hotel provides guests with a unique, quintessentially English experience. Situated in the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside and enjoying magnificent views, the Bignell Park Hotel offers quality hotel accommodation and is the perfect location for exploring the very best of English heritage and beauty. We look forward to welcoming you to the Bignell Park Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bignell Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bignell Park Chesterton
Bignell Park Hotel Chesterton, Oxfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing