We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed ”
Review of Bignell Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bignell Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chesterton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed ”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We were disappointed with No air conditioner & no fridge. We were not advised that there will be a wedding which took over the relaxing areas of the hotel. Garden setting were nice but were not able to use them. The room was large but need to be updated.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bignell Park Hotel.

I am pleased to note that you found your room to be large and comfortable.

We do not have air conditioning in the hotel (and do not advertise that we do), Similarly with fridges which are not supplied in the vast majority of hotel bedrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bignell Park Hotel in the future should you be in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    137
    72
    35
    29
See reviews for
54
242
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had eaten here many years ago whilst attending our daughter's graduation from University and decided as in the area to stay overnight. The hotel is in need of some updating - especially the bathrooms.
The food was ok but breakfast was a Monday morning and there was definitely a Monday morning feeling to the food presentation and service!

Room Tip: We had a four poster room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninnyjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bignell Park Hotel.

I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay, but were disappointed with the breakfast. This has been discussed with both the Head Chef and Restaurant Manager who have taken steps to eradicate the problems encountered.

When back in the area, we hope you will once again visit in order that you can see the improvements made to both the property and in the service provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skierniewice, Poland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked this hotel through Secret escapes and on first look seemed a great deal. our communication from the hotel was poorly presented and written and sparked a bit of concern.

The hotel is in need of a major refurb lots of chipped and worn paint flooring needing replacement all sorts of unused furniture piled in cubby holes and the gardens in need of some looking after. Our room was in a newer pat of the hotel and was poorly insulated from noise coming from other rooms.

They cater for parties and from the location of the attached marquee there would be considerable noise to any part of the hotel.

We are now in a "budget chain hotel" and feel as though we are getting good service and value for money.

Room Tip: Sorry from our experience a room in the newer part is noisy try and get a room in the old section
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bignell Park Hotel.

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay, and felt the hotel to be sub-standard and poor value for money.

Like all hotels, we have an on-going program of refurbishment which is completed over a period of time. Our gardens are a combination of formal flower beds and 'wild-life friendly areas with the vast majority of guests finding them delightful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed for one night at this hotel in transit. There was a warm welcome from the staff and we were directed to our spacious room with a four-poster bed. It was spacious, clean and comfortable. Because the hotel was so quiet that evening there was only a window of 30 minutes for booking a table in the restaurant. There was only one other guest in the restaurant. The menu was adequate if not very extensive and there was a reasonable wine list. The food was well-presented, well-cooked and tasted good. Breakfast was served in the same room the following morning. The waiter was very pleasant but there were some minor problems. The pineapple juice was 'fizzy' and obviously past its best. Although yoghurt was on the menu we were told that this was not available during the week [although some was provided when we insisted]. A pot of tea was brought to our table without any accompanying milk. We both ordered scrambled egg on toast [which was delicious] but we were not offered any other toast for marmalade. This is a comfortable hotel but the service at breakfast left room for improvement.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be quiet but those with a four-poster bed are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppadoc5748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bignell Park Hotel.

I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay, including dinner and found the staff to be polite and welcoming. Please accept my apologies for the breakfast service - this is not indicative of our usual high levels of service, and the Restaurant Manager initiated a re-training programme with the member of staff concerned.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bignell Park Hotel in the future when once again we anticipate you will enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I had a couple of nights here. A very friendly hotel with staff that are keen to help. The first night's dinner was included. Not a big selection but everything was very tasty. We had intended eating out the second night but, when we got back from our trip to Strattford we saw that they were having a tapas night and as the chef is Spanish we thought we'd give it a go. Breakfast is cooked to order and brought to the table. There is a nice lawned area with tables to have a relaxing drink in the sunshine. A nice relaxed atmosphere for a short break.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emyr V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel.

I am pleased to note that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay and found the staff friendly and helpful. I am also pleased to discover that you were able to partake of our Tapas Menu which we run every Wednesday evening, and which has become a great favourite of our regular guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bignell Park Hotel in the near future when we once again hope you will enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

we recently had a two night stay with you ,very friendly staff and the food was excellent however we feel that there is room for improvement with the décor , we also feel that the room we stayed in should not be classed as an executive room it was far from that and the bathroom leaves a lot to be desired and wasn't particularly clean , the room was no 38 , also in our deal there was a massage included but unfortunately that could not be booked as the beautician was booked up as it was quite short notice so that was disappointing , we arrived and our room wasn't ready so they offered us tea and coffee which we assumed would be complimentary but none of it we were charged for it which we think is a bit off . don't think we will be returning in a hurry and wont be recommending to anyone either .

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel.

It is pleasing to note your positive comments regarding both the staff friendliness and quality of the food.

Our Beauty Therapists do get extremely busy, and guests are always advised to book their treatments in advance. Owing to your booking being made at only 48 hours notice, the therapists were already fully booked.

Your arrival at the hotel was very early, and as you state, the room had not been serviced from the previous occupant. Owing to the very early arrival, the tea and coffee would be chargeable. Had you arrived later and were unable to occupy the room after our check-in time, it would have been complimentary.

Our hotel is in a continual refurbishment programme, and we update our ameneties as and when possible.

You have stated that you will not return. Should you care to change your mind, we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Room was very spacious and clean, huge comfy bed. We had a great nights sleep. we had breakfast and dinner here to, and all I can say is that the food is 1st class, fresh and very tasty. We also had spa treatments which were again excellent.
This is a lovely quaint Hotel one that I will definitely return to. Thank you Bignell Park for a lovely stay. We will be back!

Room Tip: Four poster rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FATBUTFIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W, General Manager at Bignell Park Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review following your recent stay at Bignell Park Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterton
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bicester Hotel
1.7 mi away
The King's Arms Hotel & Restaurant
2.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Dashwood Hotel
The Dashwood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirtlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bignell Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bignell Park Hotel

Property: Bignell Park Hotel
Address: | Nr Bicester, Chesterton OX26 1UE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chesterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chesterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bignell Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful hotel, wedding venue and award-winning restaurant situated in the village of Chesterton, Oxfordshire. Bignell Park Hotel offers unique charm and character, whilst providing modern facilities to ensure the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, our services and facilities are tailored to meet your individual needs. We offer 22 uniquely styled, beautiful rooms, an award-winning restaurant Oaks, tailored meeting rooms and a charmingly romantic wedding venue. The hotel offers unbroken views across the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, whilst being conveniently located only minutes from the M40 motorway. Only five minutes from designer shopping outlet Bicester Village, Bignell Park Hotel is the perfect place to stay and relax after a long day's shopping. Bignell Park Hotel provides guests with a unique, quintessentially English experience. Situated in the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside and enjoying magnificent views, the Bignell Park Hotel offers quality hotel accommodation and is the perfect location for exploring the very best of English heritage and beauty. We look forward to welcoming you to the Bignell Park Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bignell Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bignell Park Chesterton
Bignell Park Hotel Chesterton, Oxfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing