We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely main, awful dessert”

The Red Cow Public House
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Chesterton
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely main, awful dessert”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My boyfriend and I, had been told about this lovely country pub by the hotel we were staying in for the week. It was a lovely sunny day so we thought we would give it a go for some lunch. The salmon main we had a lovely and really tasty. It was also incredibly cheap for what we were eating! However after our main course we decided to order lemon meringue pie, I personally have been put off for life. It was like a supermarket frozen dessert that had been defrosted and left in the fridge overnight. Overall- Good main course, lovely service but avoid the desserts!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    26
    10
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterton, United Kingdom
1 review
“MUST TRY-if in the area”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

i travel all over UK with work. visiting a lot of villages over the years. some can feel unwelcoming but certainly not when you visit The Red Cow Chesterton- Steve & Sue that run the place are very welcoming and friendly. it has good food and a good atmosphere. Unlike some villages all the locals are very friendly as well. been three times and enjoyed every time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donmonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We had a lovely lunch”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Interesting to read the other reviews! We went for lunch on a Monday in April. Very friendly owner(chef) and wife running the bar. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was perfect.
It is a nice leg stretch from the Bicester Golf and Spa Hotel, so a good idea if you are just staying for the night there.
I think it is really important to support local pubs - if you don't use them they will disappear!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ACCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Good, home prepared and cooked food reasonably priced, Pleasant staff. Location is an easy 10 minute walk from Bignell Park Hotel

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gamazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful food!”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Went for lunch today, nothing really appealed to us on the menu - certainly not Kangaroo Burgers! Asked if the Beef burgers were home made - no, so avoided those. Pork steak laid on bed of mashed potato looked alright. My sister had Irish Lamb Stew with lots of gristle on and very chewy, accompanied by three buttered slices of baguette (she doesn't eat butter)! I decided to play it safe and go for a jacket potato with cheese. It had obviously just been cooked in a microwave - a flat small potato with cheddar cheese thrown on top, accompanied by a handful of lettuce leaves. I was given 3 small foil wrapped butters! Awful quality of food - very disappointing indeed. Did not complain as we did not want to upset Aunt who recommended it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Allotmentgirl838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Cow Public House also viewed

 
Stratton Audley, Bicester
Chesterton, Oxfordshire
 
Bicester, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Red Cow Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing