We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful gem of a public house”

The Red Cow Public House
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Chesterton
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
south wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A beautiful gem of a public house”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the local hotel Bignall Park Hotel and found this pub whilst out walking. It truly is a gem. Steven and Sue who own the pub soon became friends and are truly exceptional people. I felt like we had been invited into their home and not some faceless watering hole. Steven who also is the chef made the most phenomenal Faggots ( not everyone's idea of fantastic but if you have not tried them these are the best) also friend had sea bream which again was amazing. Thank you so so much hope sending a x to little Jacob.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marieSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    25
    10
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sunday night”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Bignall Park Hotel just 10 minute walk. Good old fashioned pub serving great beer and good pub food. Food well priced and typical menu for a local pub. Great atmosphere and very friendly staff and locals. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Harris0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great pub night out”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

A nice old fshioned pub, great food at good prices.Friendly atmosphere, and the staff made you welcome.The Guiness was good too!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Christmas Lunch”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Never been out for Christmas lunch before but we had a really good time. Great pub atmosphere. log fire, friendly service from Steve, who did the cooking, Sue and their children. Many locals being cheery in the bar. Two of us had turkey, tasty and well printed, the others fish which was judged well cooked. There were four courses, Butternut squash soup good for starters, then smoked salmon, the mains, followed by Christmas pud and coffee. Good reasonably priced wine list. I've seen some negative reviews in the past but have always been pleased with this place for food service and atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank serdeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just Awful”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Called in to the pub on the off chance as was passing by. Failry empty pub but staff very friendy and a few people eating.
After looking at the menu which was limit, but in someways good as too many choices can be a pain to chose, we settled on lamb shank and duck breast. Meal arrived fairly quicky with the meat being presented on their own. The labm shank was topped with onion and carrots and the duck was dreesed with blackcurrents on the plate.
The poratoes and veg were served seperatly. Potatoes seemed ok but it was difficult trying to spear the broccoli and cauliflower with the fork as they were rock hard. The carrots were also hard and unpeeled, showing rather a lot of dirty skin. When we asked the lady serving she said its the new rustic way and we realy should try them.This really put us off our meal and asked for it to be sent back to the kitchen. No I like my veg without dirt and skin thank you.
We finished our drinks and left.
The meals were priced at £15.95 and £16.95 so for this you would think they would be edible not rock hard and afraid you might break your teeth,
Sorry but won't be returning for a while.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetnecter0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Cow Public House also viewed

 
Stratton Audley, Bicester
Bicester, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Red Cow Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing